Hamilton Inn Select

2 stars
701 S Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
39 reviews
My family loved this hotel

The staff was very friendly - when we arrived, my daughter (age 9) asked the clerk if we could have... See full review

  • Justin & Taylor's Mom
  • Dec 23, 2009
Great Hotel

Very clean and the staff was great. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 1, 2009
All the comforts of home at Mackinaw City beachfront hotel

The Hamilton Inn Select in Mackinaw City is conveniently located next to the Star Line Mackinac Island Ferry and boasts a private beach. Hotel amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast, free high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool and whirlpool. A new business center is on-site, as well as a guest laundry facility. All guest rooms include a refrigerator and many provide a balcony.

Highlights
  • Lakefront hotel with private beach
  • Complimentary continental breakfast buffet
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness room, and tanning booth
  • Adjacent to Mackinac Island ferries
Rooms

The Hamilton Inn Select provides guests with one king or two queen sized beds. Lakefront rooms include private balconies overlooking Lake Huron. Two bedroom/two bath suites are available, as are rooms with whirlpool baths. Standard room amenities include refrigerators, hair-dryers, iron/ironing boards, coffee-makers and televisions with premium channels. Complimentary high-speed Internet access is provided.

Features

Hamilton Inn Select offers guests a private beach, and a great location adjacent to the Mackinac Island ferries. Guests enjoy the island, a National Historic Landmark, for its horse-drawn carriages, fudge shops and Old World charm.

 

The AAA Three Diamond rated Hamilton Inn Select offers a free hot breakfast bar, and a large exercise room with a sun tanning booth. An indoor swimming pool is available. Families looking for a great getaway with the kids: Thunder Falls Family Water Park is less than a mile from the hotel. Kids of all ages love the 12 water slides, a wave pool, a lazy river and multiple play areas.

Transportation
  • Ferry to Mackinac Island (Adjacent)
  • Pellston Regional Airport (15 mi/24 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (297 mi/478 km)

Attractions
  • Thunder Falls Family Water Park (0.6 mi/km)
  • Colonial Michilimackinac (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Historic Mill Creek State Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • St. Ignace, MI (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Mackinac Island (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Wilderness State Park (12 mi/19.3 km)

Business
  • Business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Free local calls

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hamilton Inn Select also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hamilton Inn Select Rooms

King Jacuzzi Court
1 King bed with in-room Jacuzzi Courtside The Hamilton Inn Select is eloquently decorated in 2nd Empire Victorian style. These courtside rooms are a equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, data ports, free
King Jacuzzi Lake
King bed, Jacuzzi in room, lakefront Private balcony The Hamilton Inn Select is eloquently decorated in 2nd Empire Victorian style. The lake front rooms are designed with private balconies to over look the sandy beach. They also have a beautiful view of
2 Queenbed Courtside
2 Queenbed Courtside with free hot breakfast The Hamilton Inn Select is eloquently decorated in 2nd Empire Victorian style. Treat yourself to direct access to 1200 feet of private sandy beach. There is easy access to the indoor pool and whirlpool. Cou
2 Queenbed Lakefront
2 Queen beds with private balcony Lake front The Hamilton Inn Select is eloquently decorated in 2nd Empire Victorian style. The lake front rooms are designed with private balconies to over look the sandy beach. They also have a beautiful view of Mackina
3 Queens Lakefront
2 Queenbeds 1 Queen Sleeper Lakefront Private Balcony The Hamilton Inn Select is eloquently decorated in 2nd Empire Victorian style. These lakefront rooms are 50 percent larger than standard rooms and are equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffeemak
2 Room Suite
4 Queen-beds, 2 baths, 2 TV, 2 refrigerators Courtside The Hamilton Inn Select is eloquently decorated in 2nd Empire Victorian style. Treat yourself to direct access to 1200 feet of private sandy beach. There is easy access to the indoor pool and whirlp

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Game room
Jogging track
Solarium
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Miniature golf
Water skiing
Picnic area/tables
Wind surfing
Scuba diving
Cross country skiing
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Theater desk
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
Conference suite
Computer rental
Transportation
FREE transportation
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Over sized rooms
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Baby listening device
Bidet
Wet bar

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
Lighthouse Restaurant and Lounge, open 4pm midnight, casual dress code, fine dining. Located directly across the street from the Hamilton. Dixie Saloon, open 11am 2am, casual dress code, family dining. Located .25 miles north of the Hamilton, fam

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Hamilton Inn Select

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aya M
Business
Hanover MI
May 30, 2013

