$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Hampton Inn Traverse City

3 stars
1000 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
113 reviews
looking good

very quiet hotel, hot tub was out of order--disappointing, great breakfast See full review

  • josie s
  • Jul 14, 2014
Pleasantly surprised

This is the best Hampton Inn that I have experienced. I stayed here with my wife and two small kids... See full review

  • Northville Spartan
  • Jul 14, 2014
Family-friendly Traverse City hotel steps from the beach
Perched on the shore of the Grand Traverse Bay, the Hampton Inn Traverse City is ideally located in the Cherry Capital of the World. Guests enjoy an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center, and business guests take advantage of an on-site business center. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily. Free high-speed Internet access is available in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Across the street from the beach, close to airport and downtown
  • Indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • AAA Three Diamond rating
Location
The Hampton Inn is located next door to the Traverse City State Park, a 47-acre urban park that features a quarter mile of beautiful beach on East Grand Traverse Bay. The park provides guests with a bike trail, hiking, fishing, swimming, boat rentals, picnic areas and a playground. The area also boasts six ski areas within 35 miles and more than 30 golf courses. The nearby Dennos Museum Center, located on the campus of Northwestern Michigan College, features three changing exhibit galleries, a sculpture garden, and a unique hands-on gallery.
Rooms
The four-story Hampton Inn Traverse City provides 125 guest rooms and suites with a choice of queen or king beds. Rooms are elegantly furnished in dark wood with accents of taupe and white. Standard amenities include LCD televisions, a work desk and a lap desk, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board and a hair-dryer. High speed Internet access is complimentary. Some suites include kitchenettes.
Features
In addition to the complimentary Hampton On the House hot breakfast, the Hampton Inn Traverse City provides free breakfast-to-go bags, Hampton's On the Run, for those guests who are in a hurry (available Monday through Friday). Business guests can keep up with work at the on-site business center, which features complimentary printing service and free high-speed Internet access. Guests keep fit at the indoor swimming pool and fitness room.
Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (4 mi/6.4 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (Adjacent)
  • Dennos Museum Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (27 mi/43.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center
  • Dry-cleaning/laundry service

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

44.7489 -85.5578
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 2.00, MI, E;

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Traverse City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Epyon
Gaylord, MI 49735, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Birthday!!

It's a vary nice hotel. They have a breakfast, but I would like it if they had lunch and diner too. At lest the breakfast was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vbo22
detroit, mi
May 29, 2014

solid stay

good breakfast, nice pool area, and comfy beds! across the street is a nice state beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SnoopySue
Rochester, MN
May 29, 2014

Comfortable and Close

We enjoyed our stay. It was a good value overall, the desk staff were wonderful. We'd stay there again. Good location, just enough away from the city hub so it's close but not so congested and noisy. I did notice that the bathroom floor didn't look like it was carefully cleaned (there were stray hairs that definitely weren't mine). Also, the fan in the bathroom didn't work and friends who were also staying there told us steam from their shower set off the fire alarm in their room and they had to open the windows and fan their room out. We made use of the lobby area for a gathering and glass of wine and that was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MWash
Detroit, Michigan
Mar 12, 2014

Family Visit

Great Staff and excellent breakfast. Pool and hottub were clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heidy H.
Grand Rapids, MI
Feb 17, 2014

Great location and price!

I was very pleased and pleasantly surprised by this hotel, didn't expect much but the staff was great and the room was very comfortable and clean! It was also in a central location and you cant beat free breakfast. The only thing I would say is that the pool had an excessive amount of chlorine because my eyes were burning and that normally doesnt happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Phil's on the Front

Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs.G.
Soo, Canada
Dec 2, 2013

Retail Therapy

This is a great hotel if you don't mind being a bit away from downtown and the shopping mall. Nothing is more than a 15 minute drive anyways. The beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean. The continental breakfast offered a huge variety and everything was fresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judge D
Corunna, MI
Dec 2, 2013

Up for a Party

A mini fridge in the room would have been nice but the wifi signal was good and the bedding was outstanding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kols
Novi,Mi
Oct 6, 2013

Fall getaway

The Hampton Inn in Traverse City proved to be a convenient central location for a trip to the Old Mission and Leelanau Peninsulas. My husband and I stayed 3 nights as we toured the Vineyards and visited the beautiful shoreline towns of the area. The Hampton Inn provided a clean room and friendly staff. It was great to start each day with a warm breakfast with lots of choices. Mini fridges would have been a great addition to the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zubie
goodrich, michigan
Aug 15, 2013

vacation

This was my first experience with this company. Clean room and nice breakfast. I will use this company again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ThMgrAl
Michigan, USA
Jun 11, 2013

Traverse City Visit

No bathtub in room. Large shower only. Room was comfortable but smaller than expected. Indoor pool was cold, we did not venture in. Hot tub was small and jets didn't seem to function in high position. Staff was courteous. Breakfast was wonderful, In top 10% of anywhere I have stayed. Location was near State Park and across from East Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Near numerous activities. Across from State Park beach. Short drive to downtown, golf course, casinos, and dining. Also near airport.

Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CT Squared
Mansfield, OH, USA
Jun 5, 2013

Excellent stay two years in a row

Very clean, comfortable room with great bed. We stayed last year and came back because the staff works very hard to make your experience a good one. Right across the street from the beach (it's a main road though, so you have to dodge some traffic at busy parts of the day). Easy access to the TART bike path, just a few miles into downtown. Free breakfast, clean pool/gym facilities (definitely small, but they work). We were gone most of the day at wineries, dunes, shopping, etc, but always came back to a very clean room and fresh coffee/good creamers available in the large lobby. If we come back again, we will definitely be staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Treat yourself to breakfast at Bay Bread Co. one day. Amazing fresh baked breads & breakfast sandwiches. Order your food, then head upstairs to their adjacent "Roost," where you can enjoy a mug of coffee, book/maps/paper, and they will bring your food to you to eat with a view of the bay on comfortable seating.

Back to menu Return to top