Hamilton Inn Select

2 stars
View map of 701 S Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hamilton Inn Select

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zeeland, MI
Sep 3, 2008

Very Friendly

The staff answer all are questions and were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The fudge is a must have.

Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lynn Lake, MB
Sep 5, 2007

Beautiful view and clean, nice pool

We enjoyed our stay here alot. The room was very clean and the beds quite comfortable. Of course our children enjoyed the pool the most. The ladies who kept our room up were so pleasant and willing to help with anything. We had a wonderful view and access to Lake Michigan. It was right next to the Star Line Ferry that takes us to Mackinac Island. The only thing that really disappointed me was the breakfast. I thought it could have varied a little and been more kid friendly. A fruit topping for the waffles with whipped cream would have been nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping and good restaurants. There is also a nice minature golf and the A Maze of Mirrors gave the children and I a good Laugh. Lots of Fudge and sweet treats. Must check out the Forts and Mackinac Island was the best!!!!

Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 21, 2007

SUPER PLACE WITH A BEACH

Of course you don't know what to expect for your first time and never seeing the hotel inperson. But let me tell all of you, I think we picked a GREAT PLACE to stay. Highly recommended ! ! !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right down the street is Mackinaw Crossings with every type of shopping you can imagine.

Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 11, 2007

Very Nice!

Everything went really well. We were even checking in late and called ahead and it was not a problem. They were all great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Food, shopping, and weather was GREAT!

Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 3, 2007

Nice hotel

The Hamilton Inn was a very nice clean hotel. It was walking distance for shopping, dining, entertainment, and the ferry is right in the hotel's parking lot. The free waterpark was right across the street which made things easy w/the children. The beach and pool were very nice and clean. They probably could use a few more chairs on the beach. Really the only thing is the workout room wasn't what I expected. It was a very small room with only 4 machines. The free breakfast every morning was wonderful, more than I expected. Overall, we were very happy with this hotel. We were only suppose to be there for 2 nights and ended up booking another night. Were looking to go again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the ferry, its in the hotel's parking lot and its the fastest one. We chose to walk downtown a few times because parking is sometimes hard to find.

Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 1, 2007

Excellent Location and Accomodations!

The Hamilton Inn in Mackinaw City is a great place to stay for the value. It is located right by the Docks to Mackinaw Island and within walking distance of all the tourist shops and restaurants in the area. The room had a great view of the water and the Island. A great place to stay for both types of stays: Family with the kids or just a get-away with the wife. The Hotel had free access to a water park across the street and it's own pool at the hotel. You don't even have to find breakfast in the morning because it is provided by the hotel. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel was next to the Boat Ferrys to the Island and the restaurant across the street had a great seafood menu! Less than 2 blocks away was the Tourist Shops with anything you could think of getting for a souviner...t-shirts, jewelry, candy and Island Fudge..Yum!

Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 20, 2007

Bring the Family

The Hamilton Inn is within walking distance from many family oriented activities and summer entertainment in Mackinaw City. The Inn is located adjacent to the Mackinaw Island ferry docks. Inside the room, we found an ample size television and a refridgerator. The walkout patio overlooked the Straits of Mackinaw and was comfortable for reading or just relaxing. We also had plenty of storage for both hanging and folded clothing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ferry docks are next door and an indoor water play area for kids is across the street.

Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
May 19, 2007

Nice room for the price

The Hamilton Inn Select was a comfortable hotel, the room was nice and clean. We liked the fact that it had a very clean bathroom, good beds and a small refigerator in the room.The hotel provides a tasty hot brekfast every morning. The location was very good, very close to the ferry dock for Mackinack Island. The only annoyance was the condescending attitude of one front desk clerk. We had a very good stay. We would probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several good restaurants in the area. We really liked The Admiral's Table; they have very good fried white fish, smoked white fish spread and the best clam chowder. There is a lot of good fudge in the area and very good quality smoked white fish for sale.

Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 6, 2007

Not a must stay place

The Hamilton Inn Select was much like any other hotel/motel! The hotel was a place to stay nothing to write home about! The breakfast was food for the tummy and that's about all. Expensses were spared on the sausage and the fruit was not a good grade. The eating facility was not clean as I would expect it to be. Construction material was leaning against one wall. Not conducive to eating pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty nearby!

Back to menu Return to top