$71 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Boarders Inn Traverse City

3 stars
View map of 1870 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Boarders Inn Traverse City

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super8Man
Couples
Holland, MI
Feb 28, 2010

Graet Place To Stay.

Staying at the Super Motel 8, was the best place to stay in Traverse City. I say that because all the major stores most people go to is just right out the the door and in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel is just not cheap and fare, the nightlife in Grand Traverse is fantastic. It has casinos, restuarants within the area. If you need a place to go like the casino just call Cherry Land Taxi Services, the owners dont ask for much.

Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cher the bear
Couples
spring lake michigan
Oct 27, 2009

the poor house

bad nights sleep from listening to and feeling matress springs pop all night and the bad smell of the bed sheets and blankets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

casino buffet is to die for crab legs, prime rib, asian,america any type of food for everyone.

Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Monroe, Mi
Oct 27, 2009

Pretty good place to stay

The hotel was reasonable. The beds were very uncomfortable though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Turtle Creek Casino

Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Enjoying retirement
Couples
Sanford, MI
Oct 7, 2009

Weekend getaway

The beds were comfortable (pillow tops). One microwave for popcorn that didn't work well,and the breakfast area was way to small, but they did offer a nice selection for a continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
lans.
Sep 6, 2009

Very good value

We just used the room to sleep. Arrived late got up had the breakfast and left. The room and bathroom was good and clean, my wife and I had no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
St. Clair Shores, Michigan
Aug 23, 2009

Great location, on the main strip.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Places to eat all along the main road. Rooms were really clean, but had a heavy smell of some type of air freshening spray. A bar outside our window and got load near closing time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TC Visitor
Family
Grand Rapids, MI
Aug 22, 2009

3 adults, 1 baby

The hotel was decent considering the price and its location on East Bay. Service was not stellar, but we were able to get a pack n play for the baby and extra pillows from the front desk. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a less expensive alternative that is still fairly close to downtown Traverse City and Lake Michigan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Oscoda mi
Aug 12, 2009

unbeatable location for price

Very friendly staff, nice location loads of good restuarants close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

5 restaurants within 5 minute walk (but don't do wendys slow service all 3 times i tried it.

Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Annapolis, MD
Jul 7, 2009

So-so...

Paid a high price during their busy season, but YIKES! Was not worth it... if I could have paid only around $50-$60, I would not complain a bit, but a pre-pay special rate of over $100 is ridiculous for this motel. The room was clean enough, but old, worn out and generally in need of TLC. Plenty of families with loud kids there, and the walls are paper-thin. Breakfast was marginal, certainly nothing above the bare minimum you would expect from a Super8. Good location, though - across from the beach, next to a couple of restaurants including Ruby Tuesday's. Easy access. Not terribly friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
West Branch
May 25, 2009

Marathon Stay

We didn't end up staying at the hotel because i accidentally booked the wrong night. I immediately tried to correct my honest mistake, however i was unsuccessful. I called Super 8 and they said it was up to Orbitz to refund me since the night i needed was booked. I called Orbitz, and they said it was up to Super 8 to refund my money or give me a credit for one night's stay. Someone was full of you know what. After five phone calls and an hour and a half later, i was no where. Therefore, the hotel room was vacant that night, but i paid the $84. I could not afford to book the correct night somewhere else. I will never book through orbitz or super 8 again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top