$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 16, 2015

Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City

2 stars
View map of 2326 US 31 South, Traverse City, MI 49684

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
39 reviews
Colorful Fall Getaway

We were very pleased with the hotel's location being just several miles south of Traverse City, MI.... See full review

  • Bass Player Judy
  • Oct 18, 2014
TC holiday

I read some less than spectacular reviews of this hotel and was a bit leery of reserving a room.... See full review

  • Kittyrocks
  • Oct 5, 2014

The Baymont Inn and Suites is located minutes from the airport, downtown Traverse City and the beaches dotting Grand Traverse Bay. Guests enjoy the hotel's indoor swimming pool, fitness center and business center. The hotel also provides a free Enhanced Breakfast at the Baymont Breakfast Corner, and complimentary Internet access. Guest rooms include a microwave and refrigerator and pets are allowed (fees apply). An on-site laundry facility is also available.

Location

The Grand Traverse Mall is located a block from the hotel and features a movie theater, more than 100 retail shops, and a variety of restaurants.

 

The Traverse City Film Festival, founded by filmmaker Michael Moore, takes place every summer at the State Theater nearby. The National Cherry Festival is held every year during the first week of July featuring air shows, fireworks, parades, games, nightly outdoor concerts and cherries. The Cherry Festival is Traverse City's signature event, drawing as many as 500,000 attendees from around the country, and most of it is free.

Rooms

The three-story Baymont Inn and Suites provides 119 non-smoking guest rooms and suites decorated with light wood furniture and hues of peach and mint.  Amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable televisions, coffee-makers, refrigerators and microwaves. Select suites include a Jacuzzi bath. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Property features

Baymont Inn and Suites guests enjoy business and leisure-friendly amenities including an indoor swimming pool and fitness center, as well as complimentary Internet access and a business center. The hotel is a short drive from Northern Michigan attractions, including Interlochen Center for the Arts, Sleeping Bear Dunes, Torch Lake and several premier golf courses.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Indoor pool and fitness center
  • Complimentary Enhanced Breakfast
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply)
  • Guest rooms provide a microwave and refrigerator
Nearby attractions
  • Grand Traverse Mall (Adjacent)
  • Downtown Traverse City (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Dennos Museum Center (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • West Grand Traverse Bay (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Interlochen Center for the Arts (12.7 mi/20.5 km)
  • Turtle Creek Casino (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (26 mi/41.8 km)
  • Torch Lake (32 mi/51.5 km)
Business
  • Free Internet access
  • Business center
Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Station (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Cherry Capital Airport (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (267 mi/430 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Betrayed Hoosier
Business
Crawfordsville, IN 47933, USA
Sep 22, 2011

Not as described!

Our "non-smoking" room, stunk horribly of cigarette smoke! The room layout was not what is in the pictures. Air conditioner did not work and had to be replaced, without moving us to another room or offerring any compensation! FAR, FAR, FAR from impressed!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Zodiac
Business
Jackson, Michigan
Aug 16, 2011

Probably Not A Good Idea

We were supposed to have a non-smoking room, but it smelled like a bar in the room and there was a cigarette burn on the underside of the sofa cushion. The set up was terrible, the "bathroom" is the entryway to the room. The mattress for the "hide a bed" felt like a spring mattress. My 15 y.o. son preferred to sleep in the bathtub with the "two towels" (even though we reserved the room for four) both nights rather than be in the main room or on one of the pieces of furniture. The pool (which my kids initially said was the only good part of the hotel but the pool liner was coming loose at the bottom and sides. And the towels at the pool were hand towels...how does one dry off from a swim with a hand towel? This was close to my worst hotel I've stayed in and when I think how much I spent ...It IS the WORST experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown shopping in Traverse City is great!

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Aug 31, 2009

Never again

The noise level at the hotel was horrible. It sounded as if there was a party going on in the room above mine. During our 4 night stay, 3 of the nights sounded as if the people above our room were bowling. The sound was ridiculous. The last night of our stay was a Sunday evening and there were maybe 10 hotel guest in all, we had complained about the noise on prior days, yet the hotel staff still put guest in the room above ours. If you do stay, make sure you get a room on the 3rd floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bryan, Saginaw
Business
Saginaw, Michigan
Jun 9, 2009

hotel great! I wasted money using orbitz

The hotel was very nice and clean. The money I spent by using orbits was aweful! The prices for hotels on the water were less than half of what was quoted to me! I could have stayed alot cheaper by calling the hotel directly. I was price scammed by orbitz. If you use unbiased comments like you should, then I will see this on the comments page.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Orbit needs to get their prices in line. I was ripped off about $100.

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jnrs
Business
Shelby Twp< MI
Oct 12, 2014

fall color tour

The staff was friendly. The room was not very clean, long dark hair was on the vanity counter top and around the coffee pot. Dried urine was on the toilet rim. Not a place I would stay again. The view from the room had pretty fall colors but on of the windows seal was broken and cloudy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler445
Business
Cadillac, MI
Apr 28, 2014

Needs to be Cleaned

When I checked, in the front desk associate was sitting down and stuffing her face with popcorn. She never even stood up. Very unprofessional. She was polite, though. My room was "clean-ish" The tea bags, in the room amenities basket, looked like they had gotten wet and the cleaning staff failed to change them. There was a dirty sock under the radiator and there was visible dust under the television, in the radiator and on the lamp shades. The bed was clean and there were plenty of towels. The people next door were noisy but that is not the fault of the hotel. However, I will probably not be staying at this hotel again. The hotel needs to be upgraded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RR LL FF
Business
Port Huron, Michigan
Aug 30, 2012

Worked for us.

The hotel was in a good location for us to explore the area. The price was right as we didn't need much more than a bed to flop in when we returned from our travels. The staff was friendly and tho the room wasn't updated and fancy....it was clean and the beds comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jul 16, 2010

fair to poor!!!

We came to Traverse City for the Cherry festival, and we picked the Baymont Inn because of the location. However the room #320 was not so nice. We asked for a non-smoking room and the moment we walked into the room it was obviusly a smoking room at one point. (It had a musty old smoke smell to the room) Also the bathroom door would not shut and lock. No privacy there. We could here every little noise in all directions. When we mentioned about the room obviusly being a smoking room, all he said was unfortunetly now that the rooms are all non smoking rooms we have people still lighting up. Then he said that this was once one of the smoking rooms. They should not have put us in a once smoking room. And he said we are sorry the bathroom door doesn't work I will report that. He wasn't very friendly and he didn't seem very sincere. Not very proffesional at all. No, I wouldn't recommend this place and if i did I would let them know what our problems were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

location was great

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
flint mi
Apr 12, 2010

place to sleep

pool lining coming up on pool staff not very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gunnis
Business
Mich
Aug 17, 2014

Traverse city

Thought the room was small to be a suite and for the price. Breakfast was just ok nothing special. Pool also was small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top