$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

2 stars
View map of 417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
69 reviews
One night stay

Great hotel for the price! My son and I stayed here when he had an early doctor appointment the... See full review

  • familytraveler
  • Mar 26, 2015
Great Stay

I always choose this hotel when I stay in Traverse City. Rooms are always clean and I think the... See full review

  • Katelyn S.
  • Jan 27, 2015
Centrally located Traverse City hotel ideal for vacationing families

The Howard Johnson of Traverse City is a family-friendly hotel close to the beach and downtown Traverse City, Michigan. Hotel amenities include a heated outdoor pool, an expanded hot continental breakfast, and free high-speed Internet access. Guest rooms have been recently renovated. The parking is free of charge at Howard Johnson of Traverse City.

Highlights
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Expanded continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in guest rooms
  • Some rooms feature Jacuzzi baths
Rooms

Renovated in 2008, the two-floor Howard Johnson of Traverse City has 40 guest rooms with a choice of one king or two double beds. Standard room amenities include televisions, coffee-maker, phones, coffee/tea makers, hair-dryers and iron/ironing boards. All rooms have individual climate control and air-conditioning, and housekeeping is offered. Select rooms provide Jacuzzi baths and/or refrigerators. 3-bedroom family suites are available. Local calls are free.

Features

Howard Johnson of Traverse City offers business and leisure guests a comfortable, relaxing stay. Guests enjoy quick access to top Northern Michigan attractions from skiing and snowmobiling resorts, to beaches, golf courses and more. The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, and free Wi-Fi Internet access.

 

Complimentary parking can accommodate snowmobiles and trailers. A short walk from the hotel is East Grand Bay Park, offering a family-friendly beach with lifeguards, extensive picnic areas and a playground. Families and groups enjoy day trips to Mackinac Island, Charlevoix, Sleeping Bear Dunes and Torch Lake.

Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Cherry Capital Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (263 mi/423 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Traverse City State Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Torch Lake (27.2 mi/43.8 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (47.8 mi/76.9 km)
  • Mackinac Island (100 mi/161 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Of Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MKAS
Chicago
May 11, 2012

Clean and spacious

We spent a night here on our trip around Lake Michigan. This was the best motel on our trip. Room was very clean and spacious. Unlimited breakfast was good (the only thing lacking were fresh fruits). Didn't have much interaction with staff, no opinion. Motel is located very conveniently if you drive through Traverse City, but probably not within walking distance to any attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
familytraveler
Business
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

One night stay

Great hotel for the price! My son and I stayed here when he had an early doctor appointment the next day. I had forgotten some paper work for the appointment and had to have my husband fax it to me. The front desk staff was very helpful with this! Room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourist guide Bill
Business
Alpena
Feb 4, 2015

Great place to stay

This hotel was a great place to stay when we had doctor appts in Traverse City. Very easy to get to, staff very accommodating, had everything we needed. Price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katelyn S.
Business
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

Great Stay

I always choose this hotel when I stay in Traverse City. Rooms are always clean and I think the price is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Livin out f the bag
Business
royal oak
Jan 18, 2015

1 NIGHT GET AWAY

This place gives you the value for your money. The lady at the front desk was very fiendly. Upgraded our room at no extra cost. Ignore the swimming pool, it is practically non-existent (unless you are willing to plunge into dried leaves and mud in the water.) Overall, good experience. Breakfast is the standard free breakfast you get with hotel stays - cereal, milk, bread, bagels, orange juice, coffee. Nothing out of the box.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boss
Business
Detroit
Dec 30, 2014

short trip

Good stay, good for the money spent. staff are good and helpping nature. recommended for short durations. you will get equal to what you spent. overall not bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Full Time RVer
Business
Sioux Falls
Dec 30, 2014

Holiday Trip

This is the second year we have stayed in this hotel while in the area visiting relatives during the Holidays. The staff and room were as nice as last year. I suspect its the Summer crowd that gives this a low rating because its really a deal for the money and area and time of the year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John in Columbus Ohio
Business
Columbus, OH
Oct 11, 2014

Michigan autumn trip

The hotel was easy to find, clean and comfortable - a pleasant surprise for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Cottage Restaurant (short distance from hotel) was a good value

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visiting Visitor Visiting
Business
Michigan, Michigan
Sep 22, 2014

Average motel

The motel was a regular motel with no frills. It was clean and the room was ready when it was supposed to be. Close to downtown Traverse City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cc gogeter
Business
Muskegon,mi
Aug 10, 2014

Last minute getaway

Rooms are newly updated. Staff were friendly. Quiet hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marshasue1
Business
Bay City
Jul 25, 2014

Nice stay, good value

Our room was clean but had a heavy cleaner smell. Beds comfortable. Convenient Traverse City location. Good value for that town in the summer. Limited breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top