$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Mackinaw Beach and Bay

2 stars
929 South Huron Ave., P.O. Box 518, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
108 reviews
end of the season bargain

lots of space in the room, breakfast was at another hotel due to remodeling but it was very... See full review

  • Mrs. SB
  • Oct 27, 2013
Pretty decent for what you pay

Loved the place, and loved they way they tried to help. But the wifi was almost non existent!! :( See full review

  • itsjeevs
  • Jul 11, 2013
All-suites resort on the lake is a great family getaway

Built in 2009, the Mackinaw Beach and Bay All Suites Resort is located on the shore of Lake Huron in Mackinaw City. All accommodations are spacious two room suites and include a kitchenette, two HD flat screen televisions, and a private balcony overlooking the Straits of Mackinac. Free high-speed Internet access is also provided. Hotel amenities include a private beach, an indoor heated pool, a spa tub and a fitness center. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily.

Highlights
  • All-suites hotel with kitchenettes and private balconies overlooking the lake
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Private beach, indoor pool and fitness center
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
Rooms

Mackinaw Beach and Bay provides nonsmoking two-room suites, all with private balconies overlooking Lakes Huron and Michigan. Each suite also includes a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, wet bar and coffee/tea maker. High-speed Internet access is complimentary and two flat-screen televisions are standard. The suites can sleep six to eight people. Adjoining rooms are available. Cribs are available upon request.

Features

Mackinaw Beach and Bay hotel guests enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning, including fresh baked muffins and cinnamon rolls, make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits, fresh juices and more.

 

Enjoy downtime at the indoor pool or a soak in the hot tub. Too much Mackinac Island fudge or caramel corn? Burn calories at the on-site fitness room. A kid-friendly arcade/game room is available. The hotel offers discounted tickets to Thunder Falls Family Waterpark.  

Transportation
  • Ferry to Mackinac Island (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Pellston Regional Airport (15 mi/24 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (297 mi/478 km)
Attractions
  • Thunder Falls Family Water Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Colonial Michilimackinac (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Historic Mill Creek State Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • St. Ignace, MI (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Mackinac Island (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Wilderness State Park (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Harbor Springs, MI (36.2 mi/58.2 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms available
  • Free wireless Internet access

Mackinaw Beach and Bay Rooms

One King Bed and One Queen Bed C
Description not provided
King Bed Courtside with Balcony
Description not provided
One King and One Queen Lakefront
Description not provided
One King Bed Lakefront
Description not provided
One King and One Queen Lakefont
Description not provided
One King and One Queen with Slee
Description not provided
One King and Two Queens with Sle
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Indoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mackinaw Beach and Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.7684 -84.7256
Area served
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan, Gaylord, Sault Sainte Marie
Nearby airports
Emmet County, (PLN), 18.40, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Ideally located just minutes from romantic Mackinac Island and

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lansing, Mi
Aug 21, 2010

Very nice family vacation spot

Excellent accomodations, great view from every room of the lake and the bridge. Staff was wonderful from the front desk to housekeeping. They even let us check in early and told us about some places to go and things to do. The only I would say needs some improvment would be the breakfast, it was cinnamon rolls, ceral, eggs, biscuts and gray and waffles. A little variety would have been nice and maybe some bagels and cream cheese, but other than that it is an awesome place to stay and we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eat, Pray, Shop mom
Ypsilanti, MI
Aug 19, 2010

Good location for the price

Great location for day trips. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Really close to downtown shopping

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eat, Pray, Shop mom
Ypsilanti, MI
Aug 19, 2010

Good location for the price

Great location for day trips. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Really close to downtown shopping

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Aug 18, 2010

Mac City

GREAT LOCATION Helpfull staff. Lots of kids. Geat view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Aug 18, 2010

Mac City

GREAT LOCATION Helpfull staff. Lots of kids. Geat view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Aug 15, 2010

Very Nice

Great location, great view of lake and island, very clean and nice. Do need to invest in more and new lounge chairs for the beach. Staff was very friendly. The one downside was the breakfast bar. The eggs were nasty tasting and they need to offer more variety. FRESH fruit, not canned and individual containers with a different variety of yogurt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and dining are very close but was disappointed that once again it is the pathetic cheap t-shirt and soveneir shops that have plagued what is an otherwise lovely vacation spot.

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Aug 15, 2010

Very Nice

Great location, great view of lake and island, very clean and nice. Do need to invest in more and new lounge chairs for the beach. Staff was very friendly. The one downside was the breakfast bar. The eggs were nasty tasting and they need to offer more variety. FRESH fruit, not canned and individual containers with a different variety of yogurt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and dining are very close but was disappointed that once again it is the pathetic cheap t-shirt and soveneir shops that have plagued what is an otherwise lovely vacation spot.

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 26, 2010

just okay

It was only worth it because we got a stay 3 get one free package. The room was nice. A door separating the two rooms would have been nice but not a deal breaker. The maid service was excellent. They made shapes out of the towels every day. They also would arrange my kids stuffed animals! The breakfast was very cheap. There were muffins, sugar cereal, powdered eggs (no meat), toast (white or wheat only), waffles, biscuits and gravy, and a sweet roll. There was juice, milk, coffee and tea to drink. I am just used to a nicer free breakfast. There is usually some kind of meat, yogurt, and fruit of some kind. It just was lack luster and not very healthy. Food was NOT to be taken from the breakfast room which was discouraging. We like to eat in our room sometimes. The beach is nice. The water is very shallow well out into the lake. We were far enough away from the ferries for them not to be a bother. The seagulls were fun as they would take bread right out of your hand or catch it in the air if you threw it. The location worked well for us as we like to be out of the city. It is out of town just a bit but they say it is an easy walk. We drove into town (3 minutes at 25mph) and then walked around to look at the shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 26, 2010

just okay

It was only worth it because we got a stay 3 get one free package. The room was nice. A door separating the two rooms would have been nice but not a deal breaker. The maid service was excellent. They made shapes out of the towels every day. They also would arrange my kids stuffed animals! The breakfast was very cheap. There were muffins, sugar cereal, powdered eggs (no meat), toast (white or wheat only), waffles, biscuits and gravy, and a sweet roll. There was juice, milk, coffee and tea to drink. I am just used to a nicer free breakfast. There is usually some kind of meat, yogurt, and fruit of some kind. It just was lack luster and not very healthy. Food was NOT to be taken from the breakfast room which was discouraging. We like to eat in our room sometimes. The beach is nice. The water is very shallow well out into the lake. We were far enough away from the ferries for them not to be a bother. The seagulls were fun as they would take bread right out of your hand or catch it in the air if you threw it. The location worked well for us as we like to be out of the city. It is out of town just a bit but they say it is an easy walk. We drove into town (3 minutes at 25mph) and then walked around to look at the shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Il.
Jul 19, 2010

Excellent Hotel and a great location

We had a family vation. The two room suite concept was excent. Had a very fine complimentary breakfast served in a pleasant, clean environment with a good selection of breakfast items. The staff was helpful in providing directions and recommending value places for shopping and dining.The beach and facilities at the beach were plentiful. Probably one of the better trips that we have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top