$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

The Westin Southfield Detroit

4 stars
1500 Town Center, Southfield, MI 48075
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
247 reviews
Great stay

Overall, our hotel stay was great. Beds were extremely comfortable. See full review

  • Bulldog Nation
  • Jun 24, 2014
Great bang for the buck!

The hotel was surprisingly nice. The room was very comfortable and the restaurant was nice. I would... See full review

  • DMover
  • Jan 3, 2014
A suburban respite from the bustle of nearby downtown Detroit

The deluxe Westin Southfield Detroit, conveniently situated in the suburban Southfield Town Center complex, is still near many of Detroit's distinct cultural, sports, and business destinations. Guests relish in the relaxing and remote atmosphere, yet are only 20 minutes from downtown and such diverse local attractions as Comerica Park, the MGM Grand Casino, and the Cobo Convention Center.

Highlights
  • AAA Four-Diamond rated hotel for excellence and service
  • Westin's signature Unwind evening guest get-togethers, Kids Club, and Workout gym
  • Spacious rooms feature Heavenly Beds, with pillow-top mattress and down comforter
  • Executive Meeting Center and dedicated staff for business events
Rooms

Each of the 388 guest rooms and suites in the newly renovated Westin Southfield Detroit invites rest and relaxation, amidst a bevy of deluxe amenities designed for both business and pleasure travelers, including a stocked mini bar and high-speed Internet access. Each room features the Westin's Heavenly Bed, featuring a pillow-top mattress and down comforter. The hotel extends the same divine treatment to babies and dogs, with Heavenly cribs and dog beds.

Features

The Westin's exclusive health and wellness amenities include a heated indoor pool, well-equipped Workout gym, and the Kids Club, which offers fun activities for the younger set. The Westin's signature Unwind events bring guests together every evening to share appetizers, drinks, and chitchat.

 

A trio of appetizing dining options meets guests at the Westin. Jamocha's Coffee Shop, the Level 1 Lounge, and Tango's Restaurant, serving fresh American cuisine. Twenty-four-hour room service is also an option.

Transportation
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Pontiac Airport (19 mi/30.6 km)
  • Amtrak station (20 mi/32.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Comerica Park (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Ford Field (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Cobo Convention Center (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • MGM Grand Casino (14.7 mi/23.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive Meeting Center, featuring flexible meeting rooms and break area
  • High-speed Internet service in all meeting/event facilities (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in all public areas
Policy and Fee

  • Valet parking fee is $20.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

42.4762 -83.2449
Nearby airports
Detroit City Airport, (DET), 15.00, MI; Bishop International Airport, (FNT), 55.00, MI; Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport, (DTW), 25.00, MI; Oakland-Troy Airport, (VLL), 19.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Southfield Detroit also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin Southfield Detroit Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Over sized rooms
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sitting area
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Southfield Detroit

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Riskbuster
Business
New York, NY
Dec 8, 2010

Stay Away

Missing bath rob; had to call front desk twice to ask; took them 50 mins to deliver; poor service; lobby smells like an abandoned restroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Riskbuster
Business
New York, NY
Dec 8, 2010

Stay Away

Missing bath rob; had to call front desk twice to ask; took them 50 mins to deliver; poor service; lobby smells like an abandoned restroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveller couple
dallas, texas
May 22, 2012

Not pleasant place

Four star hotel without microwave. There is no free internet for 4 star hotel. The coffee maker is a toy. Only 1 cup brew at a time. It is not good for couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

house of pancake is fantastic place for breakfast. About 2 blocks from the hotel.

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MotownMaven
Greater NYC area
Oct 13, 2009

Does Not Live Up to Its Brand

I Was in town to celebrate a milestone birthday near the city of my birth. The Westin had a decent rate through [...] so I booked the room.I had a problem with the bed linen change request. I notified the appropriate people that the request had not been honored and they brought sheets to my room to leave them as if I was going to do it. Needless to say I was appalled and insulted. It took many calls and time from my vacation to address the issue. The front desk personnel were more defensive than helpful. When you pay in advance through a third party, you cannot get any financial adjustment on the room. I was offered initially, remedies that were unacceptable. Eventually we came to a fairly adequate resolution.This was my third stay at this property in the last five years. Each visit was problematic. No more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stuart, FL
Nov 14, 2010

