$74 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

3 stars
2345 N US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
74 reviews
Excellent get away

Great staff supper friendly, room was ready and clean. Bomb fire by the water was real nice to. See full review

  • clong1970
  • Oct 5, 2014
Nice place on the water

Great place on the water. A little far from the downtown area, but centrally located between town... See full review

  • Place on the bay 73
  • Jan 13, 2014
All the comforts of home at Bayfront hotel

The Cherry Tree Inn and Suites is located on the shore of the East Grand Traverse Bay. An indoor atrium pool and spa, as well as a fitness center and arcade room, provide hours of recreation. Each guest room includes a kitchenette, an LCD television, pillow-top mattresses and a Sony Playstation 2. Select suites provide full kitchens, balconies with bay views, in-room spas, and fireplaces. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning and high-speed Internet access is free.

Highlights
  • 400 feet of private beach access on East Grand Traverse Bay
  • Indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center and arcade room
  • All rooms include kitchenettes, LCD televisions, pillow-top mattresses and a Sony Playstation 2
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

The five-story hotel provides 76 non-smoking guest rooms and suites.  All rooms include a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker and sink. Select Cherry Tree Inn suites include full kitchens. Guests will also enjoy the LCD televisions and Sony Playstation 2 game/DVD system provided in all guest rooms. High-speed Internet access is complimentary. Select suites include Jacuzzi baths, gas fireplaces, patios or balconies.

Features

Guests of the hotel are provided with beach chairs and access to a beachfront fire pit. Watercraft rentals are also available. Business guests take advantage of the on-site business center and free high-speed Internet access. The family-friendly Cherry Tree Inn and Suites also offers babysitting services, a video library and playground.

 

Cherry Tree Inn and Suites is a certified Green Lodging Michigan (GLM) hotel, demonstrating a commitment to environmental responsibility.

Dining

Guests enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily from 7 a.m. to 10 a.m., which includes coffee and juices, donuts and pastries, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruits and more.

Transportation
  • Cherry Capital Airport (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Station (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (260 mi/418 km)
Attractions
  • East Grand Traverse Bay (Adjacent)
  • Traverse City State Park (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Grand Traverse Resort and Spa (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (29 mi/46.7 km)
Business
  • Multiple meeting rooms
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Business center
  • Audiovisual equipment and services
  • Event catering
  • Dry-cleaning/laundry service

Hotel Map

44.7459 -85.5352
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 4.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cherry Tree Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Cherry Tree Inn and Suites Rooms

Harbor Springs Ste-K Spa Ste
Harbor Springs Ste-K spa-frplce sofa in liv. rm
Leelanau Ste - King Jacuzzi Ste
Leelanau Ste - K spa-Sofabd frplce in lving rm
Mackinac Island Ste-K Spa Ste
Mackinac Island Ste-K Spa fireplace Ste
Good Harbor Bay Studio - K Spa
Good Harbor Bay Studio-K spa frplce sofa
Woods Suite - King Fireplace Sui
Woods Suite-K ste-lving rm w/ frplc-no bay vws
Walloon Lake Suite - King Suite
Walloon Lake Ste-King bed-trundle sofa
Cherry Tree Family Suite - 2 Bdr
CT Family Ste-2 bthrms-mstr bdrm-2nd bdrm-ktchn
Elk Rapids Studio - 2 Queens
Elk Rapids Studio-2 queen beds-bay vws
Highlands Studio - 2 Queens
Highlands Studio-Two queen beds-No bay vws
Mountain Studio - 1 King
Mountain Studio-King bed-No bay vws
Lake Michigan Studio-King Spa
Lake Michigan Studio-King Spa frplce sofa
Lake Charlevoix Studio - K Spa
Lake Charlevoix Studio-king-spa-1st flr-remod
Suttons Bay Suite-King Spa Suite
Suttons Bay Suite-King Jacuzzi Ste
Sleeping Bear Dunes Ste - K Spa
Sleeping Bear Dunes Suite - King Spa Ste
Petoskey Studio - 2 Queen Spa
Petoskey Studio -king-spa-remod-4th flr
Walloon Lake Ste - 1st Flr - K
Walloon Lake Ste 1st flr-King-trundle sofa
East Bay Suite - First Floor
East Bay Suite - First Floor
Elk Rapids Studio - 1st Fl - 2Q
Elk Rapids Studio-1st flr-2 queen beds-bay vws

