Clarion Hotel Beachfront

3 stars
905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
80 reviews
Lovely room, lovely view

It's a bit strange getting to 4th floor rooms, elevator then stairs, but lakeside view was worth... See full review

  • judyruby
  • Sep 11, 2014
Highly recommended!!!

Very kind staff! I like the room a lot! The design and the amenities made me feel like home! It's... See full review

  • Beibird
  • Oct 7, 2013
Family fun abounds at beachfront Mackinaw City hotel

The Clarion Hotel Beachfront in Mackinaw City is located on the shore of Lake Huron. Guests of all ages enjoy the hotel's private beach, sundeck, picnic area and playground. The hotel also offers an indoor swimming pool, spa tub and fitness room. In addition to a complimentary continental breakfast daily, the Clarion provides free coffee in the lobby 24 hours a day. All guest rooms include microwaves and refrigerators and select rooms include balconies and views of the lake.

Highlights
  • Lakefront hotel with private beach and central Mackinaw City location
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Complimentary hot breakfast
  • Lakefront rooms with balconies, whirlpool rooms and family suites available
  • During summer, a nightly laser show and free entertainment are offered downtown
Rooms

The four-story Clarion Beachfront hotel offers 103 non-smoking guest rooms, all with balconies. Guests may choose between two or three queen beds, or one king bed per room. Standard amenities include televisions with premium channels, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee/tea makers. Request a lakefront room for the best views.

Features

Clarion Hotel Beachfront guests enjoy the hotel's private beach, featuring a play tower and slide. A sundeck, picnic area and playground are available as well. Business guests take advantage of convenient amenities, including a public computer with Internet access and an on-site meeting room.

 

Located less than a mile from Clarion Hotel Beachfront is Colonial Michilimackinac, a late 18th-Century fort and fur trading village. This family-friendly destination offers interactive displays, and demonstrations such as open hearth cooking, Native American crafts, and cannon and rifle firings. A can't-miss attraction is the ferry to Mackinac Island, a beautiful resort where horse-drawn carriages, bicycles, and walking as the primary modes of transportation.

Transportation
  • Ferry to Mackinac Island (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Pellston Regional Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Chippewa County International Airport (42.3 mi/68.1 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Michilimackinac (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Thunder Falls Family Water Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Historic Mill Creek State Park (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • St. Ignace, MI (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Mackinac Island (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wilderness State Park (12 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting room available (fees apply)
  • Complimentary weekday newspaper

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Beachfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Play ground
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 80
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wam2949
Business
Bettendorf, IA
Oct 19, 2014

About What I Expected

You get what you pay for, and the rates for this place were pretty low even for off-season so I wasn't expecting a palace. I only wanted a place to spend one night, so the amenities weren't that important, nor was the location in Mackinaw City (good thing, as this was about a mile walk to the downtown area - in a cold rain, of course#. The room was very tired-looking #long summer maybe#, with peeling paper in the shower area and worn-looking molding. However, the place was very clean and neat, so apparently housekeeping does their job well #I did tip them#. Unfortunately, when I went to take a shower the next morning, the water was barely tepid; at the sink, I managed to get warm enough water to shave, but I wouldn't call it hot. I complained to the front desk, and the clerk said she would have someone look into it. There was no offer of credit or deduction in my bill. The free breakfast was the usual fare reminiscent of an army mess hall, made more so by being served up a flight of stairs in a cavernous room. As to my recommendation, if all you needed was a bed for the night, there was nothing wrong with this hotel #although I'd check the hot water first thing). Also, this might be a good deal if you were taking the kids to the beach for a couple days, but given the distances to restaurants, you might then have to drive to meals other than the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The local "Irish pub" proved a bit of a pretender. The food was good and reasonably priced for a resort area, but I have never heard of bangers and mash served with sauerkraut. Plus the "bangers" were bratwurst. I passed and had their Guiness pie, which was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beibird
Business
Detroit, MI
Oct 7, 2013

Highly recommended!!!

