$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

2 stars
417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
63 reviews
Michigan autumn trip

The hotel was easy to find, clean and comfortable - a pleasant surprise for the price. See full review

  • John in Columbus Ohio
  • Oct 11, 2014
Winter weekend

Very clean and comfortable. Close to town and activities See full review

  • Warm Blooded
  • Mar 10, 2014
Centrally located Traverse City hotel ideal for vacationing families

The Howard Johnson of Traverse City is a family-friendly hotel close to the beach and downtown Traverse City, Michigan. Hotel amenities include a heated outdoor pool, an expanded hot continental breakfast, and free high-speed Internet access. Guest rooms have been recently renovated. The parking is free of charge at Howard Johnson of Traverse City.

Highlights
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Expanded continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in guest rooms
  • Some rooms feature Jacuzzi baths
Rooms

Renovated in 2008, the two-floor Howard Johnson of Traverse City has 40 guest rooms with a choice of one king or two double beds. Standard room amenities include televisions, coffee-maker, phones, coffee/tea makers, hair-dryers and iron/ironing boards. All rooms have individual climate control and air-conditioning, and housekeeping is offered. Select rooms provide Jacuzzi baths and/or refrigerators. 3-bedroom family suites are available. Local calls are free.

Features

Howard Johnson of Traverse City offers business and leisure guests a comfortable, relaxing stay. Guests enjoy quick access to top Northern Michigan attractions from skiing and snowmobiling resorts, to beaches, golf courses and more. The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, and free Wi-Fi Internet access.

 

Complimentary parking can accommodate snowmobiles and trailers. A short walk from the hotel is East Grand Bay Park, offering a family-friendly beach with lifeguards, extensive picnic areas and a playground. Families and groups enjoy day trips to Mackinac Island, Charlevoix, Sleeping Bear Dunes and Torch Lake.

Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Cherry Capital Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (263 mi/423 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Traverse City State Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Torch Lake (27.2 mi/43.8 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (47.8 mi/76.9 km)
  • Mackinac Island (100 mi/161 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Of Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jeepstang
Business
roseville
Feb 6, 2011

2 nights

A little outdated, but unlike other reveiws my room was clean, no odd smells, everything worked fine, no bugs and no one bothered us. for the winter season price (41.00 a night)the place was a good choice and we would return. as for summer pricing (up to 222.00 a night)we would want something more up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alpena, MI
Sep 24, 2010

You get what you pay for

Rooms were clean but carpets were very stained. Lighting and fixtures needed repair very badly. The bathroom looked like it was from the 1970's (and it probably was). The shower drained so slowly we stood in 6 inches of water by the time we finished showering. We were in town for medical reasons and had very little money for lodging, so the cheap price outweighed the ugliness. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many restaurants as motel is on main drag.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise ID
Aug 1, 2010

Fair - far from great

The carpet on the stairs was old and ratty. The door had a large gap between the door and jam which didn't make the room feel safe and would be awful in cold weather. Hole in bathroom wall, rust under bathroom pipe. It just didn't look or smell clean. The lighting was insufficient for working. The rate increase for Friday and Saturday night was ridiculous. A small one is understandable but the size of increase for this room was terribly high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
little1_80
Business
Illinois
Jul 14, 2010

You get what you pay for.....

Although this hotel is a little old and outdated, it was kept pretty clean. The bathroom was clean, we had fresh towels and the pool was pretty nice as well. The bed was not very comfortable and the television was really outdated. It is located in the middle of everything there is to do in Traverse City but all in all I would not recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 12, 2010

Visit to Traverse City for Marching Band

Overall a reasonable experience. Rooms were fine for the nostalga of the vintage of the building. Staff was pleasant and the breakfast was satisfying. Convience of parking was a plus. The WIFI was valuable to me and after staff reset it, it worked well, except for a period of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cherry Festival and water front.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waunakee WI
Jul 12, 2010

OK

Lack of easy chair/s and microwave

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask for non-handicap room with microwave

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Hopgood
Business
Saginaw, Michigan
Jul 5, 2010

Traverse City Howard Johnshon

The pictures on the site were very misleading. The room was not clean, it looked horrible! I would not recommend that facility to anyone, and they need to be truthful about what there accommedations really look like!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jun 14, 2010

Good deal

I got a decent spacious room with a jacuzzi. The main light switch and the alarm clock was not working but these are minor issues for me. The staff was friendly. The breakfast included self-baked waffle which is fine but the 9.30 closure of breakfast is too early. The web site says checkout is at 12 noon whereas the hotel says it's at 11am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlevoix, MI
Feb 22, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

I recently stayed (2/19/10) at the Howard Johnson Inn of Traverse City and was very disappointed. I am very glad that I did not book through your website and paid as much as I could have. I booked my rooms on [@] so I did pay $30-$40 less then standard booking. I believe that I seen that this hotel was remodeled in 2008, and this is where my complaint comes into this email. I rented 2 rooms and the one that I stayed in was room #1**, when I checked in I was told that the jacuzzi did not work but was never told the tub did not work at all. The handle on the cold side of the tub was broken and the cold water was shut off. The room was FREEZING cold! There was a piece of trim missing near the tub. The other room, #1** or #1** the one right next to the office, was stayed in by my friends there was a hole in the bathroom door, in the wall next to the bed. It appeared that there was a leak in the bathroom from the room above. This room was also FREEZING! All in all, I will not be staying at this hotel chain AGAIN! When I checked out and told the desk clerk that I was displeased, she did not seem to care at all. Again, I am very dissatisfied with my stay and WILL not stay in this chain again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
saged traveller
Business
New Orleans,LA
Jul 11, 2009

not ready for prime time

The room that we were given was the one closest to the office. I didn't get a sense of privacy since all business was taken care of within 10 feet of our bed. The carpet was worn and dirty. The room arrangement was odd: with a table and 2 straight-back chairs in the bathroom.I thought the continental breakfast was good: offering make your own waffles,assortment of pastries, and variety of cereals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top