$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, MI

2 stars
View map of 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
29 reviews
Biker

Terrific breakfast. Wonderful location close to the awesome bike trail. See full review

  • Biker girl
  • Sep 16, 2014
VERY NICE PLACE

WE WERE GREATED WITH A SMILE THEY ANSWERED ALL OUR QUESTIONS AND SENT US TO A GREAT PLACE TO EAT I... See full review

  • THE MOVING MAN
  • Aug 20, 2014
Location, value and comfort make this Traverse City hotel

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, MI is ideally located close to the local beaches, marinas, shopping, dining and entertainment. The hotel provides guests with a complimentary continental breakfast daily, in-room high-speed Internet access, a large indoor pool and whirlpool, and an on-site restaurant. Guest rooms feature pillow-top bedding with triple sheeting, LCD televisions, refrigerators and microwaves.  

Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Deluxe fireplace and Jacuzzi suites available
Rooms

The Country Inn & Suites By Carlson in Traverse City, MI provides 126 newly renovated guest rooms and 53 two-room suites, decorated with dark wood furnishings and calming neutral accents. All rooms include pillow-top beds with triple sheeting, flat-screen LCD televisions, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee-makers and in-room safes. High-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. Suite options include accommodations with a fireplace and/or a two person Jacuzzi. Pets are allowed in designated suites (fees apply).

Features
Families staying at Country Inn & Suites Traverse City take advantage of the outdoor recreation space with picnic tables, barbecue grills and sundeck with lounge chairs. Swim in the indoor pool, or unwind with a soak in the hot tub. Parking is available for cars, buses, RVs, trucks, boats and trailers.

24-hour hotel staff will assist with event and itinerary planning, including wine tours at nearby vineyards.
Dining
Guests at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, MI jumpstart the day with a hearty and delicious breakfast served on site. Sample the local specialties at the restaurants, eateries and cafes in the surrounding area.
Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Station (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Cherry Capital Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (263 mi/423 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle to Turtle Creek Casino
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Traverse City State Park (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • 2 meeting rooms for up to 20 guests, restaurant can handle meetings for up to 50 guests
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • 24-hour business center
  • Event catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Complimentary USA Today

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, MI also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Casino
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Indoor tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Shopping mall
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Dining

MI Grille
Located in the front parking lot.
Cottage Cafe
2 blocks east of the hotel
Rounds Resturant
Turn right out of the back of hotel onto Eighth Street, follow 1 mile, located on the right side.
Red Ginger
Located in Downtown Traverse City
Amical
Located in Downtown Traverse City
The Cooks House
115 Wellington Street on the left
Scheldes Grill
1/2 mile east on Munson
Red Mesa Grill
2.5 miles east on Munson
Breakfast Room
Dedicated Breakfast room located directly off the hotel lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, MI

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, MI

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bigmike1410
Business
traverse city
Aug 2, 2013

getaway

Very nice and very clean. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, MI

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jordy B
Business
Sterling Heights, MI
Aug 6, 2013

I will surely return to this hotel

This Country Inn and Suites was superb. Arrived an hour early, during peak vacation season and was able to get my room, as well as choose the floor I wanted to be on. We went during their grand Opening (previously a Days Inn). Beds were comfy, fridge and microwave, flat screen TV and room safe. The location couldn't have been better. Great shops and dining on the same street about 1 mile down in downtown. Staff was on site 24/7. Breakfast was he REAL treat, include with the room cereal, oatmeal (all the toppings) yogurt, scrambled eggs, sausage, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, muffins, bagels and waffles. Gourmet coffee. I will go out of my way to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Schelde's (2 traffic lights from hotel). We had lunch here as it was recommended by the hotel. Amical (1.5 miles on Front Street) Delicious, a great place to stop after shopping and seating is available outside or in. Turtle Creek Casino was a fun stop and not very far. A drive up the peninsula to the lighthouse and to view the vineyards is worth the drive too. A wonderful weekend trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, MI

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamie and Jimmy
Business
spring lake mi
May 28, 2014

great staff

This hotel was very nice for the price. The staff was super friendly and would do anything to make your stay great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, MI

