$74 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

3 stars
2345 N US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
74 reviews
Excellent get away

Great staff supper friendly, room was ready and clean. Bomb fire by the water was real nice to. See full review

  • clong1970
  • Oct 5, 2014
Nice place on the water

Great place on the water. A little far from the downtown area, but centrally located between town... See full review

  • Place on the bay 73
  • Jan 13, 2014
All the comforts of home at Bayfront hotel

The Cherry Tree Inn and Suites is located on the shore of the East Grand Traverse Bay. An indoor atrium pool and spa, as well as a fitness center and arcade room, provide hours of recreation. Each guest room includes a kitchenette, an LCD television, pillow-top mattresses and a Sony Playstation 2. Select suites provide full kitchens, balconies with bay views, in-room spas, and fireplaces. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning and high-speed Internet access is free.

Highlights
  • 400 feet of private beach access on East Grand Traverse Bay
  • Indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center and arcade room
  • All rooms include kitchenettes, LCD televisions, pillow-top mattresses and a Sony Playstation 2
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

The five-story hotel provides 76 non-smoking guest rooms and suites.  All rooms include a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker and sink. Select Cherry Tree Inn suites include full kitchens. Guests will also enjoy the LCD televisions and Sony Playstation 2 game/DVD system provided in all guest rooms. High-speed Internet access is complimentary. Select suites include Jacuzzi baths, gas fireplaces, patios or balconies.

Features

Guests of the hotel are provided with beach chairs and access to a beachfront fire pit. Watercraft rentals are also available. Business guests take advantage of the on-site business center and free high-speed Internet access. The family-friendly Cherry Tree Inn and Suites also offers babysitting services, a video library and playground.

 

Cherry Tree Inn and Suites is a certified Green Lodging Michigan (GLM) hotel, demonstrating a commitment to environmental responsibility.

Dining

Guests enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily from 7 a.m. to 10 a.m., which includes coffee and juices, donuts and pastries, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruits and more.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (260 mi/418 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (29 mi/46.7 km)
Business
  • Multiple meeting rooms
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Business center
  • Audiovisual equipment and services
  • Event catering
  • Dry-cleaning/laundry service

Hotel Map

44.7459 -85.5352
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 4.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cherry Tree Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Cherry Tree Inn and Suites Rooms

Harbor Springs Ste-K Spa Ste
Harbor Springs Ste-K spa-frplce sofa in liv. rm
Leelanau Ste - King Jacuzzi Ste
Leelanau Ste - K spa-Sofabd frplce in lving rm
Mackinac Island Ste-K Spa Ste
Mackinac Island Ste-K Spa fireplace Ste
Good Harbor Bay Studio - K Spa
Good Harbor Bay Studio-K spa frplce sofa
Woods Suite - King Fireplace Sui
Woods Suite-K ste-lving rm w/ frplc-no bay vws
Walloon Lake Suite - King Suite
Walloon Lake Ste-King bed-trundle sofa
Cherry Tree Family Suite - 2 Bdr
CT Family Ste-2 bthrms-mstr bdrm-2nd bdrm-ktchn
Elk Rapids Studio - 2 Queens
Elk Rapids Studio-2 queen beds-bay vws
Highlands Studio - 2 Queens
Highlands Studio-Two queen beds-No bay vws
Mountain Studio - 1 King
Mountain Studio-King bed-No bay vws
Lake Michigan Studio-King Spa
Lake Michigan Studio-King Spa frplce sofa
Lake Charlevoix Studio - K Spa
Lake Charlevoix Studio-king-spa-1st flr-remod
Suttons Bay Suite-King Spa Suite
Suttons Bay Suite-King Jacuzzi Ste
Sleeping Bear Dunes Ste - K Spa
Sleeping Bear Dunes Suite - King Spa Ste
Petoskey Studio - 2 Queen Spa
Petoskey Studio -king-spa-remod-4th flr
Walloon Lake Ste - 1st Flr - K
Walloon Lake Ste 1st flr-King-trundle sofa
East Bay Suite - First Floor
East Bay Suite - First Floor
Elk Rapids Studio - 1st Fl - 2Q
Elk Rapids Studio-1st flr-2 queen beds-bay vws

