$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

2 stars
View map of 417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy in TC
Business
Rhode Island, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Amazing Price!

Did not expect very much for such a low priced motel, but took a chance anyway. Was very pleasantly surprised. Did not have a refrigerator in room as promised, so called down to front desk and they brought one to the room immediately. Staff very kind and helpful. The only negative was that there was a snow storm and parking lot not plowed when leaving around checkout time. For the price I paid, I am quite happy with Howard Johnson's of Traverse City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DWA19
Business
Petoskey, Mi.
Jan 15, 2012

restful night

Clerk friendly, informative, and efficient. Clean rooms, nice cont. breakfast, overall good value for dollars spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wayne m
Business
Grand Haven Mi
Jan 2, 2012

Room

The motel staff was very friendly and when we arrived and went in to check in they had everything sitting there waiting to be signed. I was in the office a total of about 5 minutes. The room was in very good shape very clean and very nice size. I highly recommend this motel if your ever in Traverse City Mi. We will for sure stay there again. The room rate was also very good .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Turtle Creek Casino 10 minutes away and very nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cbaker2001
Business
Manassas, VA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Surprised at just how GREAT this place was!

Frankly, because the room was so cheap and the fact that it was a Howard Johnson's, I expected the room to be just passable, but I was VERY surprised to discover that they just recently completely renovated this place, and it's GORGEOUS! Beautiful gas fireplace in the lobby, with a very nice and FREE continental breakfast. And the room was fabulous -- HUGE (and I mean HUGE) bathroom with a large walk-in shower and a very comfortable bed. I would DEFINITELY recommend this place!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

About 15 minutes away is a FABULOUS restaurant, Boone's Long Lake Inn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DDMD
Business
Stockbridge, MI 49285, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Visit to parents.

We needed a place to sleep as my parents bought a small condo and we just are not comfortable staying with them. This hotel fit the bill because of the price. The staff was friendly. Rooms are just ok but have what you need to sleep and shower. We did have to ask for chairs and they said they are still waiting for some to be delivered. Ok and I would stay again when I visit my parents.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Bayview Inn is a great place for a drink, eats, and just to enjoy the evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tammyfaye
Business
Holly, MI 48442, USA
Nov 28, 2011

couples getaway

It is nice for the price. Updated furniture and very clean room. Would be nice to have a small table in the room to play cards on. The ice machine was turned off for some reason, and was told to go across the street to a different hotel to get some, not gonna happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

10% off at diner across the street if show your hotel key. They had GREAT black cherry pancakes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krispy48651
Business
Houghton Lake, MI
Nov 8, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at Howard Johnson's

We needed a place to stay for a couple nights while I was having surgery. We had stayed here before when it was the Heritage House. I didn't plan to go back. But the price was right, the whole place was remodeled, including adding a two story breakfast room with a beautiful fireplace. The breakfast was your usual fare, nothing spectacular, but was very convienient. We had a room with two queen beds and couldn't have been happier, especially for the price. Thanks Ho Jo's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Linwood, M
Oct 17, 2011

wines trip with family

good, hot tub was great in the room,great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

winerys close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
music lady
Business
Holland, MI, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Get-a-way

Was clean , advertised as new rooms, attractive. Breakfast was continental-toast, cereal, bagels, donuts. Excellent, very hot coffee available all day in the lobby. Enjoyed a window shopping walk downown, a walk along the Boardman River to look for salmon swimming upsteam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red lobster was wonderful-endless shrimp-delicious, great service, and ENDLESS SHRIMP , all we wanted for $16.00. Our October trip to northern Michigan was beautful, the fall color was at its height.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dennym
Business
Conklin, Mi.
Oct 10, 2011

nice place

looks like recent remodel, very clean and comfortable. I like the shower, could have fit four people in there. Can't beat the room, great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

close to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top