$111 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 19, 2014

Silver Beach Hotel

2 stars
100 Main Street, 100 Main Street, St. Joseph, MI 49085
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
31 reviews
Friends Getaway.

Female at the service counter wasn't very helpful with options available for checking in early. In... See full review

  • Lefty 52
  • Oct 1, 2013
Just what we were looking for. My wife and I needed a short get-a-way .

The hotel was walking distance to a shopping area with a lot of small shops, close to the beach,... See full review

  • Life Is Good
  • Aug 28, 2013
Experience the difference oldfashioned hospitality can make as you relax in the heart of downtown Saint Joseph the most romantic city in Michigan. Enjoy our luxuries new pillow top mattresses complimentary hot breakfast and walk out balconies surrounded by the convenience you deserve. Explore the treelined streets of the downtown shopping district immediately outside the hotel or stroll to Silver Beach one of the top 10 beaches in the country.

Hotel Map

42.1105 -86.4795
Area served
Saint Joseph, Kalamazoo
Nearby airports
Ross Field, (BEH), 3.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban, Experience the difference oldfashioned hospitality can make as

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Silver Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Silver Beach Hotel Rooms

2 Q BEDS NON SMOKING
Description not provided
1 K BED HANDICAP ACCESS
Description not provided
1 K BED NON SMOKING
Description not provided
2 Q BEDS LAKESIDE
Description not provided
1 K BED LAKESIDE
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Room
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board
International direct dial

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Silver Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.3

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angiecat83
Plainfield, Illinois
Aug 13, 2014

Good Location

The location was great in the heart of downtown. The walk to the beach was nice, about 5 minutes. The room was clean and average. The staff was nice. Not bad for the price and parking was free. The hotel has a bar that is open late for a late night drink And pool game. I would stay again for the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants in the area often sell out of food such as produce.

Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jak55
Michigan
Aug 11, 2014

Terribly over priced

This was one of the worst hotels for the money ever!! Worth $50 and I paid $300. Just awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
timindahood
Flint, MI
Jul 14, 2014

Safe, Quiet, Pleasant Spot to Crash

We don't look for bells and whistles in a hotel. We want a base to jump from for the stuff we've come to see. And this is a wonderful area in Michigan to be. No one talks about what a great hotel they're staying at--it's the beaches and the restaurants and countless cool things to walk or drive to from this hotel. We booked through this website and did 30 bucks better than what the hotel tried to book us in at, but still $130 was a bit steep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walking is good exercise

Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RocksTravel
Canton, MI
Jun 24, 2014

Waterfront?

This hotel was as expected, except for it's proximity to the beach/water. The description lead us to believe this was a waterfront property. It has views of water, and I'd suppose you'd be able to see Lake Michigan from the top floor or two. Be prepared to walk a few blocks to get your toes in the sand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Renee342000
Toledo
Jun 10, 2014

Saturday/Sunday at the beach

The key to this hotel is location. It is walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and shops. The lobby is nice, but the rooms are average at best. For $200+ a night you would think they would spend money updating the rooms. The room was clean, but just really outdated. We didn't spend much time in the room; just to sleep. You only have two options for hotels right near the beach so you can't be too picky. Location is the key to this hotel. I will stay again for that reason only. (and there is a Bigby right across the street)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rye Belles rooftop restaurant is worth the wait. Great food, great view!

Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MI Weekender
Chicago, IL
May 27, 2014

Weekend getaway

You could tell this hotel was recently rehabbed and it looked pretty nice inside. We never used the pool or workout facilities. The major letdown came when we pulled back the bed sheets and there were spots or stains on the sheets. They brought us fresh ones and changed them but really made me wonder if anything was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Michigan traveler.
Dyer, IN
Mar 28, 2014

Location is its best asset.

You have to know it is an old hotel before going there. The staff is very good & friendly. The balcony off the rooms are very small,but some nice views of Lake Michigan. This hotel probably could use some up-dating. But you can't beat it for walking around St. Joseph and access to Silver Beach. The bed was very comfortable. The complimentary breakfest could use some fruit options.Just don't expect luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lefty 52
Tinley Park, Il.
Oct 1, 2013

Friends Getaway.

Female at the service counter wasn't very helpful with options available for checking in early. In other words what rooms were in fact available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Awesome Lizard
Warsaw, Indiana
Sep 11, 2013

not worth what you pay for

great location is the only good thing about this place. I only got a room here because it was the only place with available rooms on a short notice. all the others reviews that I read where all true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach and town is all around it

Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Life Is Good
Sturgis, Mich
Aug 28, 2013

Just what we were looking for. My wife and I needed a short get-a-way .

The hotel was walking distance to a shopping area with a lot of small shops, close to the beach, peir and many beach area activities. Very convenient location making for a fun get-a-way for my wife and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Cozumel Restaurant, mexican style eating

Back to menu Return to top

Change search