$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Boarders Inn Traverse City

3 stars
1870 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
88 reviews
family weekend getaway

Great budget friendly place to stay for families. Large whirlpool suite had plenty of room, fridge,... See full review

  • miss Sher
  • May 27, 2014
Weekend getaway

This was our first time to Traverse City and we booked this hotel after reading reviews from... See full review

  • EngagedCPA
  • Sep 29, 2014
Our Boarders Inn and Suites of Traverse City MI is conveniently located near Cherry Capital Airport on Highway 31 N. Located in northern Michigan-Traverse City is right across from Grand Traverse Bay and many outdoor activities like swimming-fishing-hiking and more. When you book a room at our hotel in beautiful Traverse City- you can look forward to free amenities including our complimentary continental breakfast- Wi-Fi and parking for any sized vehicle you arrive in. We also offer 24-hour front desk service and handicapped-accessible rooms- as well as whirlpool or fireplace suites. All rooms are non-smoking. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. We have pet friendly rooms available upon request and approval.

Hotel Map

44.7451 -85.5387
Nearby airports
Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 3.00, MI, SW; MBS International Airport, (MBS), 139.00, MI, SE; Pellston Regional Airport of Emmet County, (PLN), 83.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Boarders Inn Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Boarders Inn Traverse City Rooms

Two Queen Guestroom NS
Includes two queen beds-hot breakfast
Handicap Two Queen Guestroom NS
Handicap-two queens-micro-refrig-hot bkfast
Handicap Queen Whirlpool Suite N
Handicap-queen bed-hairdryer-whirlpool-bkfast
Handicap Single King Guestroom N
Handicap-refrig-micro-hairdryer-hot bkfast
Single King Guestroom NS
King bed-hot bkfast-internet access
Single King Whirlpool Suite NS
Includes whirlpool tub-wet bar-hot bkfast
Single King Deluxe Whirlpool Sui
Whirlpool-wet bar-fireplace-sofasleeper-bkfast

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire place
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Boarders Inn Traverse City

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Watertree1973
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Traverse City Super 8 Hotel

The hotel is conveniently located and quiet (at least from the room we stayed). However, the equipments need to be updated even though they are neat and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

close to I-37 to Old Mission - winery tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs. B
Business
Cedar Springs, MI
Aug 29, 2011

Out of Town Wedding

Super 8 - Traverse City, MI Conveniently located on main thoroughfare (Front Street) across from the bay. We stayed here in order to attend a wedding in Sutton's Bay. Our room was very clean; cleaner than a lot of other motels we have stayed in. We were there really only to sleep and clean up. The housekeeping staff greeted guests in the hallways. The desk staff were very friendly and accomodating. Our bed mattress was not the most comfortable and had I known the rooms layout I would have asked for a room further away from Front Street to cut down on traffic noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Tuesdays was less than a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disc Golf
Business
Muskegon, MI, USA
Aug 28, 2011

Nice place to stay in Traverse City

My brother and I stayed in Traverse City to do a weekend of disc golf. The hotel was on a great location to the courses, meals and entertainment other than disc golf. The hotel was great. Very clean quiet. The only bad thing was my pillow was too hard, and the was no big deal, haha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't Go To The Chicken Wing Restaurant next door, Orbitz thinks the name is profanity, but really the Service Was! For real, Horrible!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pingy
Business
michigan
Aug 25, 2011

Good location but queen beds would have been nice.

No problems - breakfast was decent Motel 8 TraverseCity

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Below par for Super 8

One stay while biking in Michigan. The staff was nice but couldn't answer my questions about slow Wifi connection. If this had been a business trip I would have moved to another hotel because the connection was virtually impossible to use. Breakfast was OK, nothing special (but it's free). Room lacked furnishings appropriate to a low/mid priced national chain. The price was really low but probably wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
grand rapids
Jun 27, 2011

good location, good price

Spent the weekend visiting friends in the area, also site-seeing. Worked out very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saginaw
Jun 21, 2011

The hotel was great. It was clean.

We loved the whirlpool and fireplace. Breakfast was perfect and I loved free tea all day. I had ice tea all day long. Shopping was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sunset park was beautiful at sun set!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
International Investor
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 23, 2011

Accused of Smoking?!

Upon arriving, the hotel was a basic Super 8...clean but not anything special. My room was as represented and most important, non-smoking. I do not smoke and in fact hate cigarette smoke. After having traveled all day, a short glass of wine and some relaxation was in order. And this is where it got weird. I received a call from the front desk declaring in the most snotty, argumentive way, "I saw you in the window smoking and you can be charged for that!". I was incredulous, but, calmly explained to him the last person he was ever going to see smoking was me and he was mistaken. The conversation got weird enough that I went down to the front desk and invited the young man up to the room for a "smell test" to satisfy him. He conceded that he may have been confused. Huh? Conclusion, if the room was not prepaid, I would have already moved. I would pass on this hotel until staff has been retrained to a professional and courteous manner. I travel extensively worldwide and am no stranger to hotels...this was north of ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA.
Jan 23, 2011

Satisfied Customer

The staff were very friendly and the room was kept very clean and well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boarders Inn Traverse City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
gr mi
Jan 2, 2011

very nice

very clean and frendly serv. close to everything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top