The Westin Southfield Detroit

4 stars
1500 Town Center, Southfield, MI 48075
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
169 reviews
Great stay

Overall, our hotel stay was great. Beds were extremely comfortable. See full review

  • Bulldog Nation
  • Jun 24, 2014
Great bang for the buck!

The hotel was surprisingly nice. The room was very comfortable and the restaurant was nice. I would... See full review

  • DMover
  • Jan 3, 2014
A suburban respite from the bustle of nearby downtown Detroit

The deluxe Westin Southfield Detroit, conveniently situated in the suburban Southfield Town Center complex, is still near many of Detroit's distinct cultural, sports, and business destinations. Guests relish in the relaxing and remote atmosphere, yet are only 20 minutes from downtown and such diverse local attractions as Comerica Park, the MGM Grand Casino, and the Cobo Convention Center.

Highlights
  • AAA Four-Diamond rated hotel for excellence and service
  • Westin's signature Unwind evening guest get-togethers, Kids Club, and Workout gym
  • Spacious rooms feature Heavenly Beds, with pillow-top mattress and down comforter
  • Executive Meeting Center and dedicated staff for business events
Rooms

Each of the 388 guest rooms and suites in the newly renovated Westin Southfield Detroit invites rest and relaxation, amidst a bevy of deluxe amenities designed for both business and pleasure travelers, including a stocked mini bar and high-speed Internet access. Each room features the Westin's Heavenly Bed, featuring a pillow-top mattress and down comforter. The hotel extends the same divine treatment to babies and dogs, with Heavenly cribs and dog beds.

Features

The Westin's exclusive health and wellness amenities include a heated indoor pool, well-equipped Workout gym, and the Kids Club, which offers fun activities for the younger set. The Westin's signature Unwind events bring guests together every evening to share appetizers, drinks, and chitchat.

 

A trio of appetizing dining options meets guests at the Westin. Jamocha's Coffee Shop, the Level 1 Lounge, and Tango's Restaurant, serving fresh American cuisine. Twenty-four-hour room service is also an option.

Transportation
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Pontiac Airport (19 mi/30.6 km)
  • Amtrak station (20 mi/32.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Comerica Park (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Ford Field (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Cobo Convention Center (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • MGM Grand Casino (14.7 mi/23.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive Meeting Center, featuring flexible meeting rooms and break area
  • High-speed Internet service in all meeting/event facilities (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in all public areas
Policy and Fee

  • Valet parking fee is $20.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin Southfield Detroit Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Over sized rooms
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sitting area
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Hotel Map

42.4762 -83.2449
Nearby airports
Detroit City Airport, (DET), 15.00, MI; Bishop International Airport, (FNT), 55.00, MI; Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport, (DTW), 25.00, MI; Oakland-Troy Airport, (VLL), 19.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Southfield Detroit

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Britt F
Business
Southfield,mi
Jun 11, 2012

Wonderfull stay

Wonderfull stay I really enjoyed my stay there it was wonderfull the guest services was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom Moo
Business
Cleveland
Jun 11, 2012

Beautiful couple getaway

I loved the hotel!!! Very clean beyond my expectations! Will be back again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Noel
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jun 7, 2012

Best night's sleep in Metro Detroit

We slept so well in this hotel that we were an hour late for breakfast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveller couple
Business
dallas, texas
May 22, 2012

Not pleasant place

Four star hotel without microwave. There is no free internet for 4 star hotel. The coffee maker is a toy. Only 1 cup brew at a time. It is not good for couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

house of pancake is fantastic place for breakfast. About 2 blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MKE Poet
Business
Akron, Ohio
May 22, 2012

Fantastic Weekend

My wife and I were extremely pleased with our accommodations at the Westin Hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. My wife was especially pleased with the bed. We will definitely choose this hotel the next time we visit the Detroit area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rev. Sylvia
Business
Chandler, Arizona
May 21, 2012

Family graduation from U of D Mercy

Upon arrival in the first room I was somewhat disappointed in the room. Just did not have the feel of a 'Westin' room. A very loud fan was blowing in the hall all night, which was a sleep disturber. The next morning the room was changed but it was poorly handled and made us have to rush through breakfast to get to the graduation on time. The waitress we had at breakfast was awful! She was almost insistent that we take the buffet which none of us wanted. Then she informed us that she would be back as she had to help the men at the back table. Breakfast was a terrible experience that morning. The next morning we sat at a different side of the dining room, but there was no escaping this horrible server. A supervisor seemed to sense our unvoiced discontent and came to the rescue. We were eternally grateful for the supervisor. The did discount our breakfast restaurant. If given the choice of a good breakfast and an excellent server or a discounted poor meal and a bad server, I will opt for the former.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It is actually a long drive for good food. Hotel is not the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephen's Mom
Business
Boston, MA
May 14, 2012

Great Hotel

Stayed just one night. Super fast check-in, very friendly staff. Room was large & very comfortable. Large bed, lots of pillows. The only thing missing was some liquid bath soap for the tub. Only had a small bar of soap. Since you can't fly with any type of liquids anymore having some liquid soap to take a bubbly bath & get comfy in the super-soft bathrobe provided would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M.k.Schleifer
Business
Windsor,ON
Apr 23, 2012

Fantastic weekend.

My husband was celebrating our fifth anniversary, and we chose the Westin. We had a great, relaxing week-end together. The Westin was the best choice. Our only problem was dust, the night tables was filled with dust and the phone.Their huge king size bed is so comfortable. Location, location - just perfect. Close to mall and fast food chains, upscale neighbourhood. My husband said, he had the best weekend ever. Are we gonna visit again? sure! The dust on the night tables and phone never determine the good time we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigverne
Business
miami,fl
Apr 12, 2012

back in Detroit

very nice hotel, bed was surreal very comfortable. did not care to much for the double shower head, stuck in position. overall nice hotel. will return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

for breakfast you have to visit, the ORIGINAL PANCAKE HOUSE on Evergreen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lil skii
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Two nights peace

First, they put us in the penthouse. The view was hittin'. The curtains allowed for us to sleep as long as we liked, couldn't tell morning had arrived. The bed was plush and the sheets soft as a baby's butt. The shower was rejuvenating. The nights were warm and romantic. However, we were surprised by the barking of a dog in the next door room, not an overwhelming bark, just a light one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice movie theater at 12 Mile. If you haven't already seen, be sure to see American Reunion. It is funny from begining to end. Leave the children at home!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top