$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

2 stars
View map of 417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
69 reviews
One night stay

Great hotel for the price! My son and I stayed here when he had an early doctor appointment the... See full review

  • familytraveler
  • Mar 26, 2015
Great Stay

I always choose this hotel when I stay in Traverse City. Rooms are always clean and I think the... See full review

  • Katelyn S.
  • Jan 27, 2015
Centrally located Traverse City hotel ideal for vacationing families

The Howard Johnson of Traverse City is a family-friendly hotel close to the beach and downtown Traverse City, Michigan. Hotel amenities include a heated outdoor pool, an expanded hot continental breakfast, and free high-speed Internet access. Guest rooms have been recently renovated. The parking is free of charge at Howard Johnson of Traverse City.

Highlights
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Expanded continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in guest rooms
  • Some rooms feature Jacuzzi baths
Rooms

Renovated in 2008, the two-floor Howard Johnson of Traverse City has 40 guest rooms with a choice of one king or two double beds. Standard room amenities include televisions, coffee-maker, phones, coffee/tea makers, hair-dryers and iron/ironing boards. All rooms have individual climate control and air-conditioning, and housekeeping is offered. Select rooms provide Jacuzzi baths and/or refrigerators. 3-bedroom family suites are available. Local calls are free.

Features

Howard Johnson of Traverse City offers business and leisure guests a comfortable, relaxing stay. Guests enjoy quick access to top Northern Michigan attractions from skiing and snowmobiling resorts, to beaches, golf courses and more. The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, and free Wi-Fi Internet access.

 

Complimentary parking can accommodate snowmobiles and trailers. A short walk from the hotel is East Grand Bay Park, offering a family-friendly beach with lifeguards, extensive picnic areas and a playground. Families and groups enjoy day trips to Mackinac Island, Charlevoix, Sleeping Bear Dunes and Torch Lake.

Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Cherry Capital Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (263 mi/423 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Traverse City State Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Torch Lake (27.2 mi/43.8 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (47.8 mi/76.9 km)
  • Mackinac Island (100 mi/161 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Of Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 69
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boss
Business
Detroit
Dec 30, 2014

short trip

Good stay, good for the money spent. staff are good and helpping nature. recommended for short durations. you will get equal to what you spent. overall not bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marshasue1
Business
Bay City
Jul 25, 2014

Nice stay, good value

Our room was clean but had a heavy cleaner smell. Beds comfortable. Convenient Traverse City location. Good value for that town in the summer. Limited breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jo the Nox
Business
Miami, Florida
Feb 12, 2013

Cheap and Above Average Stay

It was fantastic! Personal air conditioners/heaters per room. Very concerned over you and ever hotel member's privacy. Free Breakfasts! And lovely staff members as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive from a few restaurants, college, and much more entertainment!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Queenie MiMi
Business
Grayling! Mi
Jan 28, 2013

Great Girls weekend!

Would definitely stay again. The staff was went out of their way to accommodate our needs. Nice central location for Traverse City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chris5019
Business
Newaygo MI
May 18, 2012

Poor Customer Service

Customer Service was the poorest I have seen. Accusatory staff regarding number of people staying at hotel. They assumed they were correct and would not listen to reason. Hotel night clerk and manager were not cooperative. We ended our stay early and went to a nearby hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sara Super Women
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
May 14, 2012

Girls Weekend

From day one we had a poor experience at Howard Johnson in Traverse City Michigan. The Staff (Mo) was rude from the day we checked it, she questioned us as to how many people we had in our room and kept at it through Saturday. The Housekeeping staff was taking notes on us while we were supposed to be enjoying our stay. They came into our room when we were out to check how many bags etc. we had in our room without cleaning our room. The Front Desk staff called two of our rooms to ask how many people were in our rooms, of course we told them then she hung up on us twice. (Poor service). We were also told that we could not visit between rooms because that was against Howard Johnson Policy. Taking notes, being harassed and feeling like a criminal was not how I wanted to spend the weekend with my girlfriends. We did end up leaving Saturday Night because the General Manager (Jeremy) persisted to argue with us about room charges, and the amount of people we had in our rooms. Overall it was a poor hotel, service was awful and we will not be going back nor sending any of our friends to the Howard Johnson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Front Street was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DWA19
Business
Petoskey, Mi.
Jan 15, 2012

restful night

Clerk friendly, informative, and efficient. Clean rooms, nice cont. breakfast, overall good value for dollars spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Big rapids, mi
Aug 11, 2011

Girls trip

Hotel was very nice and clean as it just been remodeled. Front desk clerk was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top