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
THE MOVING MAN
Business
SIOUX CITY,IA
Aug 20, 2014

VERY NICE PLACE

WE WERE GREATED WITH A SMILE THEY ANSWERED ALL OUR QUESTIONS AND SENT US TO A GREAT PLACE TO EAT I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN WHEN IN THE AREA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

GO SEE THE LAKE IT IS BEAUTIFUL

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, MI

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biker girl
Business
Minnesota
Sep 16, 2014

Biker

Terrific breakfast. Wonderful location close to the awesome bike trail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, MI

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Otavo
Business
Battle Creek, mi
Jul 15, 2013

Nice hotel

Clean, great location, lots of local beaches around the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, MI

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xs2xa
Business
SF Bay Area
Jul 22, 2013

Value for Money and a pleasant Surprise

I was staying for one night in Traverse City for a business trip, and had to book this hotel on a last minute notice. This looked the best amongst the options I had and I was prepared for the shock that normally accompanies Inns in small towns. However, I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel overall. First off, since its not along the lake, its cheaper than most of the other "on-the-lake" hotels & Inns, but this is much more well maintained and has a lot of amenities compared to the lakeside ones. There is plenty of parking, and the hotel looks nice from the exterior. The lobby was very neat and welcoming. The check-in experience was smooth, and i was ready to go to my room. However, there was NO help provided or offered to me to take my 2 big bags to my room! On top of that, since my room was on 2nd floor, and if I take the stairs, the room was very close to the lobby, but since I had my bags to transfer, the only elevator available was around the building - almost on the diagonally opposite end from the lobby. I had to drag both my bags to the elevator, and there was no hallway from inside the hotel - i had to go out the hotel and walk in the parking lot to go to the elevator. That was the only kink in my entire stay here, and I was disappointed by their lack of customer service. The room was good, and very spacious. It did not feel congested at all, and had all the amenities - including a refrigerator & a microwave. The king bed was comfy, and pillows were soft. The bathroom was big too - not like some of the other ones where I can touch both ends with my arms outstretched. All the amenities were stocked in my bathroom and I did not see anything dirty. The view from my room was of a wall and an outside patio connected to the dining area - nothing great. The Inn provides a full breakfast in the morning and there was a lot of variety. The food was tasty, the coffee hot and frequently refilled. One odd thing though - as soon as the clock hit 9.30am, they started shutting down the dining area - there were a lot of people still eating, but they started asking people to leave and shut down the doors of the buffet area! Apart from a few minor issues, the Inn was really well maintained and did provide the warm welcoming feeling I look out for, but was not expecting. As I said, it definitely was a pleasant surprise and value for my money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

None of the rooms have a view, as far as I can tell from the location of the hotel. Elevator is diagonally opposite from the lobby - so be prepared to walk and drag your bags all along the outside of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, MI

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Black Cherry Fan
Business
Michigan
Aug 3, 2013

Great Pool and Suite!

Our trip was amazing and the pool was perfect for our son. The beds were firm and very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, MI

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michigan newbie
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Aug 3, 2013

We'd stay again.

Extensive breakfast options. We like the do-it-yourself waffles, but were impressed that there also were mixed berries and whipped cream to put on them, in addition to the normal butter & syrup. There was also cinnamon bread and a couple of flavors of bagels, in addition to the usual toast options. There was also always scrambled eggs, sausage, and potatoes. The pool and hot tub were large; the area was well maintained and there was a good supply of towels. I liked that the pool was adults only after 10:30 so I had a chance to swim laps. The hotel hostess was extremely polite and helpful when we arrived, although our room wasn't ready and it was at least a couple of hours after the posted check-in time. When we left the hotel, it was before 6 am. The clerk at that time was responsive to our questions, but pre-occupied with whatever he was doing on his computer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, MI

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SPG2020
Business
Traverse City, Michigan
Aug 19, 2013

Good, Affordable Traverse City Hotel

Recent updates and renovations make this hotel a good value for the price. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the staff seemed well-prepared to deal with a busy summer weekend in Traverse City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top