$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Econo Lodge South

2 stars
1859 US 131 South, Petoskey, MI 49770
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
26 reviews
good value for the money

beds where great, good location, good value for the money. Nothing fancy but clean. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 11, 2008
Very friendly

Easy to park. Hotel was clean. TV lots of options. Pet Friendly. Somewhat noisy when people on... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 4, 2007
Award winning, exceptionally clean and well maintained. Free wireless internet and continental breakfast.Across from Odawa Casino; free shuttle service is available Nearby attractions include Petoskey Gas Light Dist,Petoskey State Park and Mackinaw Bridge. Only a few minutes from championship golf courses, winter skiing, and snowmobile trails. Hotel offers ski, golf, and casino packages. Pet Accommodation: 10.00 per pet per night. Pets are accepted only in Pet designated rooms.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge South

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sillia
Business
st.clair shores,Mich
Aug 22, 2012

OMG

couldn"t check in at check in time.Room wasn't ready for an hour and a half later (had to come back twice). When we did get our key the room was upstairs . Screens broken and falling off the windows. We had two double beds.One bed had a creater in the middle ,almost to the floor. Plaster was falling off the ceilings on the entirer complex. broken bed frames were thrown under the stairways. Bathrooms awful. Please don't go here the board of health should be notified!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grand Blanc
Business
Grand Blanc, MI
Feb 11, 2013

Horrible

If I could post pictures on here I would. I will never stay at this place again. I'm so sorry that I made my family spend a night here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BROOKE R
Business
BIG RAPIDS, MI
Oct 26, 2009

NOT THAT GREAT!

WE HAD REQUESTED A LATE CHECK OUT BECAUSE I AM 8 MONTHS PREGNANT AND HAD TO BE IN THE PETOSKEY AREA THE FOLLOWING DAY FOR 12 HOURS. WE REQUESTED TO BE ABLE TO LEAVE OUR BELONGINGS UNTIL AFTER WE ATTENDED CHURCH AND POSSIBLY SO I COULD LAY DOWN FOR A HALF HOUR. WE WERE TOLD WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY $5 FOR THE EXTRA HOUR BECAUSE THE HOTEL WAS EMPTY. IT WAS A SUNDAY SO I'M NOT SURE WHY THE ROOM COULDN'T BE CLEANED THE NEXT DAY. THE SHOWER ALSO HAD MULTIPLE HAIRS VARYING IN LENGTH ALL OVER IT. WE ALSO ALWAYS CHECK UNDER THE BED FOR ANY BELONGINGS AND IT DEFINITELY HAD NOT BEEN CLEANED UNDER IN QUITE SOME TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J W S
Business
Millington, MI
Jul 25, 2014

Don't bother with this Motel!

Dead bugs all over the room. Carpet that felt like I needed to wear shoes to bed. Toilet leaked and bathroom door knob falling off. Towels were so thin it took 2 just to dry off. I use better towels to polish my boat. TV remote didn't work well, had to turn the TV off by hand. Bed linen was suspect and didn't fit the bed. Needed to refit the mattress pad twice during the night. And finally the chain lock didn't reach to lock the door. I felt dirty after my stay and do not recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TTDD
Business
Petoskey
Aug 21, 2012

Tough experience

Room was noisy. Kept hearing a squealing sound from mechanical area. Steep price for room with wallpaper falling off wall in several places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BuickGolfer
Business
Fenton, MI
Oct 23, 2013

weekend getaway

We simply needed a place to lay our heads as we were out and about all weekend. The location was GREAT being right across the street from the casino. As for the room, mehhh. The pictures definitely are a false advertisement. We had dried salad in our ice bucket... if that makes any sense. My girlfriend was a little weary about even taking a shower, and we weren't expecting a motel vs. a hotel. There is very little privacy for the pool/ hot tub area as it is RIGHT NEXT to the check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

twisted olive is by far ONE OF THE BEST meals and views I have had in a dining experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 19, 2007

Not worth the money, must be a tourist trap area...

Well, walking into a room with wet floors was the first concern. Hopefully it was from steam cleaning and not a leaky fridge, or worse, a leaky toilet. However, it was wettest towards the bathroom... The vanity area is right in line with the beds, so when I got up to get ready in the morning, so did everyone else due to a super bright light. The bathroom was very cramped, and only had one option of a light and very noisy fan all at once option, so once again, waking up the entire room whenever in use. I was only there for a night, but was overall unimpressed for the cost, but it may have been marked up due to the timing of around August 19th. I could handle the poor setup and other problems if it was sub 1 Benjamin, unfortunately it was well above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Garfield's ending up being a good place for food, similar to Applebees.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jun 24, 2009

Ok at best

Not very clean and very few features. Outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
scapbooker
Business
Cheboygan, MI
Jul 26, 2009

Good location

Very convient location but the room needed some attention. The carpet was very spotted and the room, even though it was non smoking, had a very funny odor. The staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Girl'sNightOut
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Aug 25, 2014

Fine for a night

We only stayed here after a wedding. It was fine for what we needed, but I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top