Hamilton Inn Select

2 stars
701 S Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
39 reviews
My family loved this hotel

The staff was very friendly - when we arrived, my daughter (age 9) asked the clerk if we could have... See full review

  • Justin & Taylor's Mom
  • Dec 23, 2009
Great Hotel

Very clean and the staff was great. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 1, 2009
All the comforts of home at Mackinaw City beachfront hotel

The Hamilton Inn Select in Mackinaw City is conveniently located next to the Star Line Mackinac Island Ferry and boasts a private beach. Hotel amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast, free high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool and whirlpool. A new business center is on-site, as well as a guest laundry facility. All guest rooms include a refrigerator and many provide a balcony.

Highlights
  • Lakefront hotel with private beach
  • Complimentary continental breakfast buffet
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness room, and tanning booth
  • Adjacent to Mackinac Island ferries
Rooms

The Hamilton Inn Select provides guests with one king or two queen sized beds. Lakefront rooms include private balconies overlooking Lake Huron. Two bedroom/two bath suites are available, as are rooms with whirlpool baths. Standard room amenities include refrigerators, hair-dryers, iron/ironing boards, coffee-makers and televisions with premium channels. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is provided.

Features

Hamilton Inn Select offers guests a private beach, and a great location adjacent to the Mackinac Island ferries. Guests enjoy the island, a National Historic Landmark, for its horse-drawn carriages, fudge shops and Old World charm.

 

The AAA Three Diamond rated Hamilton Inn Select offers a free hot breakfast bar, and a large exercise room with a sun tanning booth. An indoor swimming pool is available. Families looking for a great getaway with the kids: Thunder Falls Family Water Park is less than a mile from the hotel. Kids of all ages love the 12 water slides, a wave pool, a lazy river and multiple play areas.

Transportation
  • Ferry to Mackinac Island (Adjacent)
  • Pellston Regional Airport (15 mi/24 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (297 mi/478 km)

Attractions
  • Thunder Falls Family Water Park (0.6 mi/km)
  • Colonial Michilimackinac (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Historic Mill Creek State Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • St. Ignace, MI (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Mackinac Island (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Wilderness State Park (12 mi/19.3 km)

Business
  • Business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Free local calls

Hotel Map

45.7706 -84.7272
Nearby airports
Airport Information Not available;
Area description
Bay, On the Bay

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hamilton Inn Select also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hamilton Inn Select Rooms

King Jacuzzi Court
1 King bed with in-room Jacuzzi Courtside The Hamilton Inn Select is eloquently decorated in 2nd Empire Victorian style. These courtside rooms are a equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, data ports, free
King Jacuzzi Lake
King bed, Jacuzzi in room, lakefront Private balcony The Hamilton Inn Select is eloquently decorated in 2nd Empire Victorian style. The lake front rooms are designed with private balconies to over look the sandy beach. They also have a beautiful view of
2 Queenbed Courtside
2 Queenbed Courtside with free hot breakfast The Hamilton Inn Select is eloquently decorated in 2nd Empire Victorian style. Treat yourself to direct access to 1200 feet of private sandy beach. There is easy access to the indoor pool and whirlpool. Cou
2 Queenbed Lakefront
2 Queen beds with private balcony Lake front The Hamilton Inn Select is eloquently decorated in 2nd Empire Victorian style. The lake front rooms are designed with private balconies to over look the sandy beach. They also have a beautiful view of Mackina
3 Queens Lakefront
2 Queenbeds 1 Queen Sleeper Lakefront Private Balcony The Hamilton Inn Select is eloquently decorated in 2nd Empire Victorian style. These lakefront rooms are 50 percent larger than standard rooms and are equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffeemak
2 Room Suite
4 Queen-beds, 2 baths, 2 TV, 2 refrigerators Courtside The Hamilton Inn Select is eloquently decorated in 2nd Empire Victorian style. Treat yourself to direct access to 1200 feet of private sandy beach. There is easy access to the indoor pool and whirlp

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Game room
Jogging track
Solarium
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Miniature golf
Water skiing
Picnic area/tables
Wind surfing
Scuba diving
Cross country skiing
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Theater desk
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
Conference suite
Computer rental
Transportation
FREE transportation
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Over sized rooms
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Baby listening device
Bidet
Wet bar

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
Lighthouse Restaurant and Lounge, open 4pm midnight, casual dress code, fine dining. Located directly across the street from the Hamilton. Dixie Saloon, open 11am 2am, casual dress code, family dining. Located .25 miles north of the Hamilton, fam

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Hamilton Inn Select

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R4
Fremont, MI
Sep 21, 2009

Great price!, Great location!

