Mackinaw Beach and Bay

2 stars
929 South Huron Ave., 929 South Huron Ave., Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
62 reviews
Nice surprise

On our way to Mackinac Island late at night and made a last minute reservation. Arrived late, staff... See full review

  • Conquistador
  • Aug 25, 2014
end of the season bargain

lots of space in the room, breakfast was at another hotel due to remodeling but it was very... See full review

  • Mrs. SB
  • Oct 27, 2013
All-suites resort on the lake is a great family getaway

Built in 2009, the Mackinaw Beach and Bay All Suites Resort is located on the shore of Lake Huron in Mackinaw City. All accommodations are spacious two room suites and include a kitchenette, two HD flat screen televisions, and a private balcony overlooking the Straits of Mackinac. Free high-speed Internet access is also provided. Hotel amenities include a private beach, an indoor heated pool, a spa tub and a fitness center. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily.

Highlights
  • All-suites hotel with kitchenettes and private balconies overlooking the lake
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Private beach, indoor pool and fitness center
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
Rooms

Mackinaw Beach and Bay provides nonsmoking two-room suites, all with private balconies overlooking Lakes Huron and Michigan. Each suite also includes a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, wet bar and coffee/tea maker. High-speed Internet access is complimentary and two flat-screen televisions are standard. The suites can sleep six to eight people. Adjoining rooms are available. Cribs are available upon request.

Features

Mackinaw Beach and Bay hotel guests enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning, including fresh baked muffins and cinnamon rolls, make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits, fresh juices and more.

 

Enjoy downtime at the indoor pool or a soak in the hot tub. Too much Mackinac Island fudge or caramel corn? Burn calories at the on-site fitness room. A kid-friendly arcade/game room is available. The hotel offers discounted tickets to Thunder Falls Family Waterpark.  

Transportation
  • Ferry to Mackinac Island (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Pellston Regional Airport (15 mi/24 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (297 mi/478 km)
Attractions
  • Thunder Falls Family Water Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Colonial Michilimackinac (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Historic Mill Creek State Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • St. Ignace, MI (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Mackinac Island (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Wilderness State Park (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Harbor Springs, MI (36.2 mi/58.2 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms available
  • Free wireless Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mackinaw Beach and Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Mackinaw Beach and Bay Rooms

One King Bed and One Queen Bed C
Description not provided
King Bed Courtside with Balcony
Description not provided
One King and One Queen Lakefront
Description not provided
One King Bed Lakefront
Description not provided
One King and One Queen Lakefont
Description not provided
One King and One Queen with Slee
Description not provided
One King and Two Queens with Sle
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Indoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
elizabeth smith
Business
Bloomfield Hills
Jul 9, 2012

looks are deceiving

This hotel looks like it has it all until you check in. Staff members are really rude and disrespectful. there web page only shows you there good review that are 2 years old. There rooms smell really bad and there beaches smell like wet dogs,not to mention how dirty there lawn is with geese droppings everywhere. Breakfast is nothing special really cheap. lobby is always out of coffee and tea. Dont be fooled like I was. Dont bother to ask for towels for the pool or beach because there response will be sorry were all out! Never again will i ever go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grand Blanc
Business
Grand Blanc, MI
Aug 27, 2013

Poor customer service

We recently stayed ant the Mackinaw Beach and Bay resort for a night, and the stay was interesting. The facilities are nice, the room was clean, beds were comfortable and the view of the lake was great. However, when we arrived in the room my wife noticed that we only had a quarter roll of toilet paper in the bathroom. Having two boys, 6 and 7 and two adults in the room, she called down to the front desk to request another roll. Sitting in the other room I could hear her on the phone answering a number of questions about how much toilet paper was on the roll, how much we expected to use during our visit and so on. It sounded like she first needed to justify the need for toilet paper before it would be provided. I quickly discarded the conversation and focused ont eh view of the lake. A few minutes later I pulled out our iPad and tried to get online to look for a good restaurant in the area. My iPad was able to see the WIFI and make a connection but the connection was too slow to pull up pages. I tried connecting to the WIFI with my iPhone but received the same results. I finally grabbed the kids and iPad and headed down to the pool figuring I could use the interest connection down there. The connection in the pool area was non-existent. I left my wife in the pool area with the kids and went to the front lobby to use a hotel computer. When I asked the front desk clerk if they had a guest computer she said no but they had free WIFI, when I explained that I could not get it to work a man stepped out of the back and started to argue with me about it, telling me they had that WIFI setup for three months and never had a single complaint about it. When I tried to explain that the connection was down he told me it was a free service. I also mentioned that the hallway outside of our room was hot and the thermostat in the hallway said the temperature was 88 degrees. He told me that I was mistaken and must have been exaggerating the temperature. I quickly realized that John was in his own reality and determined that all customers are out to get him. I sat in the front lobby area for another 15 minutes trying to check a few websites on my phone. During that time, I heard John, the manager snap at a customer telling them that no bikes were allowed in the hotel and that he needed to leave his bike outside or incur and fine. A few seconds later, I overheard him arguing with a customer on the phone telling them he would charge them extra if they show up at his hotel with more guests than they had the room booked for. On my way back to the room I overheard a couple saying that they got verbally reprimanded in the morning for trying to take toast out of the breakfast area. Apparently food is not allowed to leave the eating area. The most ironic part of the stay was that I have never seen a hotel manager with such bad customer service. The hotel itself is nice but how many customers will ever return once they are treated like that, I know that I won’t. John, take a class on customer service and realize that customers want to have a pleasant stay. They don’t want to be treated like that on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
us
Jul 16, 2010

mackinaw beach and bay

wanted to cancel on arrival. could not becausec we booked through [...]. cheaply built and unattractive, many other vacancies available much better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mackinaw Lady
Business
Midwest
Jun 10, 2013

Birthday Getaway!.

Staff wasn't real friendly at first.Area was away from everything ,not much beach . Did have a water park you could use off site.Breakfast was avg.Everything was clean and neat and beds were very comfortable.This was a newer motel and thought we would try something different. Price was appropriate for what you received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

It was away from the center of everything and missed that convience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
soccermom99
Business
Madison, WI
Aug 19, 2013

perfectly okay, nothing special

A two-star property in a neighborhood full of them. The staff is nice and friendly, though they push the "featured" branded restaurants and don't offer any local suggestions. I thought it was a bit pricey for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upper Michigan
Sep 26, 2010

Ok for the price

Rooms for very clean and spacious. Great beach front location and staff was friendly. Continental breakfast wasn't very good, hardly any choices. Food served on styrofoam plates, styrofoamcups and plastic silverware. What a waste. Be eco conscious! The view of the bridge that was promised was slight. We could barely see it! Pool was way at the end of the complex.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Jun 3, 2010

Not too shabby!

My boyfriend and I were on a weekend trip for my birthday. We had a great time and a very good experience with the hotel although I wish the beach would have been a little more nicer and better lounge chairs would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south bend, In
Oct 4, 2010

Family get away to Mackinaw

Excellent! We had a great time. Hotel was located on the beach. Great breakfast bar. The location was only a few blocks from down town. The view from the balcony was wonderful, we could see the Island! RJ and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The island of Mackinac is great! A lot of things to see and do. Biking, carriage rides, butterfly house, the fort, and many wonderful places to shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John Good
Business
Columbus
Jun 3, 2013

Couple vocation

It worths its star rate. Nothing to complain, and nothing to praise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Held
Business
Lancaster, Pa.
Jul 10, 2013

Relaxing five days

Hotel was well located for visiting numerous events and sites. If you enjoy the beach environment, you'll your stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top