Very kind staff! I like the room a lot! The design and the amenities made me feel like home! It's not common that we had complimentary breakfast with hot eggs and sausages too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fudge1
Business
Northern Wisconsin
Sep 16, 2012

Girl's bike trip

Early check-in was great (2 hrs. early). Room typical, but a desk would have been nice. A cleaning towel had been left in the room which we quickly removed. No elevator for our section. We were able to get extra coffee packs with no problem. The hotel was close to the ferry we had reserved and desk staff was very helpful at providing info about Mackinaw City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Some trips on Arnold's Ferry Line pass under the Mackinac Bridge providing a unique and beautiful perspective.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy Biked it liked it
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 8, 2012

Great place on a great lake...and priced right!

Great front desk staff and very helpful. Room was beautiful with a nice big hot tub! Pool was clean and kept at just the perfect temperature. Would definately stay here again. They even gave us complimentary passes to 2 area water parks at nice hotels that were close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zach3123
Business
Michigan
Sep 29, 2011

Nice Weekend Getaway

The hotel had a good breakfast with a large breakfast room. The hotel room was clean and we had no complaints about it. It is at the end of the "main hotel strip" but that is still only less than a mile away from the shopping. I have two notables from our trip (both pizza related). 1. Nonna Lisa's wood fire baked pizza and Papa Zo's are the exact same place. 2. The city closes down Huron ave during their Annual Big Truck Parade which means no pizza delivery....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChevyJim
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Sep 5, 2010

My wife says im to tolerant.

checkin was late. service was "eh", and the beach was washed away. the much touted balcony view was a parking lot, from a 4ft x 4ft balcony. we did the 2 bedroom suite. which -for the most part- was well appointed. except for the Flourescent Bulbs that kept burning out, a bathroom fan that didnt work, and bats everywhere. It would have been nice to have a restuarant too. if you want to eat plan on walking 1/2 a mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suzze
Business
Westland. MI
Sep 22, 2009

Great hotel!!!

Lakefront room was spectacular. 2 queen beds and a pull-out couch was perfect for three friends traveling together. Hot breakfast was very nice, with eggs, sausage, waffles, even raisin toast! Fruit salad was rather weird, but, hey, you can't have everything! Right next to Arnold dock for shuttle to the island. Was fun to watch the shuttle come and go from our room. Everything was clean and well kept up. Could not connect to wi-fi from our room, but if I went out onto outdoor walkway with a chair from the balcony, it was great! LOL Lakefront rooms would not work for handicapped, as there are steps that cannot be avoided to get to those rooms. Building with breakfast room did have an elevator. Had a great stay and highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Had 2 wonderful meals at area restaurants. Darrows Family Restaurant had amazing whitefish. I had whitefish fingers. Came with wonderful fries (I usually don't eat the fries, as I am not a fry fan - I gobbled these up). Cole slaw was a choice of creamy or sweet/sour. I chose the vinegar based sweet/sour and it was the best cole slaw I have had in ages. Even on a Monday night the line was out the door but we were seated within 10 minutes. They make all their own pies, and although I'm not a pie fan and didn't have any, my friends were still talking about the pie the next day! There were probably 15 choices of homemade pies. Also ate at The Dixie Saloon. I had a salad with chicken, dried cherries, field greens, shredded parmesan that was to die for! So big I had the rest for lunch the next day. Friends had 1/2 chicken, which they liked a lot. I would recommend both restaurants, but if you only stay one night, go to Darrows. Not on the main drag, but using our GPS, it is really only 4-5 blocks off the main area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Canaveral, FL
Sep 12, 2009

Clarion Mackinaw City

Good location, nice pool, laundry facilities, and a good complimentary breakfast made it a good choice for us. The sunrise over Lake Huron, from the hotel's private beach, was just beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is next to the dock for one of the ferry services that go to Mackinac Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
shadyk
Business
Waskom, TX
Aug 1, 2009

Poor Public Relations!

Had to cancel and had very unpleasant conversation with manager regarding refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wlschi2
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jun 23, 2009

Clarion Hotel Beachfront

We arrived and the staff was friendly. The view was great and the room was large and comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Star Line ferry to the island. It is a really great experienc,the lines are shorter, they have internet packakges, and better overnight free parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top