$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 15, 2015 Check-out: Mar 16, 2015

Holiday Inn Express MACKINAW CITY

3 stars
View map of 364 Louvigny Drive, Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
36 reviews
Business

Hotel met my expectations. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, and reasonable prive. See full review

  • Jienelle A.
  • Feb 4, 2015
affordable stay in Mackinac City

hotel was really nice for the price. room was clean and pleasant. See full review

  • katietraveler
  • Jan 12, 2015
Mackinaw City Hotel's Guests Love Scenery, Attractions & Evening Entertainment Tucked away on the northern edge of Michigan's Lower Peninsula, the Holiday Inn Express® Mackinaw City hotel is your home away from home while visiting Mackinac Island and the attractions that northern Michigan has to offer the hotel's guests. In Mackinaw City, Michigan, business travelers are sure to appreciate the scenic views on their way to their business destinations. The hotel's setting near the Mighty Mackinac Bridge allows guests to easily reach Michigan's Upper Peninsula in a matter of minutes. The hotel is located right off of I-75 at the closest exit to the bridge, making for an easy commute. This hotel is just blocks from downtown Mackinaw City. The hotel's surroundings afford leisure travelers a number of entertainment options. During the winter season, guests enjoy some of the best snowmobiling, skiing and snowshoeing trails in the country. Just blocks away, Mackinaw Crossings offers terrific choices for shopping, dining and entertainment. A few blocks from the Straits, guests can easily enjoy a breathtaking sunset over the water. The Holiday Inn Express® Mackinaw City hotel provides you with great amenities. A relaxing indoor pool and whirlpool help you unwind during your stay. An on-site Business Center and Fitness Center are provided for your convenience. Visit historic Mackinaw City and experience the beauty for yourself.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express MACKINAW CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express MACKINAW CITY

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express MACKINAW CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jim the marine
Business
Mackinaw city, MI
Sep 5, 2012

labor day weekend

Room musty smelling, balcony filthy with piles of dead bugs, filthy windows, 2 long black hairs in the bed. Ceiling looked like it would fall in at any minute with huge crack across, table but only 1 chair for 4 people. Asked for a bar of fresh soap the next day because we were left with the used bars, told they only had 1 bar of soap left, asked for clean sheets, same 2 hairs still there that night. Would never stay there again and feel we threw our money away on a filty pit of a room. Needs huge amount of updating and cleaning. Paid almost $600 for the 2 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay here, save your money and try another place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MACKINAW CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jim the marine
Business
Mackinaw city, MI
Sep 4, 2012

Hotel of Filth

Checked in, first thing we noticed was the ceiling looked like it could fall, big crack all the way across and drooping. Opened the door to the "private balcony" and there was a 6" deep pile of dead flies and other bugs. The balcony was filthy, could not sit on the 2 plastic chairs. Pulled down the bed covers, found 2 long black hairs on the sheets. Too tired to do anything, slept on top of the sheets. Next day left note for maid to change sheets, got back and same sheets still there, she also left used bars of soap and shampoo, not giving us fresh. Went to lobby to get soap and was told they only had one bar left. For spending almost $600.00 for 2 nights we are outraged and will never stay at a Holiday Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MACKINAW CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunny I
Business
USA
Apr 20, 2014

Never again Holiday Inn

I always stay at Holiday Inn if there is one around in a city and this has been the worst ever mainly due to the bed and the night time staff. Location was fine and thankfully heater was working. After. 500 mile drive this was the last thing expected when you rely on the quality Holiday Inn always deliver. Pay for Holiday Inn and get the cheap motel bed - last thing wanted on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MACKINAW CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveler1982
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 26, 2011

Stay elsewhere!

I'm not sure what it is about the hotels in Mackinac City but all look nice on the outside and are in the inside. This hotel was very musty / muggy smelling and needs a face lift for sure...would not stay here again and the front desk staff was less than friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MACKINAW CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, MI
Oct 15, 2009

Poor Customer Service

We got to the hotel around 3:30 and checked in. We took all of our luggage up to the room we were given on the 3rd floor. The door was still open and the shower curtain was on the floor...obviously they were not done cleaning. So, I went back downstairs to see if we could get one that was ready while my boyfriend stayed upstairs with all of our luggage that we already dragged up there. The lady at the desk said they didn't have any other rooms clean at the moment and that it may be about 15 minutes. Meanwhile the lobby was beginning to fill up with many other people waiting to check into their room. Certain staff members were very rude and condescending. We never got into a room until 4:45 even though check-in was guaranteed at 4PM. Plus, since we had taken all of our luggage upstairs, we waited at the hotel. They could have offered to check our luggage so we could leave and get something to eat. This hotel is not a typical Holiday Inn Express. The rooms have not been updated. The beds were sagging and very uncomfortable. The only thing that was decent was the breakfast. I would not stay there again unless they do some major upgrades and hire new staff. Don't be fooled by any of the pictures or lured in by any great deals online. Definitely not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MACKINAW CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jul 5, 2011

Stay Someplace Else... Save Your $

It took about 15-20 minutes of standing in line before we were checked in. However, it did not bother us because my husband and I are not complainers. We know they are busy and not big deal… But I wish we would have left then… We did not have a good experience at this Holiday Inn. Whenever possible we stay at Holiday Inn's because most of them seem pretty good. This one WAS NOT. We stopped at this hotel over night on our way to our family cabin in the UP. My husband needed to have access to the internet to get some work done. The internet connection BARELY reached the 3rd floor. So he thought no big deal and went to the lobby. It still would not work… when he mentioned it to the front desk they responded, "Yeah I have no idea. I will have someone reset it." 3 hours later it still was not working. We had to cut our vacation short because of this. We stayed in a Queen Jacuzzi room, which on the surface looked great. But it was old and dirty. Also the room was near the elevator and you could hear the dinging all night long. Even from the other floors. Needless to say, we didn't get much sleep. Also, the views from the hotel were not good. It is worth spending a little more to stay someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MACKINAW CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel man2
Business
Michigan, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Our stay

Our stay was good and the staff was great! BUT! The TV in the rooms sucks! Old and grainy picture tube! Way past due for LCD or LED flat screen upgrade!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Chippewa Room, the lounge has a great menu at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MACKINAW CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom teen team
Business
Utah
Jul 19, 2012

Hotel could use some work

Room smelled of smoke so had to relocate. Thin walls kept us awake. Away from other hotels near water and main street so had to drive. OK breakfast, but not worth the room price. Would not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MACKINAW CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Weary Traveler2
Business
St. Cloud, Minnesota
Sep 12, 2012

Disappointed

no big problems. only there for a very short time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MACKINAW CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Oct 12, 2009

[...]

The Hotel is decent and is what we would expect from a 2 star. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top