$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

2 stars
417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
61 reviews
Winter weekend

Very clean and comfortable. Close to town and activities See full review

  • Warm Blooded
  • Mar 10, 2014
awesome stay!

Wonderful stay, very clean room and lobby. Just wish they had a bigger continental breakfast. See full review

  • saatkinson88
  • Jan 28, 2014
Centrally located Traverse City hotel ideal for vacationing families

The Howard Johnson of Traverse City is a family-friendly hotel close to the beach and downtown Traverse City, Michigan. Hotel amenities include a heated outdoor pool, an expanded hot continental breakfast, and free high-speed Internet access. Guest rooms have been recently renovated. The parking is free of charge at Howard Johnson of Traverse City.

Highlights
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Expanded continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in guest rooms
  • Some rooms feature Jacuzzi baths
Rooms

Renovated in 2008, the two-floor Howard Johnson of Traverse City has 40 guest rooms with a choice of one king or two double beds. Standard room amenities include televisions, coffee-maker, phones, coffee/tea makers, hair-dryers and iron/ironing boards. All rooms have individual climate control and air-conditioning, and housekeeping is offered. Select rooms provide Jacuzzi baths and/or refrigerators. 3-bedroom family suites are available. Local calls are free.

Features

Howard Johnson of Traverse City offers business and leisure guests a comfortable, relaxing stay. Guests enjoy quick access to top Northern Michigan attractions from skiing and snowmobiling resorts, to beaches, golf courses and more. The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, and free Wi-Fi Internet access.

 

Complimentary parking can accommodate snowmobiles and trailers. A short walk from the hotel is East Grand Bay Park, offering a family-friendly beach with lifeguards, extensive picnic areas and a playground. Families and groups enjoy day trips to Mackinac Island, Charlevoix, Sleeping Bear Dunes and Torch Lake.

Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Cherry Capital Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (263 mi/423 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Traverse City State Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Torch Lake (27.2 mi/43.8 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (47.8 mi/76.9 km)
  • Mackinac Island (100 mi/161 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

44.7601 -85.5814
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Of Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fire hawk
Business
St Ignace, MI, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Nice little motel

Very clean room. Was like an upgraded mom and pop run motel. Front desk staff polite. Only problems I had was the tv remote didn't work and al the buttons wore off the heat controler, and no instructions on how to work it. Kindda a guessing game for climate comfort. But other than those minor things a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jules B
Hope, MI 48628, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Perfect short stay

We were very pleased with our stay here and we felt we got our moneys worth & my cousin stated the same. It was just what we needed for a quick stay in Traverse City. The rooms were very clean and spacious for four people. The breakfast was a bonus as my sisters stayed at different hotel and paid more with no breakfast included. The breakfast room has a very welcoming feel to it and is a nice place to eat or hang out. One amenity I can think of that is lacking is a pool, but I knew that when I registered, and it was not a going to be a long stay. The remodeling stills feels and looks new, .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mt. Holiday is an affordable and convenient place to ski/snowboard, especially for beginners

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DWA19
Petoskey, Mi.
Jan 15, 2012

restful night

Clerk friendly, informative, and efficient. Clean rooms, nice cont. breakfast, overall good value for dollars spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy in TC
Rhode Island, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Amazing Price!

Did not expect very much for such a low priced motel, but took a chance anyway. Was very pleasantly surprised. Did not have a refrigerator in room as promised, so called down to front desk and they brought one to the room immediately. Staff very kind and helpful. The only negative was that there was a snow storm and parking lot not plowed when leaving around checkout time. For the price I paid, I am quite happy with Howard Johnson's of Traverse City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wayne m
Grand Haven Mi
Jan 2, 2012

Room

The motel staff was very friendly and when we arrived and went in to check in they had everything sitting there waiting to be signed. I was in the office a total of about 5 minutes. The room was in very good shape very clean and very nice size. I highly recommend this motel if your ever in Traverse City Mi. We will for sure stay there again. The room rate was also very good .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Turtle Creek Casino 10 minutes away and very nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cbaker2001
Manassas, VA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Surprised at just how GREAT this place was!

Frankly, because the room was so cheap and the fact that it was a Howard Johnson's, I expected the room to be just passable, but I was VERY surprised to discover that they just recently completely renovated this place, and it's GORGEOUS! Beautiful gas fireplace in the lobby, with a very nice and FREE continental breakfast. And the room was fabulous -- HUGE (and I mean HUGE) bathroom with a large walk-in shower and a very comfortable bed. I would DEFINITELY recommend this place!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

About 15 minutes away is a FABULOUS restaurant, Boone's Long Lake Inn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DDMD
Stockbridge, MI 49285, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Visit to parents.

We needed a place to sleep as my parents bought a small condo and we just are not comfortable staying with them. This hotel fit the bill because of the price. The staff was friendly. Rooms are just ok but have what you need to sleep and shower. We did have to ask for chairs and they said they are still waiting for some to be delivered. Ok and I would stay again when I visit my parents.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Bayview Inn is a great place for a drink, eats, and just to enjoy the evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tammyfaye
Holly, MI 48442, USA
Nov 28, 2011

couples getaway

It is nice for the price. Updated furniture and very clean room. Would be nice to have a small table in the room to play cards on. The ice machine was turned off for some reason, and was told to go across the street to a different hotel to get some, not gonna happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

10% off at diner across the street if show your hotel key. They had GREAT black cherry pancakes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krispy48651
Houghton Lake, MI
Nov 8, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at Howard Johnson's

We needed a place to stay for a couple nights while I was having surgery. We had stayed here before when it was the Heritage House. I didn't plan to go back. But the price was right, the whole place was remodeled, including adding a two story breakfast room with a beautiful fireplace. The breakfast was your usual fare, nothing spectacular, but was very convienient. We had a room with two queen beds and couldn't have been happier, especially for the price. Thanks Ho Jo's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Linwood, M
Oct 17, 2011

wines trip with family

good, hot tub was great in the room,great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

winerys close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search