Mackinaw Beach and Bay

2 stars
929 South Huron Ave., 929 South Huron Ave., Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
62 reviews
Nice surprise

On our way to Mackinac Island late at night and made a last minute reservation. Arrived late, staff... See full review

  • Conquistador
  • Aug 25, 2014
end of the season bargain

lots of space in the room, breakfast was at another hotel due to remodeling but it was very... See full review

  • Mrs. SB
  • Oct 27, 2013
All-suites resort on the lake is a great family getaway

Built in 2009, the Mackinaw Beach and Bay All Suites Resort is located on the shore of Lake Huron in Mackinaw City. All accommodations are spacious two room suites and include a kitchenette, two HD flat screen televisions, and a private balcony overlooking the Straits of Mackinac. Free high-speed Internet access is also provided. Hotel amenities include a private beach, an indoor heated pool, a spa tub and a fitness center. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily.

Highlights
  • All-suites hotel with kitchenettes and private balconies overlooking the lake
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Private beach, indoor pool and fitness center
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
Rooms

Mackinaw Beach and Bay provides nonsmoking two-room suites, all with private balconies overlooking Lakes Huron and Michigan. Each suite also includes a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, wet bar and coffee/tea maker. High-speed Internet access is complimentary and two flat-screen televisions are standard. The suites can sleep six to eight people. Adjoining rooms are available. Cribs are available upon request.

Features

Mackinaw Beach and Bay hotel guests enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning, including fresh baked muffins and cinnamon rolls, make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits, fresh juices and more.

 

Enjoy downtime at the indoor pool or a soak in the hot tub. Too much Mackinac Island fudge or caramel corn? Burn calories at the on-site fitness room. A kid-friendly arcade/game room is available. The hotel offers discounted tickets to Thunder Falls Family Waterpark.  

Transportation
  • Ferry to Mackinac Island (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Pellston Regional Airport (15 mi/24 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (297 mi/478 km)
Attractions
  • Thunder Falls Family Water Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Colonial Michilimackinac (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Historic Mill Creek State Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • St. Ignace, MI (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Mackinac Island (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Wilderness State Park (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Harbor Springs, MI (36.2 mi/58.2 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms available
  • Free wireless Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mackinaw Beach and Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Mackinaw Beach and Bay Rooms

One King Bed and One Queen Bed C
Description not provided
King Bed Courtside with Balcony
Description not provided
One King and One Queen Lakefront
Description not provided
One King Bed Lakefront
Description not provided
One King and One Queen Lakefont
Description not provided
One King and One Queen with Slee
Description not provided
One King and Two Queens with Sle
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Indoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DKnap
Business
Coldwater, OH
Jun 20, 2010

Just like a beach Condo!

This hotel is only a year old and the rooms are set up just like a beach condo. The rooms all have a balcony with a great view of the morning sunrise over Lake Huron and the "Big Mac" Bridge off to the left. Our room had a King size, a Queen size and a full size couch as well as a microwave, fridge and kitchette sink. It is a non-smoking facility which is great as the rooms smell clean. If you want a vacation on the water you will never find a nicer room for a better rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gagetown Tim
Business
Macinaw, michigan
Mar 21, 2010

Nelsons weekend

relax, walk, and enjoy the pool with our daughter. More dining options but I understand this is more of a summer town. Best short trip yet the accomidations were excellent and the staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In winter months not many dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spraygunn
Business
Southern Michigan
May 23, 2010

up north

Hotel was clean and room location was there. Someone was paying attention.....no suprises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
L and C Retired
Business
Maple Grove, MN
Jun 22, 2010

Great Experience at this hotel

One of the best we have stayed at. Even smelled new! The price was very reasonable as we have stayed at others in the same or slightly higher price that were not in the same league. Breakfast was very good. Didn't use the pool as we arrived too late and were just passing through on our way home, but would have had we arrived sooner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, Mi
Aug 5, 2011

Great Stay

We've stayed in this location before, but before the old was demolished and this great new 'all suites' hotel was built. We stayed 2 nights and used the indoor pool both nights as well as enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet both mornings. The hotel is a relatively short walk to two of the boat lines to Mackinaw Island and one could walk to downtown from there, about 1/2 mile or so. Handicap accessable rooms are available, in fact we were given one by mistake but were moved to another room better suited to our needs without any problem. We will definately stay there again when we are in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has discount tickets for Star boat lines to the Island (why else are you in Mackinaw City) and is only about 1/4 mile walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southfield, MI
Jun 25, 2010

Perfect place!!!!!!!! Excellent price

This was the best hotel that we had in Mackinaw. Clean, big rooms, very friendly staff, kids friendly pool. Every room has balcony and lake view. Nice TVs in each room. Spacious bathroom. Excellent housekeeping, clean towels every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Admiral restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Jun 27, 2010

[...] Screwed Up!

The actual hotel experience was great. This hotel is brand new and was within 1/2 mile of downtown Mackinaw City. It is right on the lake and all of the rooms overlook the water. The pool is very nice, well maintained and warm. The complimentary breakfast was great.The front desk staff was gracious and accommodating [...]The maid staff did a great job of cleaning and prepping the room. They were horribly rude at 0930 when they were headed up to their floors for the day. They capitalized the only elevator in the hotel for at least 10min while they ferried all of their carts up. Several hotel guests were forced to wait or take the stairs.Upon arrival we were checked in without issue, but found our room was not as reserved on [...]. We reserved 1 King, 2 queen, 1 Sofa bed suite. We got everything but the King. Front desk staff tried valiantly to find the right room for us and gave us another suite for the 1st night. [...]The hotel could not offer us the same room for the second night so we were offered a room at the hotel next door or a 25% cash refund. We too the extra room, but it was of a much lower standard than the hotel the rest of the party was staying at. Plus I had to spend my vacation time chasing [...] and the Hotel on the phone all day.Overall the hotel itself was great. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Really within a long walk of downtown or a short walk to the ferry boats to the Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muskegon MI
Jun 28, 2010

Great Family Getaway

This trip was great. The weather wasent the greatest but we had a great time. Everything was great! No complanints! Out of all the trips we've taken this was the by far nicest hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The food in Mackinac is not very good. The only place we found that was ok is Chef Pancake on the Main strip. Even chain rest. werent good we tried Big Boy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PEORIA, ILLINOIS
Jul 11, 2010

CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK

OUR HOTEL WAS JUST AT THE WATERS EDGE, THE VIEW MAKES YOU NEVER WANT TO LEAVE AND WHEN YOU DO MAKES YOU BOOK YOUR NEXT STAY SO YOU KNOW HOW LONG THE COUNT DOWN IS TILL YOUR BACK. WE LOVED IT SO MUCH WE'RE HEADED BACK SOON. WHEN THE WASHER BROKE DOWN, I USED ANOTHER HOTELS WITH PERMISSION. THE MONEY AND SOAP WE LOST WAS RETURNED TO US. THE SHOPPING, FOOD, AND FUN ARE AROUND EVERY CORNER. THE SIGHTS ARE ALL AROUND YOU FROM THE MOMENT YOU ARRIVE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

WHEN YOU TRAVEL TO ANY OF THE MANY PLACES MICHIGAN HAS TO OFFER, GET OFF THE ROUTE EVERYONE ELSE IS ON AND TAKE YOUR OWN. WE DID AND WE MET SOME OF THE GREATEST PEOPLE AND ATE SOME OF THE FRESHEST AND BEST FOOD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
EATON RAPIDS MI
Sep 27, 2010

NICE AND CLEAN ROOMS AND GREAT VIEW

WE LIKED THE HOTEL AND WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top