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
Female executive rooms
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Casino
Night club
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Solarium
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

The Cottage
Nice local restaurant with a variety of food and good Sunday brunches. Located just 2 miles from the Cherry Tree.
Modes Bum and Steer
Locally owned restaurant known for good service and great steaks. Downtown T.C.
Boones Long Lake Inn
Locally-owned restaurant known for generous portions of everything especially beef. Log cabin atmosphere and tends to be filled with loud fun-loving people
Red Mesa Grill
Mexican cuisine with very nice atmosphere on the Miracle Mile
Amical
French cuisine in downtown T.C. Next to renovated state theater. Great food and wonderful atmosphere with fireplace and street-side seating
Apache Trout Grill
On-water restaurant with views of West Bay. Steak seafood fresh fish all on their menu. Very nice tiki-bar setting in summer
Peninsula Grill
On OId Mission Peninsula. Perfect place to eat while touring the peninsula or wineries. Very fresh cuisine with very little fried foods on menu
North Peak Brewing Company
Local brewing company located in old candy factory building. Very tasty food and great home-made root beer for kids. All around great for everyone
Mackinaw Brewing Company
Local brewing company that features a lot of home-style food including beef brisket and ribs. Known to have very nice selection of beers
Omelette Shoppe
Great breakfast joint with incredible cinnamon rolls

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kaedus
Business
Rochester Hills, MI
May 10, 2010

Not welcome at the Cherry Tree

We arrived late after driving 9 hours in a hard rain. The night clerk didn't even acknowledge when we walked in. When I said "hello" we could see her throw down the very important towel she was folding and came out...in a huff! It went down hill from there. I won't go into any more detail but we both felt like very unwelcome. The next morning I talked to the GM and he helped me secure a reservation at another property. That was the highlight of our stay. There are A LOT of hotels in Traverse City so you can afford to be selective. If you choose to stay at this one don't check in late!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We whent to the Apache Trout Grill for lunch. Great views, great service and great food! I would recommend the Brie and goat cheese app and for the entree crab cakes over cheese ravioli.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Karrie
Business
Rochester, mi
Aug 19, 2011

just ok

Needs some updating, not a very good beach. probably would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cheryl M. Broken Woman
Business
Waterford, Mi.
Oct 26, 2009

Worst room I ever had at the Cherry Tree

We travled all about the area while we were there. We even drove up to the bridge. But with the rain and all we did spent a lot of time in out room. I was hoping that I would at least be able to get one of there double rooms. You know with a sitting room with a T.V and then a bedroom with a T. V. That way I wouldn't of had to spend so much time with my 84 yr. old aunt that has the sound at full volume and only watches sports. I am not anti sports. But there is a lot of other things you could be watching on T.V. The carpet had a huge worn spot in it. Our floor never got vacumed, and under the kitchen sink, there has been a lot of just about everything thrown in or at the wastebasket, that is now hanging or STUCK to the walls. I really, really like this hotel. BUT with the type of room I had this time I may or maynot be looking for somewhere else to stay next year. But I will say the staff is on their toes and are always trying to help if the can---even though they didn't change my room. Plus the need to change there breakfast time to 8:00 to 11:00. That is a much more convienent time. I don't know, next year I may be trying Sugar Beach Resort again. Thank You for listening, Cathy Kravetz

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Suttons Bay and the winerys in between. That was a well spent day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MI
May 11, 2009

Average Value

I travel often for business usually in upper priced Hotels. My stay at Cherry Tree was for pleasure and found it clean and the staff was cordial. Excellent breakfast and the location is great. The rooms were average at best with a dated TV and furnishings but my problem with my stay by far was the pillows. The bedding was not comfortable and more comparable to a cheaper Motel. I typically expect more from a 3.5 star hotel. Newer higher end bedding would go a long way. The last things I remember about the Hotel was the terrible beds and the great cookies at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ChattyCathe
Business
Middleville, MI
Jul 17, 2014

