The Westin Southfield Detroit

4 stars
View map of 1500 Town Center, 1500 Town Center, Southfield, MI 48075

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
151 reviews
Perfect Pre-Wedding Venue

My best friend wanted her wedding glam squad stationed at this hotel. For convenience, I booked a... See full review

  • Rachel J.
  • Aug 11, 2015
Great stay

Overall, our hotel stay was great. Beds were extremely comfortable. See full review

  • Bulldog Nation
  • Jun 24, 2014

The deluxe Westin Southfield Detroit, conveniently situated in the suburban Southfield Town Center complex, is still near many of Detroit's distinct cultural, sports, and business destinations. Guests relish in the relaxing and remote atmosphere, yet are only 20 minutes from downtown and such diverse local attractions as Comerica Park, the MGM Grand Casino, and the Cobo Convention Center.

Rooms

Each of the 388 guest rooms and suites in the newly renovated Westin Southfield Detroit invites rest and relaxation, amidst a bevy of deluxe amenities designed for both business and pleasure travelers, including a stocked mini bar and high-speed Internet access. Each room features the Westin's Heavenly Bed, featuring a pillow-top mattress and down comforter. The hotel extends the same divine treatment to babies and dogs, with Heavenly cribs and dog beds.

Property features

The Westin's exclusive health and wellness amenities include a heated indoor pool, well-equipped Workout gym, and the Kids Club, which offers fun activities for the younger set. The Westin's signature Unwind events bring guests together every evening to share appetizers, drinks, and chitchat.

 

A trio of appetizing dining options meets guests at the Westin. Jamocha's Coffee Shop, the Level 1 Lounge, and Tango's Restaurant, serving fresh American cuisine. Twenty-four-hour room service is also an option.

Highlights
  • AAA Four-Diamond rated hotel for excellence and service
  • Westin's signature Unwind evening guest get-togethers, Kids Club, and Workout gym
  • Spacious rooms feature Heavenly Beds, with pillow-top mattress and down comforter
  • Executive Meeting Center and dedicated staff for business events
Nearby attractions
  • Comerica Park (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Ford Field (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Cobo Convention Center (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • MGM Grand Casino (14.7 mi/23.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Executive Meeting Center, featuring flexible meeting rooms and break area
  • High-speed Internet service in all meeting/event facilities (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi in all public areas
Transportation
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Pontiac Airport (19 mi/30.6 km)
  • Amtrak station (20 mi/32.2 km)
Policies

  • Valet parking fee is $20.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin Southfield Detroit Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Cribs available

Hotel Map

42.4762 -83.2449
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Detroit City Airport, (DET), 24.14, KM; Pontiac Airport, (PTK), 30.58, KM; Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport, (DTW), 40.23, KM; Bishop Airport, (FNT), 88.51, KM;
Area description
Suburban, Suburban

Dining

Tango's Restaurant
For traditional American cuisine in a casual setting, Tango’s Restaurant provides à la carte items at breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Level 1 Lounge
Level 1 Lounge offers fine wine and spirits seven days a week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Southfield Detroit

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 23, 2008

My review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Easy access to freeway, nice brand; I use to work next door! Still very high class. The ck clerk was ok but nothing to brag about! i love this hotel and it's brands! I will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Northwest to get to the eateries! [Approx travel 2-3 miles]

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Oct 26, 2008

Beautiful hotel

This hotel is absolutely beautiful but we had a very bad experience no matter how nice it was it will be very hard to go back and recommend it to anyone just in case they run into the same problems we did. We attempted to check in after 4:00 pm..check in time was 3:00...we were told our room wouldn't be ready for at least another half hour and to just wait in the lobby and someone will call your name when the room is ready...it was after 5:00 by the time we got the room only because we voiced our displeasure. We had very expensive tickets to a show that night..had just driven 6 hours and had not eaten dinner yet and had to be at the venue for 7:00...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria
Oct 20, 2008

Excellent Staff

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was. Complimentary lemonade and newspapers in the lobby. Helpful and courteous bellmen. Quick and courteous check-in. Excellent food in the restaurant and bar. Ok breakfast buffet. Very friendly bartenders, waitresses and waiters. The only problem we encountered was once housekeeping cleaned our room they left the trash bag outside our door all day. We left at 8:00 am and returned at 10:00 pm only to find the untied, OPEN trash which included used female unmentionables exposed in the hallway. We spoke to the manager on duty and she was very apologetic and willing to accomodate us for the embarassment. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Belle Harbor, *
May 10, 2008

Perfect for what I needed.

It was a great hotel. A little bit farther from downtown Detroit then I planned though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LaTonyna
Business
Cleveland, OH
Mar 16, 2008

Quick one day tri[

The Westin was a very nice hotel. The parking was free in an attached garage and the hotel wasnt far from a shopping centers that had tons of restuarants. It was easily accessible from the freeway and was about 20 minutes from downtown. I love the fact that the room had a 32 inch flat screen tv. The shower heads were also nice as well. I certainly would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dining and shopping is about 10 minutes away.

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Traverse City, MI
Sep 30, 2007

Comfortable

The Westin in Southfield was very clean and their Heavenly Bed was probably the best I've ever slept in in a hotel. I liked the double-head shower. In-room food was a bit overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

AMAZING Italian restaurant a few miles on North-bound Telegraph on the left hand side, Amiando.

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jun 10, 2007

Very Comfortable after A Hard Day's Work

My son and I looked foward to the heavenly bed at the end of a very exhausting day. It was just the thing we needed to continue each day, a good night's rest in a great bed. In fact, my son who just graduated from college and will be moving to Washington, D.C. in a couple of month had decided he wanted to purchase the heavenly bed in his new place in D.C. We both enjoyed our stay and the comfort and convenience this facility provided us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Adequate dining and shopping in the area and surrounding areas.

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newquay
May 26, 2007

Beautiful Retreatful Enviroment

The Westin was a beautiful hotel. The location and rooms were perfect. The hotel room had a desk area and very spacious. The hotel is lacking a buisness center and a concierge lounge. Other than that it is a great place to visit in Detroit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 16, 2007

Disapointing

I arrived late in the evening, tired and hungry from traveling. I just wanted to check in, take a shower, order room service and go to bed as quick and stress-free as possible. As I walked into the room a foul odor and a stained comforter caught my attention. After opening a window and unpacking, I went into the bathroom hoping to take a shower and freshen up, but seeing only a hand towel on the wall and no shampoo or conditioner, I decided against it. My TV worked, but the person in the room next to me, complained about the noise 3 seperate times and was only happy when I finally turned it off 1/2 way through a movie I paid $13 for. At 8:00 am a maid let herself in to clean my room and woke me up. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Orlando, FL
Apr 30, 2007

Great bussiness amenities

The Westin Southfield was very confortable. The amenities are very good, pool, gym, business center. The location is good, like 40 min to Detroit and a neiborhood much cleaner and calm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Herisson Ford Museum is 20min from Hotel and it's a very cultural and interesting .

Back to menu Return to top