$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

2 stars
417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
63 reviews
Michigan autumn trip

The hotel was easy to find, clean and comfortable - a pleasant surprise for the price. See full review

  • John in Columbus Ohio
  • Oct 11, 2014
Winter weekend

Very clean and comfortable. Close to town and activities See full review

  • Warm Blooded
  • Mar 10, 2014
Centrally located Traverse City hotel ideal for vacationing families

The Howard Johnson of Traverse City is a family-friendly hotel close to the beach and downtown Traverse City, Michigan. Hotel amenities include a heated outdoor pool, an expanded hot continental breakfast, and free high-speed Internet access. Guest rooms have been recently renovated. The parking is free of charge at Howard Johnson of Traverse City.

Highlights
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Expanded continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in guest rooms
  • Some rooms feature Jacuzzi baths
Rooms

Renovated in 2008, the two-floor Howard Johnson of Traverse City has 40 guest rooms with a choice of one king or two double beds. Standard room amenities include televisions, coffee-maker, phones, coffee/tea makers, hair-dryers and iron/ironing boards. All rooms have individual climate control and air-conditioning, and housekeeping is offered. Select rooms provide Jacuzzi baths and/or refrigerators. 3-bedroom family suites are available. Local calls are free.

Features

Howard Johnson of Traverse City offers business and leisure guests a comfortable, relaxing stay. Guests enjoy quick access to top Northern Michigan attractions from skiing and snowmobiling resorts, to beaches, golf courses and more. The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, and free Wi-Fi Internet access.

 

Complimentary parking can accommodate snowmobiles and trailers. A short walk from the hotel is East Grand Bay Park, offering a family-friendly beach with lifeguards, extensive picnic areas and a playground. Families and groups enjoy day trips to Mackinac Island, Charlevoix, Sleeping Bear Dunes and Torch Lake.

Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Cherry Capital Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (263 mi/423 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Traverse City State Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Torch Lake (27.2 mi/43.8 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (47.8 mi/76.9 km)
  • Mackinac Island (100 mi/161 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

44.7601 -85.5814
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Of Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MKAS
Chicago
May 11, 2012

Clean and spacious

We spent a night here on our trip around Lake Michigan. This was the best motel on our trip. Room was very clean and spacious. Unlimited breakfast was good (the only thing lacking were fresh fruits). Didn't have much interaction with staff, no opinion. Motel is located very conveniently if you drive through Traverse City, but probably not within walking distance to any attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sara Super Women
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
May 14, 2012

Girls Weekend

From day one we had a poor experience at Howard Johnson in Traverse City Michigan. The Staff (Mo) was rude from the day we checked it, she questioned us as to how many people we had in our room and kept at it through Saturday. The Housekeeping staff was taking notes on us while we were supposed to be enjoying our stay. They came into our room when we were out to check how many bags etc. we had in our room without cleaning our room. The Front Desk staff called two of our rooms to ask how many people were in our rooms, of course we told them then she hung up on us twice. (Poor service). We were also told that we could not visit between rooms because that was against Howard Johnson Policy. Taking notes, being harassed and feeling like a criminal was not how I wanted to spend the weekend with my girlfriends. We did end up leaving Saturday Night because the General Manager (Jeremy) persisted to argue with us about room charges, and the amount of people we had in our rooms. Overall it was a poor hotel, service was awful and we will not be going back nor sending any of our friends to the Howard Johnson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Front Street was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chris5019
Business
Newaygo MI
May 18, 2012

Poor Customer Service

Customer Service was the poorest I have seen. Accusatory staff regarding number of people staying at hotel. They assumed they were correct and would not listen to reason. Hotel night clerk and manager were not cooperative. We ended our stay early and went to a nearby hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
saged traveller
Business
New Orleans,LA
Jul 11, 2009

not ready for prime time

The room that we were given was the one closest to the office. I didn't get a sense of privacy since all business was taken care of within 10 feet of our bed. The carpet was worn and dirty. The room arrangement was odd: with a table and 2 straight-back chairs in the bathroom.I thought the continental breakfast was good: offering make your own waffles,assortment of pastries, and variety of cereals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alpena, MI
Sep 24, 2010