Cherry Tree Inn is the "Pits"

This is suppose to be a nice hotel. On the East Bay. We stayed in TC last year on the other side of the road, and decided to "upgrade" this year for the Cherry Festival and Air Show and booked a 2 bed on the 5th (highest floor), Bay side. The room was the shape of shoe box, with nothing special. We paid 1/2 of our Mortgage payment for our 2 nights. Best point: the shuttle that drove us downtown for the fireworks and the next day for the Air Show and picked us up and brought us back. No parking worries with 400,000 estimated to be at the events. Worst moments: "Breakfast Buffet". What we got for "food" was what I'd expect at a "cheap" accommodation..."make your own waffle", some plastic looking eyes, sausage patties, oatmeal, cereal, toast, bagels, danish. The next day we skipped the "free" breakfast went somewhere and got some real food. They have an indoor and outdoor pool we could never use as they were both overrun with kids, even though there was a beach for them to play on and build sandcastles. The whirlpool was also child-packed. Why do children need a hot tub and what were they doing in there? Last negative comment: My partner smokes. He's a Veteran. I think they ALL smoked. I understand the hotel to be "smoke free", but at other such hotels we have stayed at, they have a "designated smoking area" with some dignity. CTI, did not. A narrow corridor with no place to sit behind some bushes was what they had. We stayed at the "Fun Place" across the street on US 31 last year. Their "Smoking Area" was under a Gazebo, by the street, with sitting area, so were could watch the Porsche's zipping up and down US 31 for the Porsche Festival, and we could even bring some snacks and drinks out there. It was Great! We relaxed and enjoyed the view. Next time we visit and stay at TC, we'll skip the "view" for a more enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

the Cottage Homemade Food with "Small Town Character" The "Greeter" knew everyone's name. Obviously, where the "locals" go

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Momma T
Business
Michigan
Nov 10, 2011

20 year anniv disappointment

This was our first time at this hotel, we were excited because it is very inviting from outside and it was a special weekend for us! the staff was friendly but our room was terrible!! the mirrior was covered with soap scum and water drips, the floor needed a good sweeping with the furniture moved, chair covered in hair! But the view!! we knew we were not getting a water view but a view of the roof and equipment??? There should be a extra discount on this room! Also the breakfast was good but the tables need to be washed after each breakfast. What a dissapointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

under ground cheese cake factory and north peak grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saginaw, MI
May 31, 2010

Beautiful view

Beautiful Memorial Weekend weather made for an even more enjoyable stay! Well kept beach area with beach chairs were among the best amenities here. Rooms were large and clean (2 queens and plenty of room for the roll-away). Furniture and finishes were somewhat worn, but for the price ($92 per night) was worth it. Kids ate the free breakfast and it was ok. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Omelette Shop has the best breakfasts, awesome pecan rolls and of course omelettes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aaron S.
Business
Troy, MI, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Good, but Not as expected or described

I ordered the room with "Full Kitchen" & "Sitting area", but I only got a counter with a sink, a microwave & a mini frig. Don't know what is the sitting area means. Every thing else is what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing MI
Apr 12, 2010

Cherry Tree

The hotel is very cute and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The only issue we had is the bed is rock hard and the pillows are flat as paper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TadMan
Business
Grand Rapids MI
Oct 19, 2009

Nice Wine Weekend

The staff was helpful and pleasant, the room was nice sized and clean. We were in Traverse City for a quite weekend away from home and some wine tasting We enjoy this hotel and it is close enough to just about everything: downtown, beaches, bike trail, restaurants. We have stayed here several times and it is very comfortable not hugely special, just consistently comfortable. The only concern is parking it is available, but you may be trolling the smallish lot for a few minutes to find that last spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top