$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 19, 2015 Check-out: Mar 21, 2015

Hampton Inn Traverse City

3 stars
View map of 1000 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
77 reviews
Hampton

Very clean and great room. Loved it I liked the continental breakfast. Many choices. See full review

  • mbmuller
  • Nov 3, 2014
Great value for what I paid

Room was extra neat and very cozy. Very spacious and more like a room at home. Breakfast was... See full review

  • stephn153
  • Oct 10, 2014
Family-friendly Traverse City hotel steps from the beach
Perched on the shore of the Grand Traverse Bay, the Hampton Inn Traverse City is ideally located in the Cherry Capital of the World. Guests enjoy an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center, and business guests take advantage of an on-site business center. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily. Free high-speed Internet access is available in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Across the street from the beach, close to airport and downtown
  • Indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • AAA Three Diamond rating
Location
The Hampton Inn is located next door to the Traverse City State Park, a 47-acre urban park that features a quarter mile of beautiful beach on East Grand Traverse Bay. The park provides guests with a bike trail, hiking, fishing, swimming, boat rentals, picnic areas and a playground. The area also boasts six ski areas within 35 miles and more than 30 golf courses. The nearby Dennos Museum Center, located on the campus of Northwestern Michigan College, features three changing exhibit galleries, a sculpture garden, and a unique hands-on gallery.
Rooms
The four-story Hampton Inn Traverse City provides 125 guest rooms and suites with a choice of queen or king beds. Rooms are elegantly furnished in dark wood with accents of taupe and white. Standard amenities include LCD televisions, a work desk and a lap desk, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board and a hair-dryer. High speed Internet access is complimentary. Some suites include kitchenettes.
Features
In addition to the complimentary Hampton On the House hot breakfast, the Hampton Inn Traverse City provides free breakfast-to-go bags, Hampton's On the Run, for those guests who are in a hurry (available Monday through Friday). Business guests can keep up with work at the on-site business center, which features complimentary printing service and free high-speed Internet access. Guests keep fit at the indoor swimming pool and fitness room.
Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (4 mi/6.4 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (Adjacent)
  • Dennos Museum Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (27 mi/43.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center
  • Dry-cleaning/laundry service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Traverse City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 77
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mbmuller
Business
grandvlle MI
Nov 3, 2014

Hampton

Very clean and great room. Loved it I liked the continental breakfast. Many choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebiG
Business
Macomb, MI
Oct 7, 2014

Nice Hotel

Very nice hotel, great breakfast, perfect location. Pool and hot tub were nice too. Staff was pleasant . Would return to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cottage Cafe comfort food right down the street from the Hampton inn has good eats! For cheap drinks go to U & I in downtown Traverse City. Also Bubba's has good food, decent price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
josie s
Business
walled lake, mi
Jul 14, 2014

looking good

very quiet hotel, hot tub was out of order--disappointing, great breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bubba's --good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josie s
Business
walled lake, mi
Jul 2, 2014

quiet relaxing getaway

staff were great and so was the breakfast! quiet, great amenities hot tub was out of order, however, and it was a little pricey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

ask staff for rec's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wine tour
Business
Grand Rapids, Mi
Jun 30, 2014

Nice weekend

We stayed here for a long weekend to go wine tasting. The hotel is in a nice location, right across the street from the beach. The morning breakfast was much better than anticipated, having actual food: waffles, omelettes sausage, etc. A bit pricy, but for a weekend in June and traverse city it was expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heidy H.
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Feb 17, 2014

Great location and price!

I was very pleased and pleasantly surprised by this hotel, didn't expect much but the staff was great and the room was very comfortable and clean! It was also in a central location and you cant beat free breakfast. The only thing I would say is that the pool had an excessive amount of chlorine because my eyes were burning and that normally doesnt happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Phil's on the Front

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kols
Business
Novi,Mi
Oct 6, 2013

Fall getaway

The Hampton Inn in Traverse City proved to be a convenient central location for a trip to the Old Mission and Leelanau Peninsulas. My husband and I stayed 3 nights as we toured the Vineyards and visited the beautiful shoreline towns of the area. The Hampton Inn provided a clean room and friendly staff. It was great to start each day with a warm breakfast with lots of choices. Mini fridges would have been a great addition to the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ThMgrAl
Business
Michigan, USA
Jun 11, 2013

Traverse City Visit

No bathtub in room. Large shower only. Room was comfortable but smaller than expected. Indoor pool was cold, we did not venture in. Hot tub was small and jets didn't seem to function in high position. Staff was courteous. Breakfast was wonderful, In top 10% of anywhere I have stayed. Location was near State Park and across from East Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Near numerous activities. Across from State Park beach. Short drive to downtown, golf course, casinos, and dining. Also near airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CT Squared
Business
Mansfield, OH, USA
Jun 5, 2013

Excellent stay two years in a row

Very clean, comfortable room with great bed. We stayed last year and came back because the staff works very hard to make your experience a good one. Right across the street from the beach (it's a main road though, so you have to dodge some traffic at busy parts of the day). Easy access to the TART bike path, just a few miles into downtown. Free breakfast, clean pool/gym facilities (definitely small, but they work). We were gone most of the day at wineries, dunes, shopping, etc, but always came back to a very clean room and fresh coffee/good creamers available in the large lobby. If we come back again, we will definitely be staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Treat yourself to breakfast at Bay Bread Co. one day. Amazing fresh baked breads & breakfast sandwiches. Order your food, then head upstairs to their adjacent "Roost," where you can enjoy a mug of coffee, book/maps/paper, and they will bring your food to you to eat with a view of the bay on comfortable seating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
England Scottish
Business
Huntley
May 27, 2013

Deposit Problems

I gave my credit card information when I made the reservations for a hold on our room. When I got to the hotel I gave them my new bank card information as our bank had changed from Citizens to Heartland Bank. The girl took the new information but obviously did not use this card used the old one instead. When we got home I had a message from the hotel stating that the card did not go through. I immediately contacted the hotel and they corrected it with the correct debit card number. This morning when I went on line they had charge my account $400 the charge for the room for 2 days was $308.58. On calling the hotel they informed me this was a hold which would take 5-10 days to get refunded to my account. I would also get another $308.58 put on my card tomorrow. My husband spoke to the Manager and after several minutes of conversation she said she would get this corrected tomorrow 28th. I have stayed at any hotels and have never been charged on a card that was given for a hold purpose. We should have been charged for our actual charges only. To say the least if they do not make this correct tomorrow I will never stay at a Hampton Inn again. Even if they do correct it I probably would not take chances in staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top