$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Clarion Hotel Beachfront

3 stars
View map of 905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
87 reviews
Lovely room, lovely view

It's a bit strange getting to 4th floor rooms, elevator then stairs, but lakeside view was worth... See full review

  • judyruby
  • Sep 11, 2014
excellent vacation hotel

This was a very good hotel it was on the edge of the main strip, but everything was still within... See full review

  • Kathy R
  • Jul 20, 2015

The Clarion Hotel Beachfront in Mackinaw City is located on the shore of Lake Huron. Guests of all ages enjoy the hotel's private beach, sundeck, picnic area and playground. The hotel also offers an indoor swimming pool, spa tub and fitness room. In addition to a complimentary continental breakfast daily, the Clarion provides free coffee in the lobby 24 hours a day. All guest rooms include microwaves and refrigerators and select rooms include balconies and views of the lake.

Rooms

The four-story Clarion Beachfront hotel offers 103 non-smoking guest rooms, all with balconies. Guests may choose between two or three queen beds, or one king bed per room. Standard amenities include televisions with premium channels, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee/tea makers. Request a lakefront room for the best views.

Property features

Clarion Hotel Beachfront guests enjoy the hotel's private beach, featuring a play tower and slide. A sundeck, picnic area and playground are available as well. Business guests take advantage of convenient amenities, including a public computer with Internet access and an on-site meeting room.

 

Located less than a mile from Clarion Hotel Beachfront is Colonial Michilimackinac, a late 18th-Century fort and fur trading village. This family-friendly destination offers interactive displays, and demonstrations such as open hearth cooking, Native American crafts, and cannon and rifle firings. A can't-miss attraction is the ferry to Mackinac Island, a beautiful resort where horse-drawn carriages, bicycles, and walking as the primary modes of transportation.

Highlights
  • Lakefront hotel with private beach and central Mackinaw City location
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Complimentary hot breakfast
  • Lakefront rooms with balconies, whirlpool rooms and family suites available
  • During summer, a nightly laser show and free entertainment are offered downtown
Nearby attractions
  • Colonial Michilimackinac (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Thunder Falls Family Water Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Historic Mill Creek State Park (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • St. Ignace, MI (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Mackinac Island (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wilderness State Park (12 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting room available (fees apply)
  • Complimentary weekday newspaper
Transportation
  • Ferry to Mackinac Island (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Pellston Regional Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Chippewa County International Airport (42.3 mi/68.1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Beachfront also booked these hotels.

★★
$54
2.6 / 5 14 reviews
★★★
$86
3.5 / 5 17 reviews
★★★
$116
3.5 / 5 35 reviews
★★★
$77
4.1 / 5 39 reviews
★★
$78
3.6 / 5 19 reviews
★★
$65
2.8 / 5 24 reviews
★★
$40
3.0 / 5 25 reviews
★★★
$79
3.5 / 5 20 reviews
★★
$59
2.8 / 5 15 reviews

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Play ground
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 87
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kenneth P.
Family
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Weekend trip

The hotel room was not very clean at all, towels looked dirty. The weekend we stayed was a period when some type of fly was hatching, leaving thousands around the lights outside the door to the rooms. The flies I understand but the cleanliness of the room and bathroom was just bad. I would not stay here again and question staying at any kind of Clarion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Douglas N.
Family
Williamston
Dec 20, 2014

Convenient Location

The hotel staff were polite. We were given a room under the stairwell leading to the breakfast room so there was early morning traffic over our heads. We had the feeling we were given this location because we had a prepaid (discount) reservation. Overall, the stay was adequate for the money we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmy da Greek
Family
Fort Wayne, IN
Nov 19, 2014

Off Island Fantasy

Hotel was a good place to stay in Mackinaw. Close to island ferry and nice sandy beach. Some spiders and insects on balcony but it was directly facing the lake - probably unavoidable. Overall good family place to stay with good hot breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeckler
Family
Chjcago, IL
Oct 14, 2014

Decent Value

The location is OK. You can walk to one of the ferry lines, but must drive to visit downtown. Breakfast was better than expected and a pleasant surprise. The pool was nothing special, basic rectangle. However our son enjoyed it. He was happy just to go swimming. The room was clean, but I didn't like the "motel" style entrance to our room. It opened directly to the parking lot. I'm not a fan if this setup. Yes, we would return and stay again if the price is right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ClifG
Family
Plano, TX
Sep 3, 2014

Good location, but just ordinary

The room was fine and the view was great. The rooms are old and in need of renovation, but they do keep them clean and well maintained. The pool is nothing to write home about, so if pools are important, I would look somewhere else. The access to the 4th floor lakeside rooms, was unnecessarily awkward. The staff was great. Not sure I would go back to this hotel, since I think we could have done better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Darrow restaurant is a must for food.

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abhigoel
Family
Detroit, Michigan
Sep 2, 2014

3 star hotel

Truly 3 star. Staff not curtious, Rooms are as per 3 star standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skimeister
Family
Providence, RI
Aug 21, 2014

Nice hotel with lake front beach.

This hotel was nice with great views of Lake Huron. The beach in front of the hotel had a nice sandy beach and the hotel provided chaise lounge chairs for free. Free wrist bands were provided to attend area in-door water parks, which were fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In-door water park with slides and lazy river was fun!

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BestValueSeeker
Family
Chicago
Aug 20, 2014

Mackinaw get away

Great room and fantastic location, right on the beach. Walkable distance to many ferry docks Overall the rooms are clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frankie's mom
Family
Webb City, Mo.
Aug 3, 2014

Okay hotel with some drawbacks

Our room was adequate and very quiet. The mattress was exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, pork sausage, biscuits and sausage gravy, fresh fruit, waffles and toast and bagels. It was exactly the same everyday. The front desk staff members were not especially helpful or friendly. The ice machine was difficult to find and was outside the pool building in an unlighted area. Finally, for those without a car, the hotel was quite a walk to town (for shops and trolley ).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Arnold ferry was located very close to the hotel. It was a relaxing ferry ride to Mackinac Island.

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Freqman
Family
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 6, 2014

Average at Best, Strange Decor, Room Issues

Stayed over the 4th of July in room 204 and was underwhelmed by this beach hotel. Arrived to find that the refrigerator in the room is nothing like the new ones in the pics, just a very small 80's style dorm refrigerator sitting on the floor with a microwave and serving tray precariously balanced on top. These two items shared an outlet with an equally old wall lamp and all three plugs kept falling out of the exposed adapter. The room was appointed with dark wood furniture that was nice, but not very functional. The wood furniture was heavily polished, leaving an oily residue on anything that touched it. The only drawers in the room were in an armoire. That means if you have more than one bag you had to keep everything on the floor or use the small table in the room. We found some stains and dirty spots in the bathroom, but the biggest issue was the heating/AC unit. The intake was noticeably dirty on the outside and I had to pull and clean the filter myself. This is not good for anyone with allergies as was the case with my party. Also there were often laundry bins and cleaning carts left in front of the rooms and stairwells. Especially bad when there's no elevator to your room level. Finally, for a beachfront hotel I found it odd that there were NO towel racks in the bathroom or sinkroom. Just one towel shelf and one hook in the bathroom. We were left hanging towels and swimsuits on the beautiful but overwrought pieces of furniture in the room. I would recommend that this hotel spend $20 on towel racks and a tub clothesline rather than the strange furniture choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top