Perfect location next to the Star Ferry line and close enough to walk downtown. Good breakfast buffet. Right on the beach! They let us upgrade our rooms for an additional small fee. (We had 3 of them) Worked out great. Staff was very friendly. Our housekeeper was awesome! Our room was a MESS and we came back to order. She made cute towel animals and left them in our baby's crib! One room had a little bit of a musty smell by the slider. (Someone must have left it open while it rained?)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
valparaiso,in
Sep 14, 2009

ideal location

great location & relaxing.much to see & do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mount Pleasant,MI
Sep 6, 2009

Great Stay

It was very nice. We had a hotel right on the beach we could almost jump in the water from our room the rooms are so close to the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The dinning is very expensive but there is a very nice dinner just on the other side of I-75 next to the bridge. The name was Darrows and it was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Aug 5, 2009

I would definitely stay here again

The location was pretty good. The room was clean and pretty up to date in terms of style and decor. The staff was friendly genuine (especially the woman with the Jamaican accent). The free breakfasts were just right. Biscuits and gravy, cold cereal, waffles, fruit, bagels and other choices. We didn't spend too much time in the room - that would be silly because there is a lot of shopping and site seeing to be had. A three day stay is about perfect. Bring comfortable walking shoes because good parking is hard to come by and you'll just end up walk far away from your car anyway. I am not picky or demanding and I don't expect a bunch of free stuff from a hotel. I rate this place a 4 star because it was clean, was located in a nice spot and I felt safe here. I didn't swim in their pool or Jacuzzi and I didn't need to exercise because I had plenty of activity to keep me "fit".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Scalawags had good fish and shrimp, medium pricing. All of the fudge stores have good fudge, you almost can't go wrong. If had it to do again I would have brought my own bike to take to Mackinac Island - they charge you 8 bucks to ferry you bike and it will save you about 20 to 25 per person to do that because bikes cost 5 to 8 bucks per hour. I highly recommend a 18 or 21 speed because of the hills. Sarducci's Italian food on the island was pretty inexpensive and had an awesome sandwich. The Island was BEAUTIFUL. Makes you want to move there...OHH yeah - important lesson - going over Mackinaw bridge will cost you 3 bucks each way, kind a made me mad since it's been open since the 50's and I'm sure it's paid for, ridiculous. And BTW - there's no such thing as a good mexican restaurant in Michigan, what is up with that?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Jun 28, 2009

Magnificant Mackinaw

As always Mackinaw City did not dissapoint. From the wonderful accomodations at the Hamilton Inn, to the historic sites like the recently decommissioned Coast Guard Cutter "Mackinaw", to the everfriendly international staff all over town. Mackinaw City is the perfect place to unwind, and enjoy the best that Michigan has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mackinaw City is a trinket and tee shirt shoppers dream come true.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
troy, mi
Jun 1, 2009

Hamilton Inn Mackinaw City

The hotel was very nice and located adjacent to the ferry docks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yooper girl!
Marquette MI
May 4, 2009

Little disapointed

We have stayed here several times this time was alittle disappointing. Hopefully they read there comment cards and improve, But its still a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice Local Pub with a discount to!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houghton, Michigan
Apr 24, 2009

Poor service, dirty sheets

Unfortunately our stay wasn't very pleasant. The sheets on the pull out had not been changed from the previous guest. The registration staff was not very friendly and made me feel like I was an imposition - just wanted to get me registered and on my way. On checkout, the staff (3) were gossiping(negatively)about the management staff while I was in the checkout process - just going through the checkout motions with me while carrying on a very unprofessional conversation with co-workers. I work in a service industry and am very sensitized to customer service and this was NOT!! I wanted to ask for a discount when I checked out but didn't get the feeling that anyone would care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Howell
Nov 15, 2008

A hotel for both business and pleasure

Nice pool and hot tub, clean,comfortable, larger than average rooms in a great location right on the beach right next to the ferries to the island and also within walking distance to Macinaw Crossings shopping and restaurants. Staff is pleasant,helpful and friendly. Willing to stop and give directions or info with a smile even if they are busy. The hot breakfast is outstanding and is served in an attractive room on the third floor with lots of windows. They have a waffle bar, scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy as well as cereal, toast, bagels, donuts and fruit. The room doubles as a business meeting room and it is large enough to accommodate a large group easily. The room was clean and hair dryer, iron, coffee maker and higher end soap and shampoo were provided. The bed was comfortable with a firm mattress and great pillows. Everything was fresh smelling but not perfumed and in good repair. The heater in the room adjusted well and did not bake or freeze and was quiet. I liked that they allowed dogs as I usually travel with one. A designated dog potty area would have been nice but we made do with a fire hydrant and our own plastic bag. This is a great place to stay. At check in they upgraded us to a lake view room at no extra cost just because it was available. I would definitely return here and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Unique shops on Main street and at Macinaw Crossings. For good bargains visit between Labor day and Oct. 15th. After October 30th most stores and resturants are closed for the season but the ones open are very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 18, 2008

ok

When we arrived at about 4:45 PM the room they assigned us was not cleaned yet, the cleaner came from the next room and got help because the front desk was having us wait for our room instead of assigning another. We brought our Wire Fox Terrier since the Hamilton was one of the hotels that allowed pets and at checkout found a sign in the lobby that said NO PETS. When I questioned them, they said they recently changed the policy. When we checked in, they knew we had a dog. We asked if there was a deposit. The only reason we chose that hotel was because of their pet policy. We would not go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Right on the beach and right next door to a ferry to the Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search