$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Clarion Hotel Beachfront

3 stars
905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
99 reviews
Highly recommended!!!

Very kind staff! I like the room a lot! The design and the amenities made me feel like home! It's... See full review

  • Beibird
  • Oct 7, 2013
Family getaway for the day

A very nice hotel! Walking distance to almost everything. A very large breakfast room the food... See full review

  • Duck soup
  • Aug 15, 2013
Family fun abounds at beachfront Mackinaw City hotel

The Clarion Hotel Beachfront in Mackinaw City is located on the shore of Lake Huron. Guests of all ages enjoy the hotel's private beach, sundeck, picnic area and playground. The hotel also offers an indoor swimming pool, spa tub and fitness room. In addition to a complimentary continental breakfast daily, the Clarion provides free coffee in the lobby 24 hours a day. All guest rooms include microwaves and refrigerators and select rooms include balconies and views of the lake.

Highlights
  • Lakefront hotel with private beach and central Mackinaw City location
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Complimentary hot breakfast
  • Lakefront rooms with balconies, whirlpool rooms and family suites available
  • During summer, a nightly laser show and free entertainment are offered downtown
Rooms

The four-story Clarion Beachfront hotel offers 103 non-smoking guest rooms, all with balconies. Guests may choose between two or three queen beds, or one king bed per room. Standard amenities include televisions with premium channels, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee/tea makers. Request a lakefront room for the best views.

Features

Clarion Hotel Beachfront guests enjoy the hotel's private beach, featuring a play tower and slide. A sundeck, picnic area and playground are available as well. Business guests take advantage of convenient amenities, including a public computer with Internet access and an on-site meeting room.

 

Located less than a mile from Clarion Hotel Beachfront is Colonial Michilimackinac, a late 18th-Century fort and fur trading village. This family-friendly destination offers interactive displays, and demonstrations such as open hearth cooking, Native American crafts, and cannon and rifle firings. A can't-miss attraction is the ferry to Mackinac Island, a beautiful resort where horse-drawn carriages, bicycles, and walking as the primary modes of transportation.

Transportation
  • Ferry to Mackinac Island (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Pellston Regional Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Chippewa County International Airport (42.3 mi/68.1 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Michilimackinac (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Thunder Falls Family Water Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Historic Mill Creek State Park (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • St. Ignace, MI (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Mackinac Island (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wilderness State Park (12 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting room available (fees apply)
  • Complimentary weekday newspaper

Hotel Map

45.7725 -84.7268
Nearby airports
Pellston Reg. Arpt. of Emmet, (PLN), 20.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Mackinac Island

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Beachfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Play ground
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 99
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Freqman
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 6, 2014

Average at Best, Strange Decor, Room Issues

Stayed over the 4th of July in room 204 and was underwhelmed by this beach hotel. Arrived to find that the refrigerator in the room is nothing like the new ones in the pics, just a very small 80's style dorm refrigerator sitting on the floor with a microwave and serving tray precariously balanced on top. These two items shared an outlet with an equally old wall lamp and all three plugs kept falling out of the exposed adapter. The room was appointed with dark wood furniture that was nice, but not very functional. The wood furniture was heavily polished, leaving an oily residue on anything that touched it. The only drawers in the room were in an armoire. That means if you have more than one bag you had to keep everything on the floor or use the small table in the room. We found some stains and dirty spots in the bathroom, but the biggest issue was the heating/AC unit. The intake was noticeably dirty on the outside and I had to pull and clean the filter myself. This is not good for anyone with allergies as was the case with my party. Also there were often laundry bins and cleaning carts left in front of the rooms and stairwells. Especially bad when there's no elevator to your room level. Finally, for a beachfront hotel I found it odd that there were NO towel racks in the bathroom or sinkroom. Just one towel shelf and one hook in the bathroom. We were left hanging towels and swimsuits on the beautiful but overwrought pieces of furniture in the room. I would recommend that this hotel spend $20 on towel racks and a tub clothesline rather than the strange furniture choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CrocoDoc
Chicago
Oct 14, 2013

Average, Ordinary

This is an average hotel. Nothing special about it. The only reason for choosing this Hotel was two room suite. The suite is nice for the family if you are traveling with kids. The faucet's hot water handle came off, flooding the bath room. We shut it off from the shut off valve, and called maintenance. The maintenance guys spent three hours in our room at night, trying to fix it. The issue was eventually fixed, but caused a lot of inconvenoence. Free Breakfast was OK. I wish it would have been nicer, if we had more selections.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elven Good
Traverse City, MI
Oct 1, 2013

Great value, comfy beds, quiet stay

Great deal on two rooms (we are a family of 7) that were clean, quiet, and comfortable. Nice pool, decent breakfast. Just need to get rid of all of the plastic and styrofoam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The late explorer
Macomb, MI
Jul 9, 2013

Not disappointed

Hotel is worthy of booking. Good value, location. Nice breakfast. Comfort beds . Clean rooms. Modest looking hotel. The desk staff not what I expected. Overall I was happy for what I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brandy B's Mom
Lexington, KY
Jun 23, 2013

Great family experience

Stayed with 3 teenagers and really enjoyed the space we all had. Very easy to get to Mackinac Island with the complimentary shuttle and yet much cheaper than staying on the island! We will definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends. We were impressed that our stay even included waterpark passes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TStark
Illinois
Jun 10, 2013

Nice Location and Friendly Staff

Other than the annoying bugs along the lake in early June, we had a great vacation in Mackinaw City. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Friendly staff and decent breakfast. We did not benefit much from the lake view because of the cool temperature and annoying bugs around the lake in early June. Probably wouldn't bother getting a lake view again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Jack Pines Lumberjack Show is definitely worth the short drive. Great family entertainment.

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris from AP
Allen Park, MI
May 28, 2013

Great place to stay in Mackinaw City

The breakfast was better than average with make-own-waffle stations, cereal, juice, milk, coffee, scrambled eggs, sausage patties and biscuits & gravy. The only thing lacking was fresh fruit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short distance from ferry docks also very family friendly place

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DOCKJOHN
MICHIGAN
Oct 15, 2012

BREAKFAST

BEST I HAVE HAD IN ANY HOTEL HAD GREAT VIEW FROM DOWN STAIRS ROOM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amtramck
Detroit
Oct 3, 2012

Family getawy

Great location, price and amenities. Highly recommended for a good rest Very convenient. Staff was courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sparrowsluv
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 26, 2012

has a great time

The breakfast was wonderful. the jacuzzi tub was a relief after walking the island and getting wet on the ride back. We enjoyed going to the beach for taking pictures of the lake and islands. the room was just the right size and the a/c was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top