$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Hampton Inn Traverse City

3 stars
1000 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
77 reviews
Hampton

Very clean and great room. Loved it I liked the continental breakfast. Many choices. See full review

  • mbmuller
  • Nov 3, 2014
Great value for what I paid

Room was extra neat and very cozy. Very spacious and more like a room at home. Breakfast was... See full review

  • stephn153
  • Oct 10, 2014
Family-friendly Traverse City hotel steps from the beach
Perched on the shore of the Grand Traverse Bay, the Hampton Inn Traverse City is ideally located in the Cherry Capital of the World. Guests enjoy an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center, and business guests take advantage of an on-site business center. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily. Free high-speed Internet access is available in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Across the street from the beach, close to airport and downtown
  • Indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • AAA Three Diamond rating
Location
The Hampton Inn is located next door to the Traverse City State Park, a 47-acre urban park that features a quarter mile of beautiful beach on East Grand Traverse Bay. The park provides guests with a bike trail, hiking, fishing, swimming, boat rentals, picnic areas and a playground. The area also boasts six ski areas within 35 miles and more than 30 golf courses. The nearby Dennos Museum Center, located on the campus of Northwestern Michigan College, features three changing exhibit galleries, a sculpture garden, and a unique hands-on gallery.
Rooms
The four-story Hampton Inn Traverse City provides 125 guest rooms and suites with a choice of queen or king beds. Rooms are elegantly furnished in dark wood with accents of taupe and white. Standard amenities include LCD televisions, a work desk and a lap desk, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board and a hair-dryer. High speed Internet access is complimentary. Some suites include kitchenettes.
Features
In addition to the complimentary Hampton On the House hot breakfast, the Hampton Inn Traverse City provides free breakfast-to-go bags, Hampton's On the Run, for those guests who are in a hurry (available Monday through Friday). Business guests can keep up with work at the on-site business center, which features complimentary printing service and free high-speed Internet access. Guests keep fit at the indoor swimming pool and fitness room.
Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (4 mi/6.4 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (Adjacent)
  • Dennos Museum Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (27 mi/43.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center
  • Dry-cleaning/laundry service

Hotel Map

44.7489 -85.5578
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 2.00, MI, E;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Traverse City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
momma d
Business
Painesville, OH, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Enjoyable Stay

We loved everything about Hampton Inn Traverse City. The hotel is located across the steet from a park and the water and is conveniently located to everything the area has to offer. The room was very clean. Comfortable bed. The selections at the free full breakfast were impressive. It was a great experience to celebrate our 25th anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CT Squared
Business
Mansfield, OH, USA
Jun 5, 2013

Excellent stay two years in a row

Very clean, comfortable room with great bed. We stayed last year and came back because the staff works very hard to make your experience a good one. Right across the street from the beach (it's a main road though, so you have to dodge some traffic at busy parts of the day). Easy access to the TART bike path, just a few miles into downtown. Free breakfast, clean pool/gym facilities (definitely small, but they work). We were gone most of the day at wineries, dunes, shopping, etc, but always came back to a very clean room and fresh coffee/good creamers available in the large lobby. If we come back again, we will definitely be staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Treat yourself to breakfast at Bay Bread Co. one day. Amazing fresh baked breads & breakfast sandwiches. Order your food, then head upstairs to their adjacent "Roost," where you can enjoy a mug of coffee, book/maps/paper, and they will bring your food to you to eat with a view of the bay on comfortable seating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, MI
Feb 10, 2011

Pleasant, clean, and friendly surroundin

My husband and I came up for a conference and managed to squeeze in a downhill skiing trip in on one of the "off" days. We had a healthy and delicious, warm breakfast each morning which started things off right each day. We found our room and the hotel stylishly decorated with contemporary photographic art and other fashionable decor. Even the breakfast nook was very comfortable with a variety of seating arrangements, not just the usual table and chairs arrangement. The room was up to date, the shower worked wonderfully, and the bed was very big and comfortable with a down comforter. The whirlpool in the pool area was just the right temp and very relaxing after our day at the slopes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Red Mesa Grill Restaurant had a very fun, festive atmosphere and good food! Their homemade chips and salsa are made fresh every day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jstudent
Business
charlevoix
Sep 13, 2010

quiet, clean and great pillows

Great art photos and media displayed in hallways, and the dark wood furnishings complemented a warm blue gray decor scheme. Super friendly, extra clean and the beds are the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, Mi
Aug 1, 2010

Deserves every award in the book.

Everything was first rate. We've already planned our return next summer. Exceeds all standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hannah Bistro Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
munith, michigan 49259
Jun 26, 2010

excellent tourist location.

great view of lake - easy access to highway and attractions - hotel setting is pleasent. a very nice complimentary breakfast area is available ,but no lunch or supper services at hampton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

asking and getting a detailed map of area at checkin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Pastor on a planning work away.
Business
East Tawas Michigan
Jan 22, 2010

Perfect Hotel....

It has been newly renovated and is BEAUTIFUL! Great breakfast and staff. CLEAN! Although it is not near shopping it is near the airport. Shopping is 15 minutes away. There are ample dinning selections near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fridays is near as well as Red Mesa Grill, which is outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dirty Jersey
Oct 14, 2009

Excellent hotel and staff

My wife and I were both very impressed with this particular hotel. The entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The indoor pool was great for the kids, as well as adults. It is a nice size for being an indoor pool. The room was very clean and up to date. I'm not sure if this is a new hotel or recently remodeled, its hard to tell which. Overall, this is a great place to stay in Traverse City. I would highly recommend this hotel. Great service, great rooms, great location, and a super-friendly staff. The breakfast included in the price is great. There is a large variety of breakfast foods, both hot and cold, to satisfy the pickiest eaters. I don't normally take the time to write reviews on hotels. Needless to say, we were impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to check out the sleeping bear dunes. It's about a 30 minute drive, but well worth it. Also, take a drive around Old Mission Peninsula and take in the amazing views. Bad Dog Deli is a great place to get a sandwich for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emdean
Business
Hayward, WI
Aug 7, 2011

Great Place to Stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have stayed at several different hotels in Traverse City low to high end. This one is great! Haven't stayed at any of the new ones, but this Hampton Inn is a great hotel and I would not hesitate to stay there again! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katie Day
Business
Nixa, MO
Jul 20, 2011

Great Experience!

i was there to photograph a wedding. The bed was comfortable. Room very clean! The best part was the breakfast and delicious coffee. I didn't even know there was public beach access across the street until i got there. Traverse City is BEAUTIFUL! It's all vineyards, orchards, and waterfront. Great restaurants and a cute downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Traverse City is BEAUTIFUL! It's all vineyards, orchards, and waterfront. Great restaurants and a cute downtown area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top