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
Female executive rooms
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Casino
Night club
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Solarium
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

The Cottage
Nice local restaurant with a variety of food and good Sunday brunches. Located just 2 miles from the Cherry Tree.
Modes Bum and Steer
Locally owned restaurant known for good service and great steaks. Downtown T.C.
Boones Long Lake Inn
Locally-owned restaurant known for generous portions of everything especially beef. Log cabin atmosphere and tends to be filled with loud fun-loving people
Red Mesa Grill
Mexican cuisine with very nice atmosphere on the Miracle Mile
Amical
French cuisine in downtown T.C. Next to renovated state theater. Great food and wonderful atmosphere with fireplace and street-side seating
Apache Trout Grill
On-water restaurant with views of West Bay. Steak seafood fresh fish all on their menu. Very nice tiki-bar setting in summer
Peninsula Grill
On OId Mission Peninsula. Perfect place to eat while touring the peninsula or wineries. Very fresh cuisine with very little fried foods on menu
North Peak Brewing Company
Local brewing company located in old candy factory building. Very tasty food and great home-made root beer for kids. All around great for everyone
Mackinaw Brewing Company
Local brewing company that features a lot of home-style food including beef brisket and ribs. Known to have very nice selection of beers
Omelette Shoppe
Great breakfast joint with incredible cinnamon rolls

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Center line,mi
Sep 24, 2009

Realy nice in and out

The hotel was way better then first described on the net and my family had a real enjoyable time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Blanc, MI
Sep 20, 2009

Wonderful Bay View

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice with a bay view with the rear door opening right out onto the beach. Breakfast was good. The only issue was with the housekeeping. Our room was not vacummed, one day our trash was not emptied and our coffee pot and cups were not cleaned. Overall it was a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Perrysburg, OH
Sep 9, 2009

Charming and welcoming

My boyfriend and I wanted to take a romantic long weekend trip to Northern Michigan--this was our first time up north. We camped the night before at Sleeping Bear Dunes, and treated ourselves to a hotel room the next night. Careful web searching led us to book a room with a bay view at Cherry Tree, for a very good rate on Orbitz. By the time we arrived, we were sore from hiking and kayaking, grimy from camping, and much in need of some pampering. This place was JUST what we needed. The room was beautiful, clean, and welcoming, the view was lovely, the hot shower with great water pressure felt SO good (and there was a TV in the bathroom so my boyfriend could even check the football scores while we cleaned up!) and the beds were heaven to our aching bodies (which also greatly benefited from the jacuzzi by the pool!) The complimentary breakfast was OK--a better selection of fruit would be nice. We were happy to find a microwave and fridge in our room, but watch out--we put all our food in the fridge and it was frozen SOLID by morning! I tried to use the exercise room and was not impressed. The elliptical machine is old and none of the controls work at all. Why not replace this with a better model? The treadmill did work OK. But there are no mats or weights at all in the room. These would be easy things to add. The pool was small but clean and the perfect temperature. The computer in the lobby area was a great convenience, as we had not brought our laptops for the camping trip. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, a wonderful place to stay and we will definitely try to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The restaurant Aerie, about 5 minutes drive away, is absolutely incredible--and the prices are amazingly reasonable. Fantastic entrees for under $20. One of the best places we've ever eaten, on the 16th floor of a tower with wonderful view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oak Harbor, OH
Sep 7, 2009

