$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

2 stars
View map of 417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Queenie MiMi
Friends
Grayling! Mi
Jan 28, 2013

Great Girls weekend!

Would definitely stay again. The staff was went out of their way to accommodate our needs. Nice central location for Traverse City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandpa MJ
Family
Traverse City, Mi
Jan 13, 2013

ho jos

Staff was very polite n helpful. Room was modern n clean overall stay was great. I will stay there if going to TC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Michigan
Nov 18, 2012

Great room for the price!

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was clean and very comfortable. We attended a wedding a few blocks away, so it was the perfect location. Very good for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cathy torchlaker
Couples
Green Valley, Arizona
Sep 16, 2012

Beautiful accomodations at a great rate

I spent a lot of time on my iPhone looking for a nice place to stay in Traverse City at the most reasonable rate I could find. After checking out all the big hotels with all the amenities we probably wouldn't use during our 2 nite stay, I decided to give Howard Johnson's a try. I was not deterred by the couple of negative reviews written by kids who tried to have room parties which were against hotel policy and watched over by management. The hotel rooms were totally redone, all new and beautiful with great tile showers and refrigerators. The staff was very courteous, and the breakfast bar was free and very good. The lobby/breakfast room was bright,new,and a feeling of warmth and welcoming. I'm glad to see that Wyndam is bringing back and upgrading this iconic chain. We also had a great experience at the Howard Johnson's across from Disneyland in California. I am so glad I wasn't a "snob" thinking that you had to spend a lot of money for a hotel room to have a good experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will always be at the top of my call list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nickname already taken
Family
North Carolina
Jun 25, 2012

A good value and clean

Motor inn, recently updated with new bathrooms and flat screen TVs. A drive or long walk to the waterfront and downtown Traverse City restaurants. A good value and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
frugal family travelers
Family
michigan
Jun 13, 2012

graduation party weekend

the staff was courteous and friendly. the room was neat . there are some things i would like to mention. the entry to the rooms is from the outside. the lobby is small and the continental breakfast is basic. the pool area is nice but it's outside. my husband went to the office around 11:00 at night to get some information and the front desk/lobby was closed and the lights were off so we had to wait until the following morning. it's a clean, cheap, no frills place to stay the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chris5019
Friends
Newaygo MI
May 18, 2012

Poor Customer Service

Customer Service was the poorest I have seen. Accusatory staff regarding number of people staying at hotel. They assumed they were correct and would not listen to reason. Hotel night clerk and manager were not cooperative. We ended our stay early and went to a nearby hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sara Super Women
Friends
Grand Rapids, MI
May 14, 2012

Girls Weekend

From day one we had a poor experience at Howard Johnson in Traverse City Michigan. The Staff (Mo) was rude from the day we checked it, she questioned us as to how many people we had in our room and kept at it through Saturday. The Housekeeping staff was taking notes on us while we were supposed to be enjoying our stay. They came into our room when we were out to check how many bags etc. we had in our room without cleaning our room. The Front Desk staff called two of our rooms to ask how many people were in our rooms, of course we told them then she hung up on us twice. (Poor service). We were also told that we could not visit between rooms because that was against Howard Johnson Policy. Taking notes, being harassed and feeling like a criminal was not how I wanted to spend the weekend with my girlfriends. We did end up leaving Saturday Night because the General Manager (Jeremy) persisted to argue with us about room charges, and the amount of people we had in our rooms. Overall it was a poor hotel, service was awful and we will not be going back nor sending any of our friends to the Howard Johnson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Front Street was amazing.

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MKAS
Couples
Chicago
May 11, 2012

Clean and spacious

We spent a night here on our trip around Lake Michigan. This was the best motel on our trip. Room was very clean and spacious. Unlimited breakfast was good (the only thing lacking were fresh fruits). Didn't have much interaction with staff, no opinion. Motel is located very conveniently if you drive through Traverse City, but probably not within walking distance to any attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ski1
Single
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Apr 26, 2012

Couple Day R & R

King with Jacuzzi room. Perfect for a couple day retreat. Great price! Motel still remodeling, so be patient with a couple of outside eyesores for now. Room VERY clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top