$71 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Mackinaw Beach and Bay

2 stars
View map of 929 South Huron Ave., 929 South Huron Ave., Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
EATON RAPIDS MI
Sep 27, 2010

NICE AND CLEAN ROOMS AND GREAT VIEW

WE LIKED THE HOTEL AND WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upper Michigan
Sep 26, 2010

Ok for the price

Rooms for very clean and spacious. Great beach front location and staff was friendly. Continental breakfast wasn't very good, hardly any choices. Food served on styrofoam plates, styrofoamcups and plastic silverware. What a waste. Be eco conscious! The view of the bridge that was promised was slight. We could barely see it! Pool was way at the end of the complex.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, Mi
Aug 21, 2010

Very nice family vacation spot

Excellent accomodations, great view from every room of the lake and the bridge. Staff was wonderful from the front desk to housekeeping. They even let us check in early and told us about some places to go and things to do. The only I would say needs some improvment would be the breakfast, it was cinnamon rolls, ceral, eggs, biscuts and gray and waffles. A little variety would have been nice and maybe some bagels and cream cheese, but other than that it is an awesome place to stay and we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eat, Pray, Shop mom
Business
Ypsilanti, MI
Aug 19, 2010

Good location for the price

Great location for day trips. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Really close to downtown shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Aug 18, 2010

Mac City

GREAT LOCATION Helpfull staff. Lots of kids. Geat view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Aug 15, 2010

Very Nice

Great location, great view of lake and island, very clean and nice. Do need to invest in more and new lounge chairs for the beach. Staff was very friendly. The one downside was the breakfast bar. The eggs were nasty tasting and they need to offer more variety. FRESH fruit, not canned and individual containers with a different variety of yogurt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and dining are very close but was disappointed that once again it is the pathetic cheap t-shirt and soveneir shops that have plagued what is an otherwise lovely vacation spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 26, 2010

just okay

It was only worth it because we got a stay 3 get one free package. The room was nice. A door separating the two rooms would have been nice but not a deal breaker. The maid service was excellent. They made shapes out of the towels every day. They also would arrange my kids stuffed animals! The breakfast was very cheap. There were muffins, sugar cereal, powdered eggs (no meat), toast (white or wheat only), waffles, biscuits and gravy, and a sweet roll. There was juice, milk, coffee and tea to drink. I am just used to a nicer free breakfast. There is usually some kind of meat, yogurt, and fruit of some kind. It just was lack luster and not very healthy. Food was NOT to be taken from the breakfast room which was discouraging. We like to eat in our room sometimes. The beach is nice. The water is very shallow well out into the lake. We were far enough away from the ferries for them not to be a bother. The seagulls were fun as they would take bread right out of your hand or catch it in the air if you threw it. The location worked well for us as we like to be out of the city. It is out of town just a bit but they say it is an easy walk. We drove into town (3 minutes at 25mph) and then walked around to look at the shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il.
Jul 19, 2010

Excellent Hotel and a great location

We had a family vation. The two room suite concept was excent. Had a very fine complimentary breakfast served in a pleasant, clean environment with a good selection of breakfast items. The staff was helpful in providing directions and recommending value places for shopping and dining.The beach and facilities at the beach were plentiful. Probably one of the better trips that we have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jul 18, 2010

great!

We stayed for 2 days. there are two beds, and the one is king so we could sleep for 3 people.(with child)Room was clean and the view from the room was so nice and could see the sunrise.There are breakfast including the price.For two days there are the same menu but the variety was enough for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close but we need to drive for few mins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
us
Jul 16, 2010

mackinaw beach and bay

wanted to cancel on arrival. could not becausec we booked through [...]. cheaply built and unattractive, many other vacancies available much better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top