$44 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Econo Lodge South

2 stars
1859 US 131 South, Petoskey, MI 49770
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
26 reviews
good value for the money

beds where great, good location, good value for the money. Nothing fancy but clean. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 11, 2008
Very friendly

Easy to park. Hotel was clean. TV lots of options. Pet Friendly. Somewhat noisy when people on... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 4, 2007
Award winning, exceptionally clean and well maintained. Free wireless internet and continental breakfast.Across from Odawa Casino; free shuttle service is available Nearby attractions include Petoskey Gas Light Dist,Petoskey State Park and Mackinaw Bridge. Only a few minutes from championship golf courses, winter skiing, and snowmobile trails. Hotel offers ski, golf, and casino packages. Pet Accommodation: 10.00 per pet per night. Pets are accepted only in Pet designated rooms.

Hotel Map

45.359 -84.9702
Nearby airports
Pellston Reg. Arpt. of Emmet, (PLN), 24.00, MI, NE; Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 73.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Resort, Lake Michigan

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge South

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bluejacket
Business
Troy, MI
Jul 20, 2010

Basic lodging for the business traveler.

Wasn't looking for "an experience", just a place to sleep. This motel met my basic needs at a fair price. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several restaurants (Appleby's, etc.) directly actross the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Worn Out Mommy
Business
Thumb, MI
Jul 11, 2010

Okay

Bed was comforable, wifi worked well and room was clean. Wall paper was ripped in a few spots, pool floor looked a bit dirty, but we did not use the pool or hot tub. Also, bathroom door would not lock. Contenental breakfast was okay, they could use some better selections. A smokeing room would have been nice, but it was a smoke free campus, but thats fine. Staff was great, I might go back again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
forreal
Business
greenville mi
Jul 8, 2010

Was easy to find

The pillows sucked very flat. NO conditioner for hair in the room. Forgot mine at home. They were not full at all and got a room that had to walk forever up steps and way to the back. Instead of giving me a ground floor was stuck on 2nd floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Econo Stay
Business
IL
Jun 27, 2010

Good stay at a great price

We stayed there for a wedding and it was cheep and close by so it worked out just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Mar 29, 2010

Clean, comfortable but small

The hotel was very quiet, bed was very comfortable, room was clean but very small. It was fine for the two of us. As for breakfast, you are better off going out and down the street to a restaurant which is fine. For what you pay for a room, you can afford breakfast out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester,Mi.
Jan 31, 2010

Worked for me

Partner with Odawa for around town shuttle sevice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chaldean Guy
Business
Troy, MI
Jan 31, 2010

Right on the Money!

Was there just for an overnight sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BROOKE R
Business
BIG RAPIDS, MI
Oct 26, 2009

NOT THAT GREAT!

WE HAD REQUESTED A LATE CHECK OUT BECAUSE I AM 8 MONTHS PREGNANT AND HAD TO BE IN THE PETOSKEY AREA THE FOLLOWING DAY FOR 12 HOURS. WE REQUESTED TO BE ABLE TO LEAVE OUR BELONGINGS UNTIL AFTER WE ATTENDED CHURCH AND POSSIBLY SO I COULD LAY DOWN FOR A HALF HOUR. WE WERE TOLD WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY $5 FOR THE EXTRA HOUR BECAUSE THE HOTEL WAS EMPTY. IT WAS A SUNDAY SO I'M NOT SURE WHY THE ROOM COULDN'T BE CLEANED THE NEXT DAY. THE SHOWER ALSO HAD MULTIPLE HAIRS VARYING IN LENGTH ALL OVER IT. WE ALSO ALWAYS CHECK UNDER THE BED FOR ANY BELONGINGS AND IT DEFINITELY HAD NOT BEEN CLEANED UNDER IN QUITE SOME TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, MI
Sep 8, 2009

Econo Lodge South / Petosky

Taveled to the location for a business/personal trip. Hotel was found to be of good value for overnight resting. NO actual physical fitness facilities were available, pool was on the small side but the rooms, pool area, front office and surrounding grounds were found to be clean. Large parking area for anyone hauling a trailer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many many attractions available for families within a short driving distance, including biking, walking, boating, movies, miniture golf and a varied style of restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
scapbooker
Business
Cheboygan, MI
Jul 26, 2009

Good location

Very convient location but the room needed some attention. The carpet was very spotted and the room, even though it was non smoking, had a very funny odor. The staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top