Candlewood Suites DETROIT-SOUTHFIELD

2 stars
View map of 1 CORPORATE DRIVE, SOUTHFIELD, MI 48076

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
24 reviews
Funeral for a friend

I like this hotel, it is located close to several freeways. The hotel was clean and very quiet. I... See full review

  • sugarplum
  • Oct 29, 2014
new year eve getaway

It was great staff was friendly and very helpful felt like home See full review

  • getawa 02
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Candlewood Suites Detroit-Southfield sits just outside the Motor City in the heart of Southfield. A 24-hour fitness center and free laundry facility offer convenience on any schedule. A lobby market stays open around the clock too, stocked with snacks, frozen entrees and beverages. Pick up breakfast-on-the-go or a midnight snack. All accommodations offer all the comforts of a suite. Host a barbecue on the outdoor grills or borrow films from the DVD library. Stay in touch with friends, family and the office courtesy of the free Internet access.

 

Rooms
Each of the 121 rooms is a simple suite at Candlewood Suites Detroit-Southfield. Cook up a storm in full kitchens that feature a stove, refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher. Get comfy at the workdesk equipped with complimentary wired Internet access or create in-room entertainment with the CD player, DVD player and cable TV. The accommodation style is ideal for guests on a corporate or long-term stay, but is just as comfortable for shorter visits. Pets are welcome at the Candlewood Suites Detroit-Southfield (fees apply).

 

Property features
Office parks and corporations surround the peaceful suburban location of Candlewood Suites Detroit-Southfield. The hotel is in close proximity to Federal Mogul, Plante Morgan, Baker Tilly, Eaton and Lear. Also nearby, find local parks, colleges and universities, family attractions and outdoor recreation. Several restaurants sit within less than a mile, while sports events and concerts in downtown Detroit are a short drive away. Spend a day in vintage boutiques, art galleries and antique shops or an evening at comedy clubs, breweries or the theater.

 

Highlights
  • Free high-speed wired Internet access in guest rooms
  • Suites with fully-equipped kitchens and DVD players
  • 24-hour lobby market, fitness center and free laundry facility
  • Outdoor grills
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)

 

Nearby attractions
  • Detroit Zoo (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Downtown Royal Oak (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Twelve Oaks Mall (12.1 mi/19.5 km)
  • Detroit Science Center (14.9 mi/23.9 km)
  • Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village (15.8 mi/25.5 km)
  • Cobo Conference/Exhibition Center (16.8 mi/27 km)
  • Downtown Detroit (17.2 mi/27.7 km)
  • Ford Field (18.3 mi/29.5 km)
  • Caesars Windsor Casino (19.1 mi/30.7 km)
  • Ann Arbor (38.6 mi/62.1 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wired Internet access in guest rooms
Transportation
  • Detroit Metro Airport (25.6 mi/41.2 km)

 

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites DETROIT-SOUTHFIELD also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Friday's
Friday's offers a fun atmosphere and features American cuisine. Located less than a mile from the hotel, Friday's is the ideal place to relax and unwind after traveling or a long day's work. Fridays's features a full service bar and offers happy hour spec

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites DETROIT-SOUTHFIELD

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 24
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.9

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites DETROIT-SOUTHFIELD

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sugarplum
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 29, 2014

Funeral for a friend

I like this hotel, it is located close to several freeways. The hotel was clean and very quiet. I like this particular hotel because it has a refrigerator, microwave and a stove top. I don't cook while I'm there but its great to be able to heat food if necessary. One down side, the window curtains should cover the entire window instead of part of the window. I would recommend this hotel to my friends. This was my second stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites DETROIT-SOUTHFIELD

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RonGus
Business
Portland, Oregon
Oct 9, 2012

Good Hangout

I found thee accomodation as advertised and was good value. The WIFI worked fine, the kitchen was fully equipped, and the bed and shower were fine.Housekeeping only serviced the room on a weekly basis, but that was not a problem for me. Room service was available as was an excercise room, neither of which I used. I had a terrible time locating it since it is sandwiched between two major freeways, and on a residential looking side street with no signage visible until you are a block away. I was pleased with the accomodation this hotel provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites DETROIT-SOUTHFIELD

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
amanda mandii
Business
Waterbury, Connecticut
Jun 18, 2012

dissatisfied customer

Changed room 3 times, manger still has yet to call me...tub, sink, toilet clogged in 2 rooms, asked staff to fix the toilet, he made it worse leaving things in the toilet that were not there when leaving room...I'm so upset! My trip was fantastic other than the mishaps at hotel, I wish I slept outside!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Big boys, yum...and kabuki in farmington hills 8)

Review of Candlewood Suites DETROIT-SOUTHFIELD

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SOUTHFIELD MI
Mar 31, 2011

Quite time

I really enjoyed my stay,the hotel was very quite to have a full house. My first room was a handicp/accessble took along time to warm-up. The following morning I was able to get another room. The staff was very professional and attentive to the needs of the guests. The exercise room was very clean,new equipment,beds were very comfortable. In general to sum it up I would visit again. Nice location off freeway,shopping,dozen of food chains in the area. Movie theater within 3mls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites DETROIT-SOUTHFIELD

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mohans
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 4, 2010

Worst hotel ever

I stayed here for a project and this was the closest place the Client's offices. Everything was dirty and downright filthy. I just couldn't describe the pizzed-off feeling I felt when I stayed there. One piece of advice: Never ever stay in this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites DETROIT-SOUTHFIELD

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mohans
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 28, 2010

The next best thing to [*]

was here for a long business trip (3 weeks). This has been the worst hotel experience that I've experienced in my life. The rooms were filthy and were not cleaned after a guest left. I had to change rooms thrice before I found a least filthy room to stay in. The only reason I put up with this hotel was that my client's location was very nearby. I would recommend that this hotel be shutdown for not following any rules and regulations as regards to cleanliness and upkeep. My recommendation is for anyone to stay away from this hotel at any cost.I wonder if I could get my money back for the [*] experience that I had at this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is nothing interesting around this hotel except the business district.

Review of Candlewood Suites DETROIT-SOUTHFIELD

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
V Phil
Business
Seattle
Mar 19, 2010

Better Than Home!

This was the best hotel stay ever. I didn't want to leave. I was so very pleasantly surprised to find the incredible amenities and when visited there by relatives that live in the area, they commented that they would come there for a retreat. Unbelievably wonderful! Large room, the cable and free internet was all more than I expected but after locating the gym, free laundry and the Cupboard, I was in heaven. The room was better than any studio apartment complete with a full kitchen! I was even able to park my car just outside the room window. All of the staff was pleasant and helpful, although I didn't need anything - it was all provided. Every single detail was amazing! This was the BEST hotel stay ever - really. Did I mention the free DVD and CD library? Or did I say how well stocked the Cupboard was? I simply did not want to leave!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Kroeger store on Evergreen, a 5 minute drive, get whatever fresh food you want to eat, and come back to a hotel room where you can cook, heat, chill, relax in comfort before seeking out a restaurant. Save that money and go a short distance to great shopping on Telegraph Rd.

Back to menu Return to top