$73 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

Mackinaw Beach and Bay

2 stars
929 South Huron Ave., 929 South Huron Ave., Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
61 reviews
end of the season bargain

lots of space in the room, breakfast was at another hotel due to remodeling but it was very... See full review

  • Mrs. SB
  • Oct 27, 2013
Pretty decent for what you pay

Loved the place, and loved they way they tried to help. But the wifi was almost non existent!! :( See full review

  • itsjeevs
  • Jul 11, 2013
All-suites resort on the lake is a great family getaway

Built in 2009, the Mackinaw Beach and Bay All Suites Resort is located on the shore of Lake Huron in Mackinaw City. All accommodations are spacious two room suites and include a kitchenette, two HD flat screen televisions, and a private balcony overlooking the Straits of Mackinac. Free high-speed Internet access is also provided. Hotel amenities include a private beach, an indoor heated pool, a spa tub and a fitness center. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily.

Highlights
  • All-suites hotel with kitchenettes and private balconies overlooking the lake
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Private beach, indoor pool and fitness center
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
Rooms

Mackinaw Beach and Bay provides nonsmoking two-room suites, all with private balconies overlooking Lakes Huron and Michigan. Each suite also includes a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, wet bar and coffee/tea maker. High-speed Internet access is complimentary and two flat-screen televisions are standard. The suites can sleep six to eight people. Adjoining rooms are available. Cribs are available upon request.

Features

Mackinaw Beach and Bay hotel guests enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning, including fresh baked muffins and cinnamon rolls, make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits, fresh juices and more.

 

Enjoy downtime at the indoor pool or a soak in the hot tub. Too much Mackinac Island fudge or caramel corn? Burn calories at the on-site fitness room. A kid-friendly arcade/game room is available. The hotel offers discounted tickets to Thunder Falls Family Waterpark.  

Transportation
  • Ferry to Mackinac Island (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Pellston Regional Airport (15 mi/24 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (297 mi/478 km)
Attractions
  • Thunder Falls Family Water Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Colonial Michilimackinac (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Historic Mill Creek State Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • St. Ignace, MI (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Mackinac Island (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Wilderness State Park (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Harbor Springs, MI (36.2 mi/58.2 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms available
  • Free wireless Internet access

Hotel Map

45.7684 -84.7256
Area served
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan, Gaylord, Sault Sainte Marie
Nearby airports
Emmet County, (PLN), 18.40, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Ideally located just minutes from romantic Mackinac Island and

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mackinaw Beach and Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Mackinaw Beach and Bay Rooms

One King Bed and One Queen Bed C
Description not provided
King Bed Courtside with Balcony
Description not provided
One King and One Queen Lakefront
Description not provided
One King Bed Lakefront
Description not provided
One King and One Queen Lakefont
Description not provided
One King and One Queen with Slee
Description not provided
One King and Two Queens with Sle
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Indoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pekin Illinois
Jun 17, 2010

"One of the best we ever stayed in"

This hotel had the most friendly and knowledgable staff of any place we have ever stayed. Rooms are all facing Lake Huron with views of Mackinac Island. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fully stocked with cold cereals, scrambled eggs, bisquets and gravey, toast and waffles. Juice, coffee and milk. Location was one block from main activities and restraunts, ferries and shopping. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manitowoc, WI
Jun 15, 2010

Good value!

Compared to others in the area, this was a bargain and the accomodations were very good. There was nnnot great expense paid to build it, but it is new and very clean. No in hotel resturant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Wayne, IN
Jun 3, 2010

Not too shabby!

My boyfriend and I were on a weekend trip for my birthday. We had a great time and a very good experience with the hotel although I wish the beach would have been a little more nicer and better lounge chairs would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bubba and Sueann
Coldwater,M
Jun 1, 2010

Excellent location and view!

We had a great time. The beach on lake Huron and the view of the Mackinac Bridge at night is great!! They even provide grills and picnic tables if you want to cook by the beach and watch the spectacular sunsets. All rooms are suites and have views of Lake Huron. Our 2nd stay there and we will be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You will find geat shopping in downtown Mackinaw City. The carmal corn and fudge are a must.

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tubapastor
Nappanee, IN
May 31, 2010

Really wonderful!

Let me tell you - this was a wonderful location and facility. The staff had a family feel and responded to any question with helpful insight, great attitude, accurate information and a smile. We had only one complaint - that of all the midges (flys) that filled the balcony. Saff explained that this was a seasonal nusaince, passed word on to housekeeping and it was cleanedup to the best of their ability. I was very impressed. Breakfast was wonderful. Every question was answered with almost a joy to assist. There was no pressure. My wife and I could not have asked for a better location , facility and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spraygunn
Southern Michigan
May 23, 2010

up north

Hotel was clean and room location was there. Someone was paying attention.....no suprises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham, MI
May 23, 2010

Excellent Hotel!!!

The suites were huge and very well equipped! A nice size refrigerator,microwave, and coffee maker. All the suites look on Lake Huron with a nive sixe beach in front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cal-T
Harrisonburg va
May 9, 2010

Bridge sweet

What a wonderful find! We were looking for a lake side hotel and a place to walk and enjoy the scenery. This hotel staff and facility are wonderful. The 'almost' new rooms and the bountiful breakfast were top rate. We even took a walk to the ferry piers and it was a very nice paved path.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The 'neath the cedars' was recommended by the staff and we enjoyed the ambiance and the fish was great.

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gagetown Tim
Macinaw, michigan
Mar 21, 2010

Nelsons weekend

relax, walk, and enjoy the pool with our daughter. More dining options but I understand this is more of a summer town. Best short trip yet the accomidations were excellent and the staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In winter months not many dining options.

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toledo Ohio
Mar 16, 2010

I'll go back

Overall my experience was a good one. The trip is what I expected in general. I went with a friend for some R & R but unfortunately didn't know it was little kid hockey play offs. They ran the halls all four floors. Didn't get to enjoy the hot tub or pool much this trip either for that reason but what little we did was a nice time. The hotel itself on any other weekend would probably have been a 5 star rating. We were up during off season so we knew to expect limited dinner and lunch options

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search