You get what you pay for

Rooms were clean but carpets were very stained. Lighting and fixtures needed repair very badly. The bathroom looked like it was from the 1970's (and it probably was). The shower drained so slowly we stood in 6 inches of water by the time we finished showering. We were in town for medical reasons and had very little money for lodging, so the cheap price outweighed the ugliness. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many restaurants as motel is on main drag.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Hopgood
Business
Saginaw, Michigan
Jul 5, 2010

Traverse City Howard Johnshon

The pictures on the site were very misleading. The room was not clean, it looked horrible! I would not recommend that facility to anyone, and they need to be truthful about what there accommedations really look like!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlevoix, MI
Feb 22, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

I recently stayed (2/19/10) at the Howard Johnson Inn of Traverse City and was very disappointed. I am very glad that I did not book through your website and paid as much as I could have. I booked my rooms on [@] so I did pay $30-$40 less then standard booking. I believe that I seen that this hotel was remodeled in 2008, and this is where my complaint comes into this email. I rented 2 rooms and the one that I stayed in was room #1**, when I checked in I was told that the jacuzzi did not work but was never told the tub did not work at all. The handle on the cold side of the tub was broken and the cold water was shut off. The room was FREEZING cold! There was a piece of trim missing near the tub. The other room, #1** or #1** the one right next to the office, was stayed in by my friends there was a hole in the bathroom door, in the wall next to the bed. It appeared that there was a leak in the bathroom from the room above. This room was also FREEZING! All in all, I will not be staying at this hotel chain AGAIN! When I checked out and told the desk clerk that I was displeased, she did not seem to care at all. Again, I am very dissatisfied with my stay and WILL not stay in this chain again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
frugal family travelers
Business
michigan
Jun 13, 2012

graduation party weekend

the staff was courteous and friendly. the room was neat . there are some things i would like to mention. the entry to the rooms is from the outside. the lobby is small and the continental breakfast is basic. the pool area is nice but it's outside. my husband went to the office around 11:00 at night to get some information and the front desk/lobby was closed and the lights were off so we had to wait until the following morning. it's a clean, cheap, no frills place to stay the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Racko
Business
Farmington Hills, MI
Sep 23, 2013

Not so great

It was a nice large room; however there is no privacy for changing if you want unless you go into where the toilet is and there is not much room in there for that. Also, we were on the first floor and you couldn't open your curtains for daylight since there were no sheers to just block people from seeing in clearly. We had to keep curtains closed the whole time. Was a little musty smelling. The air conditioner dripped the whole time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 26, 2008

Assigned room was sub par

The desk person noted the great rate received for the stay and may have assigned the room accordingly. As I opened the door, I noticed a bullet size hole through the door directly above the lock. Upon entering the room, I found myself walking through spider webs. The room is a non smoking room and it smelled musty. Another small hole was through the ceiling above the table and a larger hole in the toilet area. The air conditioning / heating unit is a poorly install window unit with daylight visible around it. During the 2 night stay, I killed several spiders and a few other insects residing there. The wireless internet service didn't exist. The desk clerk apologized at check-in that television remotes were not in rooms because they had not arrived yet. This room literally stunk, even as just a place to sleep. Don't accept room # 122.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise ID
Aug 1, 2010

Fair - far from great

The carpet on the stairs was old and ratty. The door had a large gap between the door and jam which didn't make the room feel safe and would be awful in cold weather. Hole in bathroom wall, rust under bathroom pipe. It just didn't look or smell clean. The lighting was insufficient for working. The rate increase for Friday and Saturday night was ridiculous. A small one is understandable but the size of increase for this room was terribly high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top