$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

2 stars
View map of 417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
68 reviews
Comfortable Stay

Stayed at the Howard Johnson Of Traverse City for one night. Nice and fairly clean place. I did... See full review

  • Tarvel101
  • Jun 11, 2015
Excellent value

No ironing board or microwave in room. Otherwise an excellent lodging experience. See full review

  • Lochen
  • Jun 3, 2015

The Howard Johnson of Traverse City is a family-friendly hotel close to the beach and downtown Traverse City, Michigan. Hotel amenities include a heated outdoor pool, an expanded hot continental breakfast, and free high-speed Internet access. Guest rooms have been recently renovated. The parking is free of charge at Howard Johnson of Traverse City.

Rooms

Renovated in 2008, the two-floor Howard Johnson of Traverse City has 40 guest rooms with a choice of one king or two double beds. Standard room amenities include televisions, coffee-maker, phones, coffee/tea makers, hair-dryers and iron/ironing boards. All rooms have individual climate control and air-conditioning, and housekeeping is offered. Select rooms provide Jacuzzi baths and/or refrigerators. 3-bedroom family suites are available. Local calls are free.

Property features

Howard Johnson of Traverse City offers business and leisure guests a comfortable, relaxing stay. Guests enjoy quick access to top Northern Michigan attractions from skiing and snowmobiling resorts, to beaches, golf courses and more. The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, and free Wi-Fi Internet access.

 

Complimentary parking can accommodate snowmobiles and trailers. A short walk from the hotel is East Grand Bay Park, offering a family-friendly beach with lifeguards, extensive picnic areas and a playground. Families and groups enjoy day trips to Mackinac Island, Charlevoix, Sleeping Bear Dunes and Torch Lake.

Highlights
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Expanded continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access in guest rooms
  • Some rooms feature Jacuzzi baths
Nearby attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Traverse City State Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (25 mi/40.2 km)
  • Torch Lake (27.2 mi/43.8 km)
  • Charlevoix, MI (47.8 mi/76.9 km)
  • Mackinac Island (100 mi/161 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Cherry Capital Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (263 mi/423 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Of Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matthew H.
Business
Woking
Jul 15, 2015

Perfectly adequate

We booked very late for 3&4 July so the rate was very high for a HJ. We were in town for the Cherry Festival. Our room was always clean and well stocked with fresh towels. Breakfast had limited items compared to other inclusive continental breakfasts but was fresh and plenty available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tarvel101
Business
Aurora
Jun 11, 2015

Comfortable Stay

Stayed at the Howard Johnson Of Traverse City for one night. Nice and fairly clean place. I did find someone's socks by the bed and returned them to the Front Desk. The non-smoking room was truly clean and no smoking smell (unlike some hotels that only advertise non-smoking). Good stay overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lochen
Business
N/A
Jun 3, 2015

Excellent value

No ironing board or microwave in room. Otherwise an excellent lodging experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristie L.
Business
Stanwood
May 30, 2015

Awesome Deal

We came to this hotel in the off season and it was so cheap!! We were thinking about coming back some time in July, but the rates had tripled! Early May was the best time for us to come. I would definitely book a room here again if I were staying in Traverse City

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
familytraveler
Business
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

One night stay

Great hotel for the price! My son and I stayed here when he had an early doctor appointment the next day. I had forgotten some paper work for the appointment and had to have my husband fax it to me. The front desk staff was very helpful with this! Room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourist guide Bill
Business
Alpena
Feb 4, 2015

Great place to stay

This hotel was a great place to stay when we had doctor appts in Traverse City. Very easy to get to, staff very accommodating, had everything we needed. Price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katelyn S.
Business
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

Great Stay

I always choose this hotel when I stay in Traverse City. Rooms are always clean and I think the price is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Livin out f the bag
Business
royal oak
Jan 18, 2015

1 NIGHT GET AWAY

This place gives you the value for your money. The lady at the front desk was very fiendly. Upgraded our room at no extra cost. Ignore the swimming pool, it is practically non-existent (unless you are willing to plunge into dried leaves and mud in the water.) Overall, good experience. Breakfast is the standard free breakfast you get with hotel stays - cereal, milk, bread, bagels, orange juice, coffee. Nothing out of the box.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boss
Business
Detroit
Dec 30, 2014

short trip

Good stay, good for the money spent. staff are good and helpping nature. recommended for short durations. you will get equal to what you spent. overall not bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Of Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Full Time RVer
Business
Sioux Falls
Dec 30, 2014

Holiday Trip

This is the second year we have stayed in this hotel while in the area visiting relatives during the Holidays. The staff and room were as nice as last year. I suspect its the Summer crowd that gives this a low rating because its really a deal for the money and area and time of the year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top