$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

2 stars
417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
76 reviews
Winter weekend

Very clean and comfortable. Close to town and activities See full review

  • Warm Blooded
  • Mar 10, 2014
awesome stay!

Wonderful stay, very clean room and lobby. Just wish they had a bigger continental breakfast. See full review

  • saatkinson88
  • Jan 28, 2014
Centrally located Traverse City hotel ideal for vacationing families

The Howard Johnson of Traverse City is a family-friendly hotel close to the beach and downtown Traverse City, Michigan. Hotel amenities include a heated outdoor pool, an expanded hot continental breakfast, and free high-speed Internet access. Guest rooms have been recently renovated. The parking is free of charge at Howard Johnson of Traverse City.

Highlights
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Expanded continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in guest rooms
  • Some rooms feature Jacuzzi baths
Rooms

Renovated in 2008, the two-floor Howard Johnson of Traverse City has 40 guest rooms with a choice of one king or two double beds. Standard room amenities include televisions, coffee-maker, phones, coffee/tea makers, hair-dryers and iron/ironing boards. All rooms have individual climate control and air-conditioning, and housekeeping is offered. Select rooms provide Jacuzzi baths and/or refrigerators. 3-bedroom family suites are available. Local calls are free.

Features

Howard Johnson of Traverse City offers business and leisure guests a comfortable, relaxing stay. Guests enjoy quick access to top Northern Michigan attractions from skiing and snowmobiling resorts, to beaches, golf courses and more. The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, and free Wi-Fi Internet access.

 

Complimentary parking can accommodate snowmobiles and trailers. A short walk from the hotel is East Grand Bay Park, offering a family-friendly beach with lifeguards, extensive picnic areas and a playground. Families and groups enjoy day trips to Mackinac Island, Charlevoix, Sleeping Bear Dunes and Torch Lake.

Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Cherry Capital Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (263 mi/423 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Traverse City State Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Torch Lake (27.2 mi/43.8 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (47.8 mi/76.9 km)
  • Mackinac Island (100 mi/161 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Of Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

44.7601 -85.5814
Area description
Downtown

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MKAS
Chicago
May 11, 2012

Clean and spacious

We spent a night here on our trip around Lake Michigan. This was the best motel on our trip. Room was very clean and spacious. Unlimited breakfast was good (the only thing lacking were fresh fruits). Didn't have much interaction with staff, no opinion. Motel is located very conveniently if you drive through Traverse City, but probably not within walking distance to any attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
saatkinson88
alpena Michigan
Jan 28, 2014

awesome stay!

Wonderful stay, very clean room and lobby. Just wish they had a bigger continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wayne m
Grand Haven Mi
Jan 2, 2012

Room

The motel staff was very friendly and when we arrived and went in to check in they had everything sitting there waiting to be signed. I was in the office a total of about 5 minutes. The room was in very good shape very clean and very nice size. I highly recommend this motel if your ever in Traverse City Mi. We will for sure stay there again. The room rate was also very good .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Turtle Creek Casino 10 minutes away and very nice

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Warm Blooded
Naples, Florida
Mar 10, 2014

Winter weekend

Very clean and comfortable. Close to town and activities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tasha1123
Business
Saginaw, MI, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Couldn't have asked for a better room for theis value!

I was coming to town for a job prospect. I booked my room the day before and was so excited to get a king room for 31.00. When I arrived in town they had just had a huge snow storm and power was out in many places. The Howard Johnson still had power but no wifi or cable. I was lucky to get a room at this price before the rooms were sold out! The room was super clean and the bed was so comfy! We will definitely stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Harringtons steak and seafood ! Awesome steak and yummy raspberry creme' brûlée ! You have to try it!

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krispy48651
Houghton Lake, MI
Nov 8, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at Howard Johnson's

We needed a place to stay for a couple nights while I was having surgery. We had stayed here before when it was the Heritage House. I didn't plan to go back. But the price was right, the whole place was remodeled, including adding a two story breakfast room with a beautiful fireplace. The breakfast was your usual fare, nothing spectacular, but was very convienient. We had a room with two queen beds and couldn't have been happier, especially for the price. Thanks Ho Jo's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krispy48651
Houghton Lake, MI
Nov 15, 2013

Nice Place to Stay

Our room was comfortable, clean, inviting. The breakfast area is beautiful. It's a really great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try out the Blue Tractor for a great meal!

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cathy torchlaker
Green Valley, Arizona
Sep 16, 2012

Beautiful accomodations at a great rate

I spent a lot of time on my iPhone looking for a nice place to stay in Traverse City at the most reasonable rate I could find. After checking out all the big hotels with all the amenities we probably wouldn't use during our 2 nite stay, I decided to give Howard Johnson's a try. I was not deterred by the couple of negative reviews written by kids who tried to have room parties which were against hotel policy and watched over by management. The hotel rooms were totally redone, all new and beautiful with great tile showers and refrigerators. The staff was very courteous, and the breakfast bar was free and very good. The lobby/breakfast room was bright,new,and a feeling of warmth and welcoming. I'm glad to see that Wyndam is bringing back and upgrading this iconic chain. We also had a great experience at the Howard Johnson's across from Disneyland in California. I am so glad I wasn't a "snob" thinking that you had to spend a lot of money for a hotel room to have a good experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will always be at the top of my call list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cbaker2001
Manassas, VA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Surprised at just how GREAT this place was!

Frankly, because the room was so cheap and the fact that it was a Howard Johnson's, I expected the room to be just passable, but I was VERY surprised to discover that they just recently completely renovated this place, and it's GORGEOUS! Beautiful gas fireplace in the lobby, with a very nice and FREE continental breakfast. And the room was fabulous -- HUGE (and I mean HUGE) bathroom with a large walk-in shower and a very comfortable bed. I would DEFINITELY recommend this place!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

About 15 minutes away is a FABULOUS restaurant, Boone's Long Lake Inn.

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 28, 2011

Great Stay!

With the completion of the renovations to the entire property, I was the first to enjoy one of the brand-new rooms. The new owners have remodeled all the room's with a new decor that was incredibly warm and welcoming; the bed gave me the best nights sleep I've ever had at a hotel. The entire hotel staff was very knowledgable about the area and more than willing to go the extra step to make our stay as perfect as possible. Even though it wasn't on the water, it was within easy distance of a fantastic beach and the downtown area wasn't far either. This is the place to stay in Traverse City!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top