9/7/09

We really enjoyed our unfortunately short stay. The staff were exceptionally accomodating and friendly. The room was nice. Though not the newest, the accomodations were clean and convenient. All rooms have a refrigerator, cupboard, coffee maker, and microwave. It was suprisingly nice to have a real coffee mug instead of the usual styrofoam cup. The shower was nice, and the bathroom has a TV?! Probably what really made it such stay was the location. Nice, but small, sunny beach with lots of chairs on Traverse Bay. Jogging trail right behind Walgreens across the street. Small but nice exercise room (to warm up in). Nice breakfast room with adequate breakfast provided. Nice hot tub, and the pool was a lovely temperature for comfortable swimming. The pool was rather small, but since other guests must have been otherwise occupied, seemes large enough as we had it nearly to ourselves. Would stay again. Very nice Bayside Market west of hotel for choice wines, beverages, cheeses, snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Trail just across from Hotel behind Walgreens. For jogging, biking, only non motorized, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saint Louis couple
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Aug 3, 2009

Very enjoyable stay

This hotel is very clean and quiet, with a great location right on Grand Traverse Bay. Small balcony off the room with a fantastic view over the water. Rooms are comfortable and fairly large, and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Very nice continental breakfast. My only disappointment was that the small stretch of beach, which was sandy up near the hotel, was not very nice down near the water. However, there are a several lovely beaches nearby. If you are looking for quiet, there's a tiny town beach about 5 miles northeast in the town of Acme which is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
winpop
Business
Morton, IL
Jul 13, 2009

Doesn't match the description

Disappointing stay. We read the description of the hotel and reviews on another website. All were glowing. Our experience was much different. First off, my wife and I stay at 6+ properties per year. So, we are well acquainted with what to expect at a hotel from a service and amenities standpoint. Didn't find our expectations meant here. 1)Bad odor in the hallway on 4th floor. There throughout our trip. 2) A/C wasn't working properly. Confirmed by a separate guest in their room also. Approached front desk twice about the issue. They were very friendly, but never let us know if they had checked on it. We went back down to front desk and were told that it had been checked and was OK. Offered nothing in return -- no room change, compensation, apology, etc. 3) Very noisy. I don't complain about noise at hotels, but this one was bad. Doors slamming constantly. You can actually feel them slam. Caters to families. So, the kids are left free to slam away as they run from Mom to grandmom. 4) Cleaning was sporadic at best. Our housekeeper was surly. We asked for no cleaning one day because my wife wanted to take a nap and the room wasn't made up by 2 pm. We were met with icy stare. Room wasn't cleaned the following day either. Rather than ask for room to be cleaned at 6 pm when we came back from dinner, we lived with it. Even when it was cleaned, it was poorly done -- missed filling up the Kleenex, cleaning tub and vacuuming floor. Looked like beds were made and trash emptied only. Skip this hotel and go to the Hampton Inn down the street. At least they guarantee 100% satisfaction. I was misled by the glowing remarks on another website and left wondering where they came from. I wasn't expecting a 'resort'. But, I was expecting basic customer service. A call back after a complaint is pretty standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jul 12, 2009

Excellent Place

It was a beautiful hotel right on the water with excellent staff. The only issue we really had was that they are making a beach in back, and they covered the area with horse manuer and it smelled really bad by the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to a casino about 20 minutes drive away. And we won; it was a good trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AllenandAlexis
Business
Lansing, MI
Jun 14, 2009

Great Value

The location right on the water is very nice. We especially enjoyed having a large room and a balcony overlooking the bay - plus the nightly rate was excellent. We found the beds to be quite uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Adrian MI
Jun 12, 2009

Great site with great sights!!

Staff was extremely helpful - rooms were spacious and well maintained. The view of the bay was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Putt Putt course across the street was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cherry Tree Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 8, 2009

Cherry Tree hotel

My friend and I went shopping at the outlet stores and went out downtown. We enjoyed the view from the hotel balcony and the quiet atmoshpere at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top