$70 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2015 Check-out: Oct 3, 2015

Mackinaw Beach and Bay

2 stars
View map of 929 South Huron Ave., 929 South Huron Ave., Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MGRABER
Couples
Belleville MI
Jun 7, 2013

relaxing vacation

We were pleasantly surprised when we checked into our room. Had a great view of the water and the bridge. Did not expect a room this nice for $65. Front desk staff was very helpful. Free breakfast was good. Our only complaint, NO HAIRDRYER in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Went to Dixie Saloon, The worst steak I've ever eaten.

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John Good
Couples
Columbus
Jun 3, 2013

Couple vocation

It worths its star rate. Nothing to complain, and nothing to praise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rbkids
Couples
Holt, MI
May 21, 2013

Hidden jewel

We stayed just one night, room was huge, door out to the beach will be great when the weather is better. Great staff, helpful with dinner plans. A little out of the busy part of town, but quiet all night long. Buffet breakfast was great to. Rates will be higher in season, but would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Vacation Mom
Family
Niles, MI
Jul 12, 2012

Great Family Fun

Our stay at the Mackinaw Beach and Bay was enjoyable. The staff was friendly and always helpful. The rooms were nice and we liked how the area was divided with plenty of sleeping space. I was however disappointed with a few things. Breakfast was pretty good but get there early if you want it fresh. Breakfast hours are from 6:30 to 9:30. It would have been nice to have at least till 10:00 am. We were on vacation and would have liked a little more time. I was told we would have a view of the bridge from our balcony, which I really wanted. There were two trees blocking that view (disappointed). Also we were disappointed with the beachfront. We had small children so we had to go somewhere else for a beach day. The beachfront is not sandy and I would recommend bringing some type of water shoes because it is very rocky. We were so busy sightseeing that we only spent one day on the beachfront but If I were to stay longer I would take the hotel beachfront more into consideration. There are other hotels nearby who have made their beachfront's sandy so I would think its something they all could do.If I were the owner I would consider it. It makes a big difference. Overall our stay was enjoyable and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mama Mia's Pizza. Great Pizza and they have a Mackinac Bridge Museum upstairs which is really interesting.

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
elizabeth smith
Couples
Bloomfield Hills
Jul 9, 2012

looks are deceiving

This hotel looks like it has it all until you check in. Staff members are really rude and disrespectful. there web page only shows you there good review that are 2 years old. There rooms smell really bad and there beaches smell like wet dogs,not to mention how dirty there lawn is with geese droppings everywhere. Breakfast is nothing special really cheap. lobby is always out of coffee and tea. Dont be fooled like I was. Dont bother to ask for towels for the pool or beach because there response will be sorry were all out! Never again will i ever go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Truck Parade Fan
Family
Mayville, MI 48744, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Great stay but get breakfast early

Wornderful place to stay and in a good location but the breakfast ends at 9:30 so you have to get up earlier than planned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Grand Rapids, Mi
Aug 5, 2011

Great Stay

We've stayed in this location before, but before the old was demolished and this great new 'all suites' hotel was built. We stayed 2 nights and used the indoor pool both nights as well as enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet both mornings. The hotel is a relatively short walk to two of the boat lines to Mackinaw Island and one could walk to downtown from there, about 1/2 mile or so. Handicap accessable rooms are available, in fact we were given one by mistake but were moved to another room better suited to our needs without any problem. We will definately stay there again when we are in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has discount tickets for Star boat lines to the Island (why else are you in Mackinaw City) and is only about 1/4 mile walk.

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Muscatine, IA
Jul 12, 2011

Nice, Clean, Safe and Comfy

After spending a long weekend in Mackinaw City with my wife the year before - we brought our two kids with us for a family vacation. The Hotel room was flawless. The room gave us direct and almost private access to the Beach. Travel suggestion for those with kids -> bring water shoes/aqua socks, most beaches are rocky (all beaches on the island are). Tip #2 if you drive a bit to the West there are sandy beaches but you have to search for them. My kids were young and after a three day stay we ran out of things to do with them. Any more and we'd have been pressing our luck. Overall we had a great time, and the Hotel was part of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
reknez
Couples
lansing mi
Oct 24, 2010

off season surprise

This hotel was new with outsanding off season rates. Staff were very good and the rooms were wonderful with a waterfront view of the moon rise and the sunrise . Great bang for your buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
green bay
Oct 24, 2010

excellent accomadations!!

Being quite new, the hotel is CLEAN, CLEAN CLEAN!! The rooms are wonderful, the view is fantastic!! Very quiet. By far the best place we ever stayed in at Mackinaw or St. Ignace, for that matter. The staff was exceptionally nice, the cleaning lady even left us a note in case we wanted an extra blanket! I've got a bad back and the mattress was firm, no sagging in the middle. Pillows weren't pancakes. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top