Mackinaw Beach and Bay

2 stars
929 South Huron Ave., 929 South Huron Ave., Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
62 reviews
Nice surprise

On our way to Mackinac Island late at night and made a last minute reservation. Arrived late, staff... See full review

  • Conquistador
  • Aug 25, 2014
end of the season bargain

lots of space in the room, breakfast was at another hotel due to remodeling but it was very... See full review

  • Mrs. SB
  • Oct 27, 2013
All-suites resort on the lake is a great family getaway

Built in 2009, the Mackinaw Beach and Bay All Suites Resort is located on the shore of Lake Huron in Mackinaw City. All accommodations are spacious two room suites and include a kitchenette, two HD flat screen televisions, and a private balcony overlooking the Straits of Mackinac. Free high-speed Internet access is also provided. Hotel amenities include a private beach, an indoor heated pool, a spa tub and a fitness center. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily.

Highlights
  • All-suites hotel with kitchenettes and private balconies overlooking the lake
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Private beach, indoor pool and fitness center
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
Rooms

Mackinaw Beach and Bay provides nonsmoking two-room suites, all with private balconies overlooking Lakes Huron and Michigan. Each suite also includes a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, wet bar and coffee/tea maker. High-speed Internet access is complimentary and two flat-screen televisions are standard. The suites can sleep six to eight people. Adjoining rooms are available. Cribs are available upon request.

Features

Mackinaw Beach and Bay hotel guests enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning, including fresh baked muffins and cinnamon rolls, make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits, fresh juices and more.

 

Enjoy downtime at the indoor pool or a soak in the hot tub. Too much Mackinac Island fudge or caramel corn? Burn calories at the on-site fitness room. A kid-friendly arcade/game room is available. The hotel offers discounted tickets to Thunder Falls Family Waterpark.  

Transportation
  • Ferry to Mackinac Island (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Pellston Regional Airport (15 mi/24 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (297 mi/478 km)
Attractions
  • Thunder Falls Family Water Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Colonial Michilimackinac (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Historic Mill Creek State Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • St. Ignace, MI (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Mackinac Island (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Wilderness State Park (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Harbor Springs, MI (36.2 mi/58.2 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms available
  • Free wireless Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mackinaw Beach and Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Mackinaw Beach and Bay Rooms

One King Bed and One Queen Bed C
Description not provided
King Bed Courtside with Balcony
Description not provided
One King and One Queen Lakefront
Description not provided
One King Bed Lakefront
Description not provided
One King and One Queen Lakefont
Description not provided
One King and One Queen with Slee
Description not provided
One King and Two Queens with Sle
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Indoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chapman family
Business
Belmont, MI
Jun 28, 2010

This hotel worked out great for us!

convenient location, and very, very spacious room with everything a small family needed; nice balcony to look at the lake. Clean; nice big breakfast selection. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Have lunch or dinner at Mama Mia's pizza and check out the Bridge Museum upstairs; we were there on a Saturday and there was live music, too. Right across the street from Mackinac Crossings, which had a lot for our daughter and us to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, MI
Jun 28, 2010

Clean, spacious hotel w/poor breakfast

Front desk staff were very helpfull and friendly. Our room was very clean and spacious, with a great view of the water. Many items at the breakfast buffet were almost gone and the 3 woman working the buffet all worked on the same thing, instead of splitting up the tasks. Some fresh fruit (apples, bananas, oranges) would have been nice. The buffet included 2 types of muffins, cinnamon rolls, toast, 2 types of cereal, strawberry yogurt, biscuits, gravy and scrambled eggs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The front desk will call a shuttle for one of the ferry companies to pick you up, instead of having to drive over to the ferry parking lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muskegon MI
Jun 28, 2010

Great Family Getaway

This trip was great. The weather wasent the greatest but we had a great time. Everything was great! No complanints! Out of all the trips we've taken this was the by far nicest hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The food in Mackinac is not very good. The only place we found that was ok is Chef Pancake on the Main strip. Even chain rest. werent good we tried Big Boy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jun 27, 2010

Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Mackinaw Beach and Bay was very nice, nice suites, great views, the only negative for the entire weekend was that other guest were feeding the seagulls from the upper balconies, causing the first floor to be covered with noisey messy birds. The only other thing that could improve is the offering of the free breakfast, a little lackluster in our opinonos. Other than that a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 27, 2010

Nice Suites

Nice size rooms and beds. Very comfortable and roomy suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Jun 27, 2010

[...] Screwed Up!

The actual hotel experience was great. This hotel is brand new and was within 1/2 mile of downtown Mackinaw City. It is right on the lake and all of the rooms overlook the water. The pool is very nice, well maintained and warm. The complimentary breakfast was great.The front desk staff was gracious and accommodating [...]The maid staff did a great job of cleaning and prepping the room. They were horribly rude at 0930 when they were headed up to their floors for the day. They capitalized the only elevator in the hotel for at least 10min while they ferried all of their carts up. Several hotel guests were forced to wait or take the stairs.Upon arrival we were checked in without issue, but found our room was not as reserved on [...]. We reserved 1 King, 2 queen, 1 Sofa bed suite. We got everything but the King. Front desk staff tried valiantly to find the right room for us and gave us another suite for the 1st night. [...]The hotel could not offer us the same room for the second night so we were offered a room at the hotel next door or a 25% cash refund. We too the extra room, but it was of a much lower standard than the hotel the rest of the party was staying at. Plus I had to spend my vacation time chasing [...] and the Hotel on the phone all day.Overall the hotel itself was great. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Really within a long walk of downtown or a short walk to the ferry boats to the Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southfield, MI
Jun 25, 2010

Perfect place!!!!!!!! Excellent price

This was the best hotel that we had in Mackinaw. Clean, big rooms, very friendly staff, kids friendly pool. Every room has balcony and lake view. Nice TVs in each room. Spacious bathroom. Excellent housekeeping, clean towels every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Admiral restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CincyKT
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 22, 2010

Very clean, nice to be on the water

This was a nice hotel, and I'd consider staying there again. My family got a large suite that had 3 beds, so it saved us from having to get 2 rooms elsewhere. The thing I most appreciated was that the room was very clean. I'm pretty picky, and I didn't find any bugs, hair, mildew... in the room. When we got there they were shampooing the hallway carpets. My biggest con was that the room was dark (I love sunlight!). Only one bedroom got natural light (and not too much of that with a small-ish window), and there were few lights in the room to light it up. A few other comments: - It was very nice having a balcony looking over a nice beach - I really appreciated that there were hot items for breakfast (eggs, biscuits & gravy), though I thought overall it was just OK - no fresh fruit, very few baked goods (white or wheat toast, one kind of muffin), only orange juice & coffee to drink - The pool was very nice, the exercise room was OK - 2 low-tech treadmills and a stair climber - no TV - They had a lot of luggage carts, which was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
L and C Retired
Business
Maple Grove, MN
Jun 22, 2010

Great Experience at this hotel

One of the best we have stayed at. Even smelled new! The price was very reasonable as we have stayed at others in the same or slightly higher price that were not in the same league. Breakfast was very good. Didn't use the pool as we arrived too late and were just passing through on our way home, but would have had we arrived sooner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DKnap
Business
Coldwater, OH
Jun 20, 2010

Just like a beach Condo!

This hotel is only a year old and the rooms are set up just like a beach condo. The rooms all have a balcony with a great view of the morning sunrise over Lake Huron and the "Big Mac" Bridge off to the left. Our room had a King size, a Queen size and a full size couch as well as a microwave, fridge and kitchette sink. It is a non-smoking facility which is great as the rooms smell clean. If you want a vacation on the water you will never find a nicer room for a better rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top