$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

3 stars
View map of 2345 N US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mt. Clemens, MI
Sep 27, 2009

Great value

The hotel was very clean and well kept. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Although there was no restaurant on site, the hotel provided a more than adequate continental breakfast and there were several restaurants in the vicinity. The jacuzzi was not working upon arrival, but was repaired and operating before we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Center line,mi
Sep 24, 2009

Realy nice in and out

The hotel was way better then first described on the net and my family had a real enjoyable time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Blanc, MI
Sep 20, 2009

Wonderful Bay View

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice with a bay view with the rear door opening right out onto the beach. Breakfast was good. The only issue was with the housekeeping. Our room was not vacummed, one day our trash was not emptied and our coffee pot and cups were not cleaned. Overall it was a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Perrysburg, OH
Sep 9, 2009

Charming and welcoming

My boyfriend and I wanted to take a romantic long weekend trip to Northern Michigan--this was our first time up north. We camped the night before at Sleeping Bear Dunes, and treated ourselves to a hotel room the next night. Careful web searching led us to book a room with a bay view at Cherry Tree, for a very good rate on Orbitz. By the time we arrived, we were sore from hiking and kayaking, grimy from camping, and much in need of some pampering. This place was JUST what we needed. The room was beautiful, clean, and welcoming, the view was lovely, the hot shower with great water pressure felt SO good (and there was a TV in the bathroom so my boyfriend could even check the football scores while we cleaned up!) and the beds were heaven to our aching bodies (which also greatly benefited from the jacuzzi by the pool!) The complimentary breakfast was OK--a better selection of fruit would be nice. We were happy to find a microwave and fridge in our room, but watch out--we put all our food in the fridge and it was frozen SOLID by morning! I tried to use the exercise room and was not impressed. The elliptical machine is old and none of the controls work at all. Why not replace this with a better model? The treadmill did work OK. But there are no mats or weights at all in the room. These would be easy things to add. The pool was small but clean and the perfect temperature. The computer in the lobby area was a great convenience, as we had not brought our laptops for the camping trip. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, a wonderful place to stay and we will definitely try to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The restaurant Aerie, about 5 minutes drive away, is absolutely incredible--and the prices are amazingly reasonable. Fantastic entrees for under $20. One of the best places we've ever eaten, on the 16th floor of a tower with wonderful view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oak Harbor, OH
Sep 7, 2009

9/7/09

We really enjoyed our unfortunately short stay. The staff were exceptionally accomodating and friendly. The room was nice. Though not the newest, the accomodations were clean and convenient. All rooms have a refrigerator, cupboard, coffee maker, and microwave. It was suprisingly nice to have a real coffee mug instead of the usual styrofoam cup. The shower was nice, and the bathroom has a TV?! Probably what really made it such stay was the location. Nice, but small, sunny beach with lots of chairs on Traverse Bay. Jogging trail right behind Walgreens across the street. Small but nice exercise room (to warm up in). Nice breakfast room with adequate breakfast provided. Nice hot tub, and the pool was a lovely temperature for comfortable swimming. The pool was rather small, but since other guests must have been otherwise occupied, seemes large enough as we had it nearly to ourselves. Would stay again. Very nice Bayside Market west of hotel for choice wines, beverages, cheeses, snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Trail just across from Hotel behind Walgreens. For jogging, biking, only non motorized, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saint Louis couple
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Aug 3, 2009

Very enjoyable stay

This hotel is very clean and quiet, with a great location right on Grand Traverse Bay. Small balcony off the room with a fantastic view over the water. Rooms are comfortable and fairly large, and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Very nice continental breakfast. My only disappointment was that the small stretch of beach, which was sandy up near the hotel, was not very nice down near the water. However, there are a several lovely beaches nearby. If you are looking for quiet, there's a tiny town beach about 5 miles northeast in the town of Acme which is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
winpop
Business
Morton, IL
Jul 13, 2009

Doesn't match the description

Disappointing stay. We read the description of the hotel and reviews on another website. All were glowing. Our experience was much different. First off, my wife and I stay at 6+ properties per year. So, we are well acquainted with what to expect at a hotel from a service and amenities standpoint. Didn't find our expectations meant here. 1)Bad odor in the hallway on 4th floor. There throughout our trip. 2) A/C wasn't working properly. Confirmed by a separate guest in their room also. Approached front desk twice about the issue. They were very friendly, but never let us know if they had checked on it. We went back down to front desk and were told that it had been checked and was OK. Offered nothing in return -- no room change, compensation, apology, etc. 3) Very noisy. I don't complain about noise at hotels, but this one was bad. Doors slamming constantly. You can actually feel them slam. Caters to families. So, the kids are left free to slam away as they run from Mom to grandmom. 4) Cleaning was sporadic at best. Our housekeeper was surly. We asked for no cleaning one day because my wife wanted to take a nap and the room wasn't made up by 2 pm. We were met with icy stare. Room wasn't cleaned the following day either. Rather than ask for room to be cleaned at 6 pm when we came back from dinner, we lived with it. Even when it was cleaned, it was poorly done -- missed filling up the Kleenex, cleaning tub and vacuuming floor. Looked like beds were made and trash emptied only. Skip this hotel and go to the Hampton Inn down the street. At least they guarantee 100% satisfaction. I was misled by the glowing remarks on another website and left wondering where they came from. I wasn't expecting a 'resort'. But, I was expecting basic customer service. A call back after a complaint is pretty standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jul 12, 2009

Excellent Place

It was a beautiful hotel right on the water with excellent staff. The only issue we really had was that they are making a beach in back, and they covered the area with horse manuer and it smelled really bad by the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to a casino about 20 minutes drive away. And we won; it was a good trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AllenandAlexis
Business
Lansing, MI
Jun 14, 2009

Great Value

The location right on the water is very nice. We especially enjoyed having a large room and a balcony overlooking the bay - plus the nightly rate was excellent. We found the beds to be quite uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Adrian MI
Jun 12, 2009

Great site with great sights!!

Staff was extremely helpful - rooms were spacious and well maintained. The view of the bay was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Putt Putt course across the street was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top