$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 26, 2015

The Westin Southfield Detroit

4 stars
View map of 1500 Town Center, 1500 Town Center, Southfield, MI 48075

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Southfield Detroit

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RajaK
Business
CT
Nov 13, 2012

Decent Hotel and Decent Price

Room seemed nice enough for hte price paid. Amenities were acceptable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Federal Widget
Family
Wash, DC
Nov 13, 2012

Not quite the Westins we're used to.

Having stayed at the Westin in Vouliagmeni-Athens, Greece, we were excited to book the Westin for our three-night trip to Detroit. Things we missed in this Westin: --room service! --lobby wi-fi --bath robes --shower cap kit. --the breakfast buffet was NOTHING to compare to the Athens Westin. Some negative experiences: --The room key fobs never worked. We had to keep getting new ones every time we left the room. Without them, you couldn't even use the elevator. --A "down" comforter on one of the beds was completely empty of feathers! --The mini-bar was empty. --We left the room at 10am and returned at 4pm and our room wasn't yet made up! --There was only one large bath towel, we had to ask for more. --No bedside chocolates!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Federal Widget
Family
Wash, DC
Nov 13, 2012

Great staff, but...need to ramp up the game a bit.

Comments here based on expectation of typical high Westin value. That said: No Wi-FI? (20$/day charge per couple-room) Restricted amenities hours. Odd housecleaning service schedule. So-so Food. Nothing in neighborhood. Zero economical transport options. Staff was really great and friendly, rooms nice and clean, but....but both they and guests deserve a bit more, maybe? Would definitely recommend hotel, but not at 'retail' prices, only if as part of a great package deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There's a strip mall a couple streets away. Wish we'd discovered it earlier.

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kk traveler
Business
burlington, vt
Oct 26, 2012

Solid Hotel

Good all around - I would stay again. Very solid hotel and a good location for business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Noel
Family
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 8, 2012

Another great night's sleep

Second stay at the Westin in a year and it is our new place to stay when visiting family in Metro-Detroit. Always sleep well and the room and hotel in general are very quiet even when there seems to be a lot going on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Original House of Pancakes on 10 mile is great for breakfast.

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kev Jack
Friends
Southfield, MI
Sep 5, 2012

Greatest experience

It was great couldn't have stayed at a better place, the staff was very friendly and the restaurant was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Clubs

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessie's Birl
Detroit, MI
Aug 28, 2012

The Heavenly Bed

Truly enjoyed our stay. The Heavenly bed is just that, heavenly. Room was very clean and the staff is attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kev Jack
Friends
Southfield, MI
Aug 26, 2012

Very Fun time!

My experience was really good, i stay at the westin a lot so the staff knows me lol they are all really friendly people! The room was just perfect from the bed to the bathroom it was very comfortable. The next i got up and as i was leaving legendary singer Aretha Franklin walked in!!! i was excited i got to take a pic with her she was very nice. So overall my stay was amazing couldn't get any better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WMU GRAD
Couples
STRONGSVILLE, OHIO
Aug 26, 2012

Good Time

The spacious room made this a pleasant stay. The location was excellent in reference to freeway access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Supper traveler
Family
Southfield, MI
Aug 22, 2012

A little disappointed

The lobby area is beautiful, but the furniture in the rooms needs to be replaced. The drawers come back out after you push them in. The hinge on one cabinet in my daughter's room was broke and the cabinet door was barely hanging on. The furniture is scratched. My sink was stopped up the entire three days I was there. They would fix it in the morning and by they afternoon it would be stopped up again. They did credit back the charge for the internet to compensate us for our inconvenience . This is another problem, why are they charging for the the internet?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top