$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2014 Check-out: Sep 12, 2014

Hampton Inn Traverse City

3 stars
1000 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
71 reviews
looking good

very quiet hotel, hot tub was out of order--disappointing, great breakfast See full review

  • josie s
  • Jul 14, 2014
Pleasantly surprised

This is the best Hampton Inn that I have experienced. I stayed here with my wife and two small kids... See full review

  • Northville Spartan
  • Jul 14, 2014
Family-friendly Traverse City hotel steps from the beach
Perched on the shore of the Grand Traverse Bay, the Hampton Inn Traverse City is ideally located in the Cherry Capital of the World. Guests enjoy an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center, and business guests take advantage of an on-site business center. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily. Free high-speed Internet access is available in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Across the street from the beach, close to airport and downtown
  • Indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • AAA Three Diamond rating
Location
The Hampton Inn is located next door to the Traverse City State Park, a 47-acre urban park that features a quarter mile of beautiful beach on East Grand Traverse Bay. The park provides guests with a bike trail, hiking, fishing, swimming, boat rentals, picnic areas and a playground. The area also boasts six ski areas within 35 miles and more than 30 golf courses. The nearby Dennos Museum Center, located on the campus of Northwestern Michigan College, features three changing exhibit galleries, a sculpture garden, and a unique hands-on gallery.
Rooms
The four-story Hampton Inn Traverse City provides 125 guest rooms and suites with a choice of queen or king beds. Rooms are elegantly furnished in dark wood with accents of taupe and white. Standard amenities include LCD televisions, a work desk and a lap desk, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board and a hair-dryer. High speed Internet access is complimentary. Some suites include kitchenettes.
Features
In addition to the complimentary Hampton On the House hot breakfast, the Hampton Inn Traverse City provides free breakfast-to-go bags, Hampton's On the Run, for those guests who are in a hurry (available Monday through Friday). Business guests can keep up with work at the on-site business center, which features complimentary printing service and free high-speed Internet access. Guests keep fit at the indoor swimming pool and fitness room.
Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (4 mi/6.4 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (Adjacent)
  • Dennos Museum Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (27 mi/43.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center
  • Dry-cleaning/laundry service

Hotel Map

44.7489 -85.5578
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 2.00, MI, E;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Traverse City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
England Scottish
Huntley
May 27, 2013

Deposit Problems

I gave my credit card information when I made the reservations for a hold on our room. When I got to the hotel I gave them my new bank card information as our bank had changed from Citizens to Heartland Bank. The girl took the new information but obviously did not use this card used the old one instead. When we got home I had a message from the hotel stating that the card did not go through. I immediately contacted the hotel and they corrected it with the correct debit card number. This morning when I went on line they had charge my account $400 the charge for the room for 2 days was $308.58. On calling the hotel they informed me this was a hold which would take 5-10 days to get refunded to my account. I would also get another $308.58 put on my card tomorrow. My husband spoke to the Manager and after several minutes of conversation she said she would get this corrected tomorrow 28th. I have stayed at any hotels and have never been charged on a card that was given for a hold purpose. We should have been charged for our actual charges only. To say the least if they do not make this correct tomorrow I will never stay at a Hampton Inn again. Even if they do correct it I probably would not take chances in staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ailen
Grand Rpids, Michigan
Apr 6, 2013

Clean, cozy hotel

We spent a night at the great wolf lodge (water park for 2 days) and stayed here the next night. 10 min away from the water park so it was easy to commute. Quite, cozy and clean. I really liked the interior...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Interlochen mom
Michigan
May 30, 2012

Interlochen student visit

Location is good for Traverse City downtown, a 25 min drive to Interlochen Arts Academy. Room is a little crowded but very clean and comfortable. Good treat to have hot drinks availiable any time at front desk, and nice to have hot breakfast included. Front desk staff a little under dressed. Shampoo smell good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Interlochen Arts Academy, great shows all the time!

Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Epyon
Gaylord, MI 49735, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Birthday!!

It's a vary nice hotel. They have a breakfast, but I would like it if they had lunch and diner too. At lest the breakfast was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hampton Inn Guest
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Affordable Location

Everything during our stay at the Hampton Inn was satisfactory. Considering the amount we paid for the night the accommodations were great and had everything we needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cook's House in town has absolutely fantastic food!

Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
momma d
Painesville, OH, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Enjoyable Stay

We loved everything about Hampton Inn Traverse City. The hotel is located across the steet from a park and the water and is conveniently located to everything the area has to offer. The room was very clean. Comfortable bed. The selections at the free full breakfast were impressive. It was a great experience to celebrate our 25th anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puffy K
South Bend, IN, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Very nice decor

We stayed for three nights and it was a decent stay. Have to admit that we both woke up each morning with back pain, but it confused us because the mattress didn't seem like a bad mattress. The breakfast was pretty good and I always like staying in a place with 24-hour coffee service. Used the free internet every night to plan our activities, so that was a real bonus. The price was ok, but i never complain about a lower price. It's pretty close to the TART bike trail, which is nice since we biked into downtown one day. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davis Davis
Business
Canton Michigan
Sep 19, 2011

business friendly

I had to book a room at the last minute and I found out that the town was especially busy. I could not get a room at my usual hotel. I was pleasantly surprised to find a room at this hotel, closer to my customer. I will return because everything I encountered was vey good here..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Memphis Mamma
Michigan, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Great surprise!

This is the one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at with only online comments and picts for reference. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful for directions to various places. Our rm was somewhat small, but very nice. Window opened and overlooked Traverse Bay - really pretty. The complimentary breakfast was the best I've ever had. Hot waffles, sausage, fresh fruit of several kinds, cereal, yogurt, cheese omlette. Did I mention the fresh coffee and several other choices of drinks? We had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Cute "tourist shop" about 2blocks away. Traverse Bay right across the street with no obstuction of view.

Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nan50
michigan, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Inexpensive, clean hotel

Hotel had a friendly staff, rooms were clean and comfortable. This is a moderate hotel and is not located on the water, but there is a state park right across the street with beach access. The beach is very nice and there is a big put put golf right down the street in walking distance. They also provide a breakfast buffett in the morning. food is fair but their is a variety where you should be able to find something that you like. I would stay again for a short trip. We were there in August for 2 nights only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search