$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 9, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

Hampton Inn Traverse City

3 stars
1000 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
77 reviews
Hampton

Very clean and great room. Loved it I liked the continental breakfast. Many choices. See full review

  • mbmuller
  • Nov 3, 2014
Great value for what I paid

Room was extra neat and very cozy. Very spacious and more like a room at home. Breakfast was... See full review

  • stephn153
  • Oct 10, 2014
Family-friendly Traverse City hotel steps from the beach
Perched on the shore of the Grand Traverse Bay, the Hampton Inn Traverse City is ideally located in the Cherry Capital of the World. Guests enjoy an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center, and business guests take advantage of an on-site business center. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily. Free high-speed Internet access is available in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Across the street from the beach, close to airport and downtown
  • Indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • AAA Three Diamond rating
Location
The Hampton Inn is located next door to the Traverse City State Park, a 47-acre urban park that features a quarter mile of beautiful beach on East Grand Traverse Bay. The park provides guests with a bike trail, hiking, fishing, swimming, boat rentals, picnic areas and a playground. The area also boasts six ski areas within 35 miles and more than 30 golf courses. The nearby Dennos Museum Center, located on the campus of Northwestern Michigan College, features three changing exhibit galleries, a sculpture garden, and a unique hands-on gallery.
Rooms
The four-story Hampton Inn Traverse City provides 125 guest rooms and suites with a choice of queen or king beds. Rooms are elegantly furnished in dark wood with accents of taupe and white. Standard amenities include LCD televisions, a work desk and a lap desk, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board and a hair-dryer. High speed Internet access is complimentary. Some suites include kitchenettes.
Features
In addition to the complimentary Hampton On the House hot breakfast, the Hampton Inn Traverse City provides free breakfast-to-go bags, Hampton's On the Run, for those guests who are in a hurry (available Monday through Friday). Business guests can keep up with work at the on-site business center, which features complimentary printing service and free high-speed Internet access. Guests keep fit at the indoor swimming pool and fitness room.
Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (4 mi/6.4 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (Adjacent)
  • Dennos Museum Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (27 mi/43.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center
  • Dry-cleaning/laundry service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Traverse City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CT Squared
Mansfield, OH, USA
Jun 5, 2013

Excellent stay two years in a row

Very clean, comfortable room with great bed. We stayed last year and came back because the staff works very hard to make your experience a good one. Right across the street from the beach (it's a main road though, so you have to dodge some traffic at busy parts of the day). Easy access to the TART bike path, just a few miles into downtown. Free breakfast, clean pool/gym facilities (definitely small, but they work). We were gone most of the day at wineries, dunes, shopping, etc, but always came back to a very clean room and fresh coffee/good creamers available in the large lobby. If we come back again, we will definitely be staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Treat yourself to breakfast at Bay Bread Co. one day. Amazing fresh baked breads & breakfast sandwiches. Order your food, then head upstairs to their adjacent "Roost," where you can enjoy a mug of coffee, book/maps/paper, and they will bring your food to you to eat with a view of the bay on comfortable seating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mbmuller
Business
grandvlle MI
Nov 3, 2014

Hampton

Very clean and great room. Loved it I liked the continental breakfast. Many choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stephn153
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Oct 10, 2014

Great value for what I paid

Room was extra neat and very cozy. Very spacious and more like a room at home. Breakfast was awesome and was comparable to a decent restaurant hot breakfast. Its one of the best hotels I stayed in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebiG
Business
Macomb, MI
Oct 7, 2014

Nice Hotel

Very nice hotel, great breakfast, perfect location. Pool and hot tub were nice too. Staff was pleasant . Would return to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cottage Cafe comfort food right down the street from the Hampton inn has good eats! For cheap drinks go to U & I in downtown Traverse City. Also Bubba's has good food, decent price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lew07
Business
traverse city mi
Sep 28, 2014

Excellent location, staff, and very nice room.

It was excellent. Nice breakfast. Coffee always available 24 hours. Will stay there again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Manikand
Business
Chicago
Sep 8, 2014

Good location

Not lake view, just opposite to it though. Morning breakfast was quite decent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan lake shore beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MichTodd
Business
Brandon, fl
Sep 8, 2014

Last Minute Mistake

We needed a hotel room for one night as we were flying out of TVC at 6am the following morning. We arrived at the hotel at 9pm. The hotel had a difficult time finding us a can that would take us to the Airport the next morning, even though the site stated complimentary shuttle service and I called the hotel twice to let them know we needed an early ride. Also, the site showed this hotel provides "cribs". We have a 14 month old and I specifically told the hotel I would need a crib. When we arrived, there was no crib in the room, and we waited 15 min. for the staff to bring us a disgusting old, stained, and frankly unsafe pack-n-play. I am so disappointed that I was misled! If I knew this was what she had to sleep in I would've never booked with this hotel. Lastly, our room was a handicap room which we didn't require. It had a small full size bed and no extra space to set up the pack-n-play. We moved rooms to two queen size beds and this room was disgusting. There was a long black hair on the ceiling in the bathroom, and several long black hairs in the tub. I told the front desk my concerns upon checkout but clearly they don't care since I haven't been contacted. We feel that $159 dollars is too pricey for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seasoned Traveler 999
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 21, 2014

Great location, great staff

The staff was excellent - very helpful in every way. Decent breakfast in the morning. Nice clean pool and hot tub. Would recommend, especially if traveling with family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to visit the Leelenau Peninsula. Gorgeous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crozet Mom
Business
Crozet, Virginia
Jul 14, 2014

Good location

Hampton Inn is a trusted name in hotels. This one was a lifesaver since it was about the only room I could find when I brought my daughter to camp. Right on the main road that runs parallel to the lake and only a few miles from downtown Traverse City which is charming. Staff was very pleasant and helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
josie s
Business
walled lake, mi
Jul 14, 2014

looking good

very quiet hotel, hot tub was out of order--disappointing, great breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bubba's --good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Northville Spartan
Business
Northville, Michigan
Jul 14, 2014

Pleasantly surprised

This is the best Hampton Inn that I have experienced. I stayed here with my wife and two small kids on the final weekend of the 2014 Cherry Festival. Even though the place was sold out, it was quiet and clean. The indoor pool and hot tub were nice and breakfast was great. The room was clean and nicely decorated, if slightly small. In fact, it seemed as if the entire place had been remodeled recently (or maybe it is just that new). Beds were comfortable, but not the heavenly beds that the Hilton brand is known for. You're paying a bit of a premium to be directly across from the beach, but location is everything, right? I would definitely recommend this Hampton Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top