Would not go back there

When we checked in, we were told we would have a room with 2 double beds... we had requested a King. When questioned, the reply was, "this was an [...] booking so that is what is all that is available for you." Not off to a good start. Then when we tried to use our laptop, we discovered that the only way internet was available was at a charge of $14.99 per 24 hours... and no wireless anywhere. The Starbucks in the Lobby was only open Mon-Fri... we were there on the weekend. No other coffee available except restaurant service. This is obviously a totally "business customer" hotel although the services are certainly not very "business" friendly with only wired, expensive internet accessibility and no desk in the room. The room was only "so-so"... furniture was worn and room not very well designed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

don't use your GPS to find this hotel... it takes you into a parking gargage. After driving around for 20 minutes, we could see the building but could not find the entrance, the check-in clerk said, "Oh, yes... GPS companies use our shipping address... that happens a lot".

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Federal Widget
Wash, DC
Nov 13, 2012

Not quite the Westins we're used to.

Having stayed at the Westin in Vouliagmeni-Athens, Greece, we were excited to book the Westin for our three-night trip to Detroit. Things we missed in this Westin: --room service! --lobby wi-fi --bath robes --shower cap kit. --the breakfast buffet was NOTHING to compare to the Athens Westin. Some negative experiences: --The room key fobs never worked. We had to keep getting new ones every time we left the room. Without them, you couldn't even use the elevator. --A "down" comforter on one of the beds was completely empty of feathers! --The mini-bar was empty. --We left the room at 10am and returned at 4pm and our room wasn't yet made up! --There was only one large bath towel, we had to ask for more. --No bedside chocolates!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yummyascanbe
Stevensville, Montana
Aug 13, 2012

Actually pretty dissapointed

I had to ask for my roomed to be cleaned and the shower when I arrived looked like it had been just wiped down and the ironing board pad was old and couldn't be used. I would have saved a ton of money staying at a super 8. How did this hotel get a 4 star rating? I don't get it...Btw, I have been an F & B Director of several large hotels and I would never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JCVDROCKS
Tulsa
Nov 17, 2012

When did they replace beds with cardboard?

Ok so the lobby was great looking seemed pretty nice. and wasn't to much of a pain to get to. However I was out of the hotel all day and really only needed the place to sleep. However it seemed like i was given an ancient bed with which they didn't know what softness was. Literally the firmest mattress ever... like no give what so ever very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stuart, FL
Nov 14, 2010

Would not go back there

When we checked in, we were told we would have a room with 2 double beds... we had requested a King. When questioned, the reply was, "this was an [...] booking so that is what is all that is available for you." Not off to a good start. Then when we tried to use our laptop, we discovered that the only way internet was available was at a charge of $14.99 per 24 hours... and no wireless anywhere. The Starbucks in the Lobby was only open Mon-Fri... we were there on the weekend. No other coffee available except restaurant service. This is obviously a totally "business customer" hotel although the services are certainly not very "business" friendly with only wired, expensive internet accessibility and no desk in the room. The room was only "so-so"... furniture was worn and room not very well designed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

don't use your GPS to find this hotel... it takes you into a parking gargage. After driving around for 20 minutes, we could see the building but could not find the entrance, the check-in clerk said, "Oh, yes... GPS companies use our shipping address... that happens a lot".

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not all I expected
Toledo, OH
Dec 3, 2012

Wasn't Impressed

It looked nice, but I don't know if they gave us a room that wasn't up to par just because I booked with third party, but the bathroom had a lightbulb out, and then I went to take a shower with their "Heavenly Shower" and it had no water pressure even when reducing the shower head back to one. The bed was comfortable, however me and my girlfriend both were itching like crazy all night. I thought it was a mind game until I woke up the next morning and she felt the exact same way. And speaking of waking up, we woke up around 10ish after a night out, and were woke up by the cleaning ladies entering. That woke us up, and then my girlfriend went to take a shower, not even 15 minutes later as I am standing by the entrance way, ANOTHER cleaning lady opened our door as I was standing there in my underwear. Overall I think it has potential, but personally I was not impressed at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top