$177 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Hampton Inn Traverse City

3 stars
1000 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
113 reviews
looking good

very quiet hotel, hot tub was out of order--disappointing, great breakfast See full review

  • josie s
  • Jul 14, 2014
Pleasantly surprised

This is the best Hampton Inn that I have experienced. I stayed here with my wife and two small kids... See full review

  • Northville Spartan
  • Jul 14, 2014
Family-friendly Traverse City hotel steps from the beach
Perched on the shore of the Grand Traverse Bay, the Hampton Inn Traverse City is ideally located in the Cherry Capital of the World. Guests enjoy an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center, and business guests take advantage of an on-site business center. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily. Free high-speed Internet access is available in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Across the street from the beach, close to airport and downtown
  • Indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • AAA Three Diamond rating
Location
The Hampton Inn is located next door to the Traverse City State Park, a 47-acre urban park that features a quarter mile of beautiful beach on East Grand Traverse Bay. The park provides guests with a bike trail, hiking, fishing, swimming, boat rentals, picnic areas and a playground. The area also boasts six ski areas within 35 miles and more than 30 golf courses. The nearby Dennos Museum Center, located on the campus of Northwestern Michigan College, features three changing exhibit galleries, a sculpture garden, and a unique hands-on gallery.
Rooms
The four-story Hampton Inn Traverse City provides 125 guest rooms and suites with a choice of queen or king beds. Rooms are elegantly furnished in dark wood with accents of taupe and white. Standard amenities include LCD televisions, a work desk and a lap desk, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board and a hair-dryer. High speed Internet access is complimentary. Some suites include kitchenettes.
Features
In addition to the complimentary Hampton On the House hot breakfast, the Hampton Inn Traverse City provides free breakfast-to-go bags, Hampton's On the Run, for those guests who are in a hurry (available Monday through Friday). Business guests can keep up with work at the on-site business center, which features complimentary printing service and free high-speed Internet access. Guests keep fit at the indoor swimming pool and fitness room.
Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (4 mi/6.4 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (Adjacent)
  • Dennos Museum Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (27 mi/43.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Business center
  • Dry-cleaning/laundry service

Hotel Map

44.7489 -85.5578
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 2.00, MI, E;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Traverse City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CT Squared
Mansfield, OH, USA
Jun 5, 2013

Excellent stay two years in a row

Very clean, comfortable room with great bed. We stayed last year and came back because the staff works very hard to make your experience a good one. Right across the street from the beach (it's a main road though, so you have to dodge some traffic at busy parts of the day). Easy access to the TART bike path, just a few miles into downtown. Free breakfast, clean pool/gym facilities (definitely small, but they work). We were gone most of the day at wineries, dunes, shopping, etc, but always came back to a very clean room and fresh coffee/good creamers available in the large lobby. If we come back again, we will definitely be staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Treat yourself to breakfast at Bay Bread Co. one day. Amazing fresh baked breads & breakfast sandwiches. Order your food, then head upstairs to their adjacent "Roost," where you can enjoy a mug of coffee, book/maps/paper, and they will bring your food to you to eat with a view of the bay on comfortable seating.

Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seasoned Traveler 999
Boston, MA
Jul 21, 2014

Great location, great staff

The staff was excellent - very helpful in every way. Decent breakfast in the morning. Nice clean pool and hot tub. Would recommend, especially if traveling with family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to visit the Leelenau Peninsula. Gorgeous!

Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
josie s
walled lake, mi
Jul 14, 2014

looking good

very quiet hotel, hot tub was out of order--disappointing, great breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bubba's --good food

Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crozet Mom
Crozet, Virginia
Jul 14, 2014

Good location

Hampton Inn is a trusted name in hotels. This one was a lifesaver since it was about the only room I could find when I brought my daughter to camp. Right on the main road that runs parallel to the lake and only a few miles from downtown Traverse City which is charming. Staff was very pleasant and helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Northville Spartan
Northville, Michigan
Jul 14, 2014

Pleasantly surprised

This is the best Hampton Inn that I have experienced. I stayed here with my wife and two small kids on the final weekend of the 2014 Cherry Festival. Even though the place was sold out, it was quiet and clean. The indoor pool and hot tub were nice and breakfast was great. The room was clean and nicely decorated, if slightly small. In fact, it seemed as if the entire place had been remodeled recently (or maybe it is just that new). Beds were comfortable, but not the heavenly beds that the Hilton brand is known for. You're paying a bit of a premium to be directly across from the beach, but location is everything, right? I would definitely recommend this Hampton Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Traveler from MI
Lansing, MI
Jul 9, 2014

Great Breakfast!

This hotel was more reasonably priced than other hotels in the area during the most busy week of the year in Traverse City. The rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable and the breakfast included in your stay was, without a doubt, the best free breakfast I have seen. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jetting Around
Business
Dana Point, CA
Jul 6, 2014

Great location!

The hotel was clean and provided everything I needed. Great location right across the street from the lake. The free parking is easy and rooms very comfortable. Nice business center and fitness center too. I recommend this hotel to anyone needing a nice place to spend the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josie s
walled lake, mi
Jul 2, 2014

quiet relaxing getaway

staff were great and so was the breakfast! quiet, great amenities hot tub was out of order, however, and it was a little pricey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

ask staff for rec's

Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wine tour
Grand Rapids, Mi
Jun 30, 2014

Nice weekend

We stayed here for a long weekend to go wine tasting. The hotel is in a nice location, right across the street from the beach. The morning breakfast was much better than anticipated, having actual food: waffles, omelettes sausage, etc. A bit pricy, but for a weekend in June and traverse city it was expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennU WB
West Bloomfield, MI
Jun 18, 2014

Would stay again

Nice hotel. Clean hotel and friendly staff. Within walking distance to State Park Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katietraveler
Ann Arbor, MI
Jun 3, 2014

Great girls' weekend

My friend and I wanted time away from husbands and kids and I'd never been to Traverse City. This hotel was a bargain and exceeded expectations. It was close to downtown (shopping, restaurants, etc.) and just a 30 min. drive up and down the Peninsula (which I highly recommend for wine tasting), No complaints at all about the hotel other than it was busy/crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chateau Chantal winery is beautiful and great tasting wines! (Try the sampler - 6 tastings for just $3) and sample the sparkling cherry wine.

Back to menu Return to top