$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Hampton Inn Traverse City

3 stars
1000 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
77 reviews
Hampton

Very clean and great room. Loved it I liked the continental breakfast. Many choices. See full review

  • mbmuller
  • Nov 3, 2014
Great value for what I paid

Room was extra neat and very cozy. Very spacious and more like a room at home. Breakfast was... See full review

  • stephn153
  • Oct 10, 2014
Family-friendly Traverse City hotel steps from the beach
Perched on the shore of the Grand Traverse Bay, the Hampton Inn Traverse City is ideally located in the Cherry Capital of the World. Guests enjoy an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center, and business guests take advantage of an on-site business center. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily. Free high-speed Internet access is available in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Across the street from the beach, close to airport and downtown
  • Indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • AAA Three Diamond rating
Location
The Hampton Inn is located next door to the Traverse City State Park, a 47-acre urban park that features a quarter mile of beautiful beach on East Grand Traverse Bay. The park provides guests with a bike trail, hiking, fishing, swimming, boat rentals, picnic areas and a playground. The area also boasts six ski areas within 35 miles and more than 30 golf courses. The nearby Dennos Museum Center, located on the campus of Northwestern Michigan College, features three changing exhibit galleries, a sculpture garden, and a unique hands-on gallery.
Rooms
The four-story Hampton Inn Traverse City provides 125 guest rooms and suites with a choice of queen or king beds. Rooms are elegantly furnished in dark wood with accents of taupe and white. Standard amenities include LCD televisions, a work desk and a lap desk, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board and a hair-dryer. High speed Internet access is complimentary. Some suites include kitchenettes.
Features
In addition to the complimentary Hampton On the House hot breakfast, the Hampton Inn Traverse City provides free breakfast-to-go bags, Hampton's On the Run, for those guests who are in a hurry (available Monday through Friday). Business guests can keep up with work at the on-site business center, which features complimentary printing service and free high-speed Internet access. Guests keep fit at the indoor swimming pool and fitness room.
Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (4 mi/6.4 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (Adjacent)
  • Dennos Museum Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (27 mi/43.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center
  • Dry-cleaning/laundry service

Hotel Map

44.7489 -85.5578
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 2.00, MI, E;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Traverse City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MichTodd
Business
Brandon, fl
Sep 8, 2014

Last Minute Mistake

We needed a hotel room for one night as we were flying out of TVC at 6am the following morning. We arrived at the hotel at 9pm. The hotel had a difficult time finding us a can that would take us to the Airport the next morning, even though the site stated complimentary shuttle service and I called the hotel twice to let them know we needed an early ride. Also, the site showed this hotel provides "cribs". We have a 14 month old and I specifically told the hotel I would need a crib. When we arrived, there was no crib in the room, and we waited 15 min. for the staff to bring us a disgusting old, stained, and frankly unsafe pack-n-play. I am so disappointed that I was misled! If I knew this was what she had to sleep in I would've never booked with this hotel. Lastly, our room was a handicap room which we didn't require. It had a small full size bed and no extra space to set up the pack-n-play. We moved rooms to two queen size beds and this room was disgusting. There was a long black hair on the ceiling in the bathroom, and several long black hairs in the tub. I told the front desk my concerns upon checkout but clearly they don't care since I haven't been contacted. We feel that $159 dollars is too pricey for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Interlochen mom
Business
Michigan
May 30, 2012

Interlochen student visit

Location is good for Traverse City downtown, a 25 min drive to Interlochen Arts Academy. Room is a little crowded but very clean and comfortable. Good treat to have hot drinks availiable any time at front desk, and nice to have hot breakfast included. Front desk staff a little under dressed. Shampoo smell good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Interlochen Arts Academy, great shows all the time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
England Scottish
Business
Huntley
May 27, 2013

Deposit Problems

I gave my credit card information when I made the reservations for a hold on our room. When I got to the hotel I gave them my new bank card information as our bank had changed from Citizens to Heartland Bank. The girl took the new information but obviously did not use this card used the old one instead. When we got home I had a message from the hotel stating that the card did not go through. I immediately contacted the hotel and they corrected it with the correct debit card number. This morning when I went on line they had charge my account $400 the charge for the room for 2 days was $308.58. On calling the hotel they informed me this was a hold which would take 5-10 days to get refunded to my account. I would also get another $308.58 put on my card tomorrow. My husband spoke to the Manager and after several minutes of conversation she said she would get this corrected tomorrow 28th. I have stayed at any hotels and have never been charged on a card that was given for a hold purpose. We should have been charged for our actual charges only. To say the least if they do not make this correct tomorrow I will never stay at a Hampton Inn again. Even if they do correct it I probably would not take chances in staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ThMgrAl
Business
Michigan, USA
Jun 11, 2013

Traverse City Visit

No bathtub in room. Large shower only. Room was comfortable but smaller than expected. Indoor pool was cold, we did not venture in. Hot tub was small and jets didn't seem to function in high position. Staff was courteous. Breakfast was wonderful, In top 10% of anywhere I have stayed. Location was near State Park and across from East Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Near numerous activities. Across from State Park beach. Short drive to downtown, golf course, casinos, and dining. Also near airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kols
Business
Novi,Mi
Oct 6, 2013

Fall getaway

The Hampton Inn in Traverse City proved to be a convenient central location for a trip to the Old Mission and Leelanau Peninsulas. My husband and I stayed 3 nights as we toured the Vineyards and visited the beautiful shoreline towns of the area. The Hampton Inn provided a clean room and friendly staff. It was great to start each day with a warm breakfast with lots of choices. Mini fridges would have been a great addition to the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GUT
Business
Royal Oak, MI
Jan 13, 2011

Nice

Hotel was good, accommodating. I would have preferred to have an in-room refrigerator.I was upset that [...]and Hampton/Hilton did not cooperate on reward points, so I didn't receive any. I might have been better off bypassing [...]and booking directly with the hotel, and that shouldn't be the case !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Oct 13, 2010

Just ok

No bar!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Bacon wrapped shrimp at red Mesa!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bikerbill
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 16, 2011

Traverse City Hampton Inn

King room was small, but clean, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast included made it very convenient. The lobby and breakfast areas were comfortable and available 24/7.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the beautiful drive to the lighthouse on the inner peninsula.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heidy H.
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Feb 17, 2014

Great location and price!

I was very pleased and pleasantly surprised by this hotel, didn't expect much but the staff was great and the room was very comfortable and clean! It was also in a central location and you cant beat free breakfast. The only thing I would say is that the pool had an excessive amount of chlorine because my eyes were burning and that normally doesnt happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Phil's on the Front

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MWash
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Mar 12, 2014

Family Visit

Great Staff and excellent breakfast. Pool and hottub were clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top