$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 6, 2015 Check-out: Feb 7, 2015

Hampton Inn Traverse City

3 stars
1000 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
77 reviews
Hampton

Very clean and great room. Loved it I liked the continental breakfast. Many choices. See full review

  • mbmuller
  • Nov 3, 2014
Great value for what I paid

Room was extra neat and very cozy. Very spacious and more like a room at home. Breakfast was... See full review

  • stephn153
  • Oct 10, 2014
Family-friendly Traverse City hotel steps from the beach
Perched on the shore of the Grand Traverse Bay, the Hampton Inn Traverse City is ideally located in the Cherry Capital of the World. Guests enjoy an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center, and business guests take advantage of an on-site business center. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily. Free high-speed Internet access is available in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Across the street from the beach, close to airport and downtown
  • Indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • AAA Three Diamond rating
Location
The Hampton Inn is located next door to the Traverse City State Park, a 47-acre urban park that features a quarter mile of beautiful beach on East Grand Traverse Bay. The park provides guests with a bike trail, hiking, fishing, swimming, boat rentals, picnic areas and a playground. The area also boasts six ski areas within 35 miles and more than 30 golf courses. The nearby Dennos Museum Center, located on the campus of Northwestern Michigan College, features three changing exhibit galleries, a sculpture garden, and a unique hands-on gallery.
Rooms
The four-story Hampton Inn Traverse City provides 125 guest rooms and suites with a choice of queen or king beds. Rooms are elegantly furnished in dark wood with accents of taupe and white. Standard amenities include LCD televisions, a work desk and a lap desk, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board and a hair-dryer. High speed Internet access is complimentary. Some suites include kitchenettes.
Features
In addition to the complimentary Hampton On the House hot breakfast, the Hampton Inn Traverse City provides free breakfast-to-go bags, Hampton's On the Run, for those guests who are in a hurry (available Monday through Friday). Business guests can keep up with work at the on-site business center, which features complimentary printing service and free high-speed Internet access. Guests keep fit at the indoor swimming pool and fitness room.
Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (4 mi/6.4 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (Adjacent)
  • Dennos Museum Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (27 mi/43.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center
  • Dry-cleaning/laundry service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Traverse City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hampton Inn Guest
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Affordable Location

Everything during our stay at the Hampton Inn was satisfactory. Considering the amount we paid for the night the accommodations were great and had everything we needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cook's House in town has absolutely fantastic food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
momma d
Business
Painesville, OH, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Enjoyable Stay

We loved everything about Hampton Inn Traverse City. The hotel is located across the steet from a park and the water and is conveniently located to everything the area has to offer. The room was very clean. Comfortable bed. The selections at the free full breakfast were impressive. It was a great experience to celebrate our 25th anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puffy K
Business
South Bend, IN, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Very nice decor

We stayed for three nights and it was a decent stay. Have to admit that we both woke up each morning with back pain, but it confused us because the mattress didn't seem like a bad mattress. The breakfast was pretty good and I always like staying in a place with 24-hour coffee service. Used the free internet every night to plan our activities, so that was a real bonus. The price was ok, but i never complain about a lower price. It's pretty close to the TART bike trail, which is nice since we biked into downtown one day. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davis Davis
Business
Canton Michigan
Sep 19, 2011

business friendly

I had to book a room at the last minute and I found out that the town was especially busy. I could not get a room at my usual hotel. I was pleasantly surprised to find a room at this hotel, closer to my customer. I will return because everything I encountered was vey good here..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Memphis Mamma
Business
Michigan, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Great surprise!

This is the one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at with only online comments and picts for reference. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful for directions to various places. Our rm was somewhat small, but very nice. Window opened and overlooked Traverse Bay - really pretty. The complimentary breakfast was the best I've ever had. Hot waffles, sausage, fresh fruit of several kinds, cereal, yogurt, cheese omlette. Did I mention the fresh coffee and several other choices of drinks? We had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Cute "tourist shop" about 2blocks away. Traverse Bay right across the street with no obstuction of view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nan50
Business
michigan, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Inexpensive, clean hotel

Hotel had a friendly staff, rooms were clean and comfortable. This is a moderate hotel and is not located on the water, but there is a state park right across the street with beach access. The beach is very nice and there is a big put put golf right down the street in walking distance. They also provide a breakfast buffett in the morning. food is fair but their is a variety where you should be able to find something that you like. I would stay again for a short trip. We were there in August for 2 nights only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bikerbill
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 16, 2011

Traverse City Hampton Inn

King room was small, but clean, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast included made it very convenient. The lobby and breakfast areas were comfortable and available 24/7.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the beautiful drive to the lighthouse on the inner peninsula.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenn
Business
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Family getaway

Although the room was small it was very clean and in a perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenn
Business
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Aug 13, 2011

family getaway

it was small but it was in a great location, perfect walk across street to beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom of 4 under 10
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 10, 2011

Family TC Trip

This hotel is very clean and well decorated- comfy beds, but the rooms are very small. No mini fridge...wth? It is right across the street from the beach. I noticed some top-rated hotels that were quite a distance from the beach, and felt we had a better location. FREE breakfast with waffles, eggs, sausage and the usual muffins and cereal, etc. We liked TC, central to many activities- we drove to Mackinac Island (1.5 hrs), floated in tubes down the Platt river (40 mins), and rented a water trampoline just a few blocks away for $35/hr. Check out Moomers for homemade ice cream, and Pirate Golf for a way to dump loads of cash on ziplining, ropes course, bumper boats, go karts, oh and yes, mini golf lol!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Grab a National Parks pass for $10- good for a full week. This allows admission to Sleeping Bear Dunes and any Nat'l Park beaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top