$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Clarion Hotel Beachfront

3 stars
905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
74 reviews
Lovely room, lovely view

It's a bit strange getting to 4th floor rooms, elevator then stairs, but lakeside view was worth... See full review

  • judyruby
  • Sep 11, 2014
Highly recommended!!!

Very kind staff! I like the room a lot! The design and the amenities made me feel like home! It's... See full review

  • Beibird
  • Oct 7, 2013
Family fun abounds at beachfront Mackinaw City hotel

The Clarion Hotel Beachfront in Mackinaw City is located on the shore of Lake Huron. Guests of all ages enjoy the hotel's private beach, sundeck, picnic area and playground. The hotel also offers an indoor swimming pool, spa tub and fitness room. In addition to a complimentary continental breakfast daily, the Clarion provides free coffee in the lobby 24 hours a day. All guest rooms include microwaves and refrigerators and select rooms include balconies and views of the lake.

Highlights
  • Lakefront hotel with private beach and central Mackinaw City location
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Complimentary hot breakfast
  • Lakefront rooms with balconies, whirlpool rooms and family suites available
  • During summer, a nightly laser show and free entertainment are offered downtown
Rooms

The four-story Clarion Beachfront hotel offers 103 non-smoking guest rooms, all with balconies. Guests may choose between two or three queen beds, or one king bed per room. Standard amenities include televisions with premium channels, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee/tea makers. Request a lakefront room for the best views.

Features

Clarion Hotel Beachfront guests enjoy the hotel's private beach, featuring a play tower and slide. A sundeck, picnic area and playground are available as well. Business guests take advantage of convenient amenities, including a public computer with Internet access and an on-site meeting room.

 

Located less than a mile from Clarion Hotel Beachfront is Colonial Michilimackinac, a late 18th-Century fort and fur trading village. This family-friendly destination offers interactive displays, and demonstrations such as open hearth cooking, Native American crafts, and cannon and rifle firings. A can't-miss attraction is the ferry to Mackinac Island, a beautiful resort where horse-drawn carriages, bicycles, and walking as the primary modes of transportation.

Transportation
  • Ferry to Mackinac Island (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Pellston Regional Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Chippewa County International Airport (42.3 mi/68.1 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Michilimackinac (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Thunder Falls Family Water Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Historic Mill Creek State Park (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • St. Ignace, MI (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Mackinac Island (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wilderness State Park (12 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting room available (fees apply)
  • Complimentary weekday newspaper

Hotel Map

45.7725 -84.7268
Nearby airports
Pellston Reg. Arpt. of Emmet, (PLN), 20.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Mackinac Island

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Beachfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Play ground
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Family friendly

High point of the hotel were: 1) Breakfast: Very good variety of food with clean environment. 2) Hotel check-in staff was very friendly 3) Room: I liked tha fact that vanity area/bathroom/rooms were partitioned 4) Closer to dock and beach Low points were: 1) House keeping:Although room was kept clean, but common areas like walk-ways, stairs had litter. 2) Gym: Few equipments in Gym needed repairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short drive to many restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy Biked it liked it
Wisconsin
Jul 8, 2012

Great place on a great lake...and priced right!

Great front desk staff and very helpful. Room was beautiful with a nice big hot tub! Pool was clean and kept at just the perfect temperature. Would definately stay here again. They even gave us complimentary passes to 2 area water parks at nice hotels that were close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amtramck
Detroit
Oct 3, 2012

Family getawy

Great location, price and amenities. Highly recommended for a good rest Very convenient. Staff was courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duck soup
Michigan
Aug 15, 2013

Family getaway for the day

A very nice hotel! Walking distance to almost everything. A very large breakfast room the food lines move move smoothly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Show your room key and get a discount at most restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 8, 2009

great!

The staff was very helpful and allowed us to check in early. We were in a great location that allowed us to walk wherever we needed to go. We also got a discount at local restaurants. The room was very clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Sheplers is the cheapest ferry to the island. It is a longer walk from the hotel, but still a short distance. They also offer a mack and back pass that allows you to go back and forth as many times as you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suzze
Westland. MI
Sep 22, 2009

Great hotel!!!

Lakefront room was spectacular. 2 queen beds and a pull-out couch was perfect for three friends traveling together. Hot breakfast was very nice, with eggs, sausage, waffles, even raisin toast! Fruit salad was rather weird, but, hey, you can't have everything! Right next to Arnold dock for shuttle to the island. Was fun to watch the shuttle come and go from our room. Everything was clean and well kept up. Could not connect to wi-fi from our room, but if I went out onto outdoor walkway with a chair from the balcony, it was great! LOL Lakefront rooms would not work for handicapped, as there are steps that cannot be avoided to get to those rooms. Building with breakfast room did have an elevator. Had a great stay and highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Had 2 wonderful meals at area restaurants. Darrows Family Restaurant had amazing whitefish. I had whitefish fingers. Came with wonderful fries (I usually don't eat the fries, as I am not a fry fan - I gobbled these up). Cole slaw was a choice of creamy or sweet/sour. I chose the vinegar based sweet/sour and it was the best cole slaw I have had in ages. Even on a Monday night the line was out the door but we were seated within 10 minutes. They make all their own pies, and although I'm not a pie fan and didn't have any, my friends were still talking about the pie the next day! There were probably 15 choices of homemade pies. Also ate at The Dixie Saloon. I had a salad with chicken, dried cherries, field greens, shredded parmesan that was to die for! So big I had the rest for lunch the next day. Friends had 1/2 chicken, which they liked a lot. I would recommend both restaurants, but if you only stay one night, go to Darrows. Not on the main drag, but using our GPS, it is really only 4-5 blocks off the main area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sparrowsluv
Las Vegas, NV
Sep 26, 2012

has a great time

The breakfast was wonderful. the jacuzzi tub was a relief after walking the island and getting wet on the ride back. We enjoyed going to the beach for taking pictures of the lake and islands. the room was just the right size and the a/c was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beibird
Detroit, MI
Oct 7, 2013

Highly recommended!!!

Very kind staff! I like the room a lot! The design and the amenities made me feel like home! It's not common that we had complimentary breakfast with hot eggs and sausages too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
judyruby
Ann Arbor MI
Sep 11, 2014

Lovely room, lovely view

It's a bit strange getting to 4th floor rooms, elevator then stairs, but lakeside view was worth it. Very good breakfast and large room to accommodate everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have a lunch or dinner at Darrow's in Mackinaw City 2 blocks west of bridge. Best whitefish and homemade pies around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oak Harbor, OH
Sep 7, 2009

9/4/09

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was very nice. The location was great. My husband didn't like that it was nearly the last hotel on the lakefront of the city, in otherwords the longest walk to some of the major shopping and restaurants, but this was just another excuse to walk the beautiful streets to me. We were too tired from the trip to use the pool or hot tub and they were in an outbuilding, but they looked nice. The hotel is right next to the parking for Arnold Ferry to Mackinac Island, convenient. Small but adequate exercise room. City provides plenty of space for exercise in the am before everyone gets up. Very nice over all. Great location. Slept the best here of all places in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Nice bakery/tea shop just North of the Dixie saloon. Just look at the rolls there and it almost satisfies. Also, ask your check in clerk about discount tickets for ferries to the Island. We got 3 dollars off each. Additionally, 10% off at a few of the local restaurants we were going to anyway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search