Great Location on the beach

The check-in clerk questioned my reservation when I tried to checkin on May 23rd. She said she did not have any room registered under my name. I told her I booked on line and she hesitantly started looking again. I gave her my printed "hotel confirmation" from your website and she finally gave us our room. She was not helpful or cordial at all. Definitely not a good impression from a receptionist, who is supposed to be the first person you come in contact with at a business. The remainder of our stay was much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Richdot
Business
Shorewood, Illinois
Sep 4, 2012

How do they stay in business

Made reservations for 1 night and asked for a e-mail confirmation. After 2 weeks I call to ask about confirmation and they had no record of us. Even our confirmation number was not in the system. They reregistered us. A week before our reservation we received two confirmations in the mail, both for different nights. Called and was told it's OK all set. At 7:30 while in our room we got a call on the cell phone confirming our room for the next night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KatieBlue
Business
Rochester, MI, USA
Oct 25, 2011

False Advertising & BEDBUGS

Don’t fall for the bait and switch! BEDBUGS and False Advertising. All rooms do not have amenities listed (microwaves, jetted tubs, sound proof rooms) and when this was brought to the staffs attention, they just laughed at me. I’ve been to 46 states and every Canadian Province and have NEVER come across such rude staff. BEDBUGS! The hotel was very dismissive of our issue with BEDBUGS and refused to even look at the dead one we had as evidence. We had to spray down everything we own with spray, wash everything in hot-hot water so many of our clothes were ruined. Not to mention the psychological issues of worrying about bringing bugs back into my home. In addition to the rooms being misrepresented, rude staff and BEDBUGS, I also “no manager” on duty. When I asked how it was possible that there was no one in change, I was met with a blank stare. Upper management, 800 number and CEO have ignored attempts I have made to right the situation. I happen to live 5 minutes from “Home Office” and stopped by only to find it was some guys house. It’s a scam. Basically, I’m out 150 bucks for a room that was NOT what I paid for and I bed full of bugs. Thanks Hamilton Inn Select! I’ll never forget this birthday!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SweetPea53
Business
Michigan
Sep 8, 2011

Been to better places

They didn't open the pool and whirlpool until 11:00 AM and that is when you had to checkout. The breakfast was ok, but I have had much better at other places. We had a lot of problems with the key cards and had trouble getting into the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to town and the ferry's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jan 1, 2011

Great experience!

Very friendly staff, great hot breakfast, nice size rooms, very pleasantly surprised!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Audies, near bridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Oct 18, 2010

Convenient Location, good price

After some of the negative reviews we were a little worried about the hotel, however upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very clean, our room was ready when we got there, and we had no problems at check-in. The hotel staff was not overly friendly, but they were pleasant and answered any questions we had. The location of the hotel was very nice, very close to downtown, within walking distance. Overall, we would stay at the Hamilton Inn Select again if we were going to Mackinaw City. Our experience was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the Dixie Saloon... we waited over 20 minutes just for a waitress to greet us and take our drink orders. Once we got our food we were not very impressed for the money we paid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redford, MI
Oct 9, 2010

Sunrise View

The hotel staff were all very friendly. The complimentary breakfast was good and I especially liked our room which was right on Lake Huron. The sunrise was spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Dixie Saloon and Nona Lisa were both very good restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Phillips
Business
Burton, michigan
Jul 28, 2010

First time in Mackinaw, AWESOME!

We enjoyed the hotel alot, very friendly, very clean, only thing we didnt like was that the hotel restaurant/bar was across the street, and there was no room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

restaurants were kind of pricy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lotsaluck
Business
Michigan
Jul 17, 2010

Average at best

Highly over rated hotel in my opinion. For a newer hotel, it didnt look like it. Probably because of poor construction. For the price we paid, I am disappointed. Small room, breakfast not all that great, showerhead sounded like a turbine which woke up the baby anytime we took a shower at night. Take these reviews with a grain of salt because I read a lot of very good reviews about this hotel which is why we picked it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Lots to do within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hamilton Inn Select

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not for my family
Business
white lake, michigan
Jun 14, 2010

extremly disapointed

Slow check-in took 30.min .....Rude staff treat you like your stupid...keys didn't work, Didn't handle complaints professionaly,I told them we we unsatifyied an they just said sorry, most hotels comp ur room , which they should have done...I did not recieve my AAA discount! , and this hotel claims to be a 3 diamond AAA hotel , more like 3 cubic zircona ,,,,,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top