$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

The Westin Southfield Detroit

4 stars
View map of 1500 Town Center, 1500 Town Center, Southfield, MI 48075

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Southfield Detroit

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pickie Roxane
Business
Michigan
Feb 17, 2013

Fun winter day

I spent one night at the Westin with my three children. We all had a fun time at the pool while watching snow falling outside. I would visit again and recommend it to get away from the snow even for a day or two!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Michigan Science Center and then spend the night at the Westin. Swim in the pool and excercise then go shopping! Twelve Oaks Malls is just 20 minutes away.

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom Moo
Business
Cleveland
Feb 15, 2013

Birthday Getaway

I arrived and was so impressed. The hotel was really clean, and beautiful. The staff was great. The room was beautiful and very clean. When we return to MI we will return to the Westin!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackski
Business
grand rapids, mi
Dec 9, 2012

Great Stay

Everything was perfect except for the fact that my room stayed at 73 degrees no matter how i set the thermostat. Bed was incredible; but comfort alone could not keep me from waking up over and over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not all I expected
Business
Toledo, OH
Dec 3, 2012

Wasn't Impressed

It looked nice, but I don't know if they gave us a room that wasn't up to par just because I booked with third party, but the bathroom had a lightbulb out, and then I went to take a shower with their "Heavenly Shower" and it had no water pressure even when reducing the shower head back to one. The bed was comfortable, however me and my girlfriend both were itching like crazy all night. I thought it was a mind game until I woke up the next morning and she felt the exact same way. And speaking of waking up, we woke up around 10ish after a night out, and were woke up by the cleaning ladies entering. That woke us up, and then my girlfriend went to take a shower, not even 15 minutes later as I am standing by the entrance way, ANOTHER cleaning lady opened our door as I was standing there in my underwear. Overall I think it has potential, but personally I was not impressed at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Watson Experience
Business
Inland Empier, CA
Nov 25, 2012

Family gathering

Enjoyed my stan, and close to all family and friends and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JCVDROCKS
Business
Tulsa
Nov 17, 2012

When did they replace beds with cardboard?

Ok so the lobby was great looking seemed pretty nice. and wasn't to much of a pain to get to. However I was out of the hotel all day and really only needed the place to sleep. However it seemed like i was given an ancient bed with which they didn't know what softness was. Literally the firmest mattress ever... like no give what so ever very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RajaK
Business
CT
Nov 13, 2012

Decent Hotel and Decent Price

Room seemed nice enough for hte price paid. Amenities were acceptable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Federal Widget
Business
Wash, DC
Nov 13, 2012

Not quite the Westins we're used to.

Having stayed at the Westin in Vouliagmeni-Athens, Greece, we were excited to book the Westin for our three-night trip to Detroit. Things we missed in this Westin: --room service! --lobby wi-fi --bath robes --shower cap kit. --the breakfast buffet was NOTHING to compare to the Athens Westin. Some negative experiences: --The room key fobs never worked. We had to keep getting new ones every time we left the room. Without them, you couldn't even use the elevator. --A "down" comforter on one of the beds was completely empty of feathers! --The mini-bar was empty. --We left the room at 10am and returned at 4pm and our room wasn't yet made up! --There was only one large bath towel, we had to ask for more. --No bedside chocolates!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Federal Widget
Business
Wash, DC
Nov 13, 2012

Great staff, but...need to ramp up the game a bit.

Comments here based on expectation of typical high Westin value. That said: No Wi-FI? (20$/day charge per couple-room) Restricted amenities hours. Odd housecleaning service schedule. So-so Food. Nothing in neighborhood. Zero economical transport options. Staff was really great and friendly, rooms nice and clean, but....but both they and guests deserve a bit more, maybe? Would definitely recommend hotel, but not at 'retail' prices, only if as part of a great package deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There's a strip mall a couple streets away. Wish we'd discovered it earlier.

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kk traveler
Business
burlington, vt
Oct 26, 2012

Solid Hotel

Good all around - I would stay again. Very solid hotel and a good location for business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top