$168 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 11, 2014 Check-out: Dec 14, 2014

Mackinaw Beach and Bay

2 stars
929 South Huron Ave., 929 South Huron Ave., Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
62 reviews
Nice surprise

On our way to Mackinac Island late at night and made a last minute reservation. Arrived late, staff... See full review

  • Conquistador
  • Aug 25, 2014
end of the season bargain

lots of space in the room, breakfast was at another hotel due to remodeling but it was very... See full review

  • Mrs. SB
  • Oct 27, 2013
All-suites resort on the lake is a great family getaway

Built in 2009, the Mackinaw Beach and Bay All Suites Resort is located on the shore of Lake Huron in Mackinaw City. All accommodations are spacious two room suites and include a kitchenette, two HD flat screen televisions, and a private balcony overlooking the Straits of Mackinac. Free high-speed Internet access is also provided. Hotel amenities include a private beach, an indoor heated pool, a spa tub and a fitness center. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily.

Highlights
  • All-suites hotel with kitchenettes and private balconies overlooking the lake
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Private beach, indoor pool and fitness center
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
Rooms

Mackinaw Beach and Bay provides nonsmoking two-room suites, all with private balconies overlooking Lakes Huron and Michigan. Each suite also includes a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, wet bar and coffee/tea maker. High-speed Internet access is complimentary and two flat-screen televisions are standard. The suites can sleep six to eight people. Adjoining rooms are available. Cribs are available upon request.

Features

Mackinaw Beach and Bay hotel guests enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning, including fresh baked muffins and cinnamon rolls, make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits, fresh juices and more.

 

Enjoy downtime at the indoor pool or a soak in the hot tub. Too much Mackinac Island fudge or caramel corn? Burn calories at the on-site fitness room. A kid-friendly arcade/game room is available. The hotel offers discounted tickets to Thunder Falls Family Waterpark.  

Transportation
  • Ferry to Mackinac Island (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Pellston Regional Airport (15 mi/24 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (297 mi/478 km)
Attractions
  • Thunder Falls Family Water Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Colonial Michilimackinac (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Historic Mill Creek State Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • St. Ignace, MI (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Mackinac Island (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Wilderness State Park (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Harbor Springs, MI (36.2 mi/58.2 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms available
  • Free wireless Internet access

Hotel Map

45.7684 -84.7256
Area served
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan, Gaylord, Sault Sainte Marie
Nearby airports
Emmet County, (PLN), 18.40, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Ideally located just minutes from romantic Mackinac Island and

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mackinaw Beach and Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Mackinaw Beach and Bay Rooms

One King Bed and One Queen Bed C
Description not provided
King Bed Courtside with Balcony
Description not provided
One King and One Queen Lakefront
Description not provided
One King Bed Lakefront
Description not provided
One King and One Queen Lakefont
Description not provided
One King and One Queen with Slee
Description not provided
One King and Two Queens with Sle
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Indoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rbkids
Business
Holt, MI
May 21, 2013

Hidden jewel

We stayed just one night, room was huge, door out to the beach will be great when the weather is better. Great staff, helpful with dinner plans. A little out of the busy part of town, but quiet all night long. Buffet breakfast was great to. Rates will be higher in season, but would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Vacation Mom
Business
Niles, MI
Jul 12, 2012

Great Family Fun

Our stay at the Mackinaw Beach and Bay was enjoyable. The staff was friendly and always helpful. The rooms were nice and we liked how the area was divided with plenty of sleeping space. I was however disappointed with a few things. Breakfast was pretty good but get there early if you want it fresh. Breakfast hours are from 6:30 to 9:30. It would have been nice to have at least till 10:00 am. We were on vacation and would have liked a little more time. I was told we would have a view of the bridge from our balcony, which I really wanted. There were two trees blocking that view (disappointed). Also we were disappointed with the beachfront. We had small children so we had to go somewhere else for a beach day. The beachfront is not sandy and I would recommend bringing some type of water shoes because it is very rocky. We were so busy sightseeing that we only spent one day on the beachfront but If I were to stay longer I would take the hotel beachfront more into consideration. There are other hotels nearby who have made their beachfront's sandy so I would think its something they all could do.If I were the owner I would consider it. It makes a big difference. Overall our stay was enjoyable and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mama Mia's Pizza. Great Pizza and they have a Mackinac Bridge Museum upstairs which is really interesting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
elizabeth smith
Business
Bloomfield Hills
Jul 9, 2012

looks are deceiving

This hotel looks like it has it all until you check in. Staff members are really rude and disrespectful. there web page only shows you there good review that are 2 years old. There rooms smell really bad and there beaches smell like wet dogs,not to mention how dirty there lawn is with geese droppings everywhere. Breakfast is nothing special really cheap. lobby is always out of coffee and tea. Dont be fooled like I was. Dont bother to ask for towels for the pool or beach because there response will be sorry were all out! Never again will i ever go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Truck Parade Fan
Business
Mayville, MI 48744, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Great stay but get breakfast early

Wornderful place to stay and in a good location but the breakfast ends at 9:30 so you have to get up earlier than planned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, Mi
Aug 5, 2011

Great Stay

We've stayed in this location before, but before the old was demolished and this great new 'all suites' hotel was built. We stayed 2 nights and used the indoor pool both nights as well as enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet both mornings. The hotel is a relatively short walk to two of the boat lines to Mackinaw Island and one could walk to downtown from there, about 1/2 mile or so. Handicap accessable rooms are available, in fact we were given one by mistake but were moved to another room better suited to our needs without any problem. We will definately stay there again when we are in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has discount tickets for Star boat lines to the Island (why else are you in Mackinaw City) and is only about 1/4 mile walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muscatine, IA
Jul 12, 2011

Nice, Clean, Safe and Comfy

After spending a long weekend in Mackinaw City with my wife the year before - we brought our two kids with us for a family vacation. The Hotel room was flawless. The room gave us direct and almost private access to the Beach. Travel suggestion for those with kids -> bring water shoes/aqua socks, most beaches are rocky (all beaches on the island are). Tip #2 if you drive a bit to the West there are sandy beaches but you have to search for them. My kids were young and after a three day stay we ran out of things to do with them. Any more and we'd have been pressing our luck. Overall we had a great time, and the Hotel was part of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
reknez
Business
lansing mi
Oct 24, 2010

off season surprise

This hotel was new with outsanding off season rates. Staff were very good and the rooms were wonderful with a waterfront view of the moon rise and the sunrise . Great bang for your buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
green bay
Oct 24, 2010

excellent accomadations!!

Being quite new, the hotel is CLEAN, CLEAN CLEAN!! The rooms are wonderful, the view is fantastic!! Very quiet. By far the best place we ever stayed in at Mackinaw or St. Ignace, for that matter. The staff was exceptionally nice, the cleaning lady even left us a note in case we wanted an extra blanket! I've got a bad back and the mattress was firm, no sagging in the middle. Pillows weren't pancakes. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, Mi
Oct 18, 2010

Very Nice

This is our second time staying here and it was just as good if not better than the first. The room was cleaned everyday the staff at the desk were very helpful. It is just over all a very nice place to stay and the view is awesome. We will definatly being staying there again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south bend, In
Oct 4, 2010

Family get away to Mackinaw

Excellent! We had a great time. Hotel was located on the beach. Great breakfast bar. The location was only a few blocks from down town. The view from the balcony was wonderful, we could see the Island! RJ and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The island of Mackinac is great! A lot of things to see and do. Biking, carriage rides, butterfly house, the fort, and many wonderful places to shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top