$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Clarion Hotel Beachfront

3 stars
View map of 905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Freqman
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 6, 2014

Average at Best, Strange Decor, Room Issues

Stayed over the 4th of July in room 204 and was underwhelmed by this beach hotel. Arrived to find that the refrigerator in the room is nothing like the new ones in the pics, just a very small 80's style dorm refrigerator sitting on the floor with a microwave and serving tray precariously balanced on top. These two items shared an outlet with an equally old wall lamp and all three plugs kept falling out of the exposed adapter. The room was appointed with dark wood furniture that was nice, but not very functional. The wood furniture was heavily polished, leaving an oily residue on anything that touched it. The only drawers in the room were in an armoire. That means if you have more than one bag you had to keep everything on the floor or use the small table in the room. We found some stains and dirty spots in the bathroom, but the biggest issue was the heating/AC unit. The intake was noticeably dirty on the outside and I had to pull and clean the filter myself. This is not good for anyone with allergies as was the case with my party. Also there were often laundry bins and cleaning carts left in front of the rooms and stairwells. Especially bad when there's no elevator to your room level. Finally, for a beachfront hotel I found it odd that there were NO towel racks in the bathroom or sinkroom. Just one towel shelf and one hook in the bathroom. We were left hanging towels and swimsuits on the beautiful but overwrought pieces of furniture in the room. I would recommend that this hotel spend $20 on towel racks and a tub clothesline rather than the strange furniture choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sswtwiw
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 23, 2014

Overnight

We had a family pass off so to speak. One night stay before kids went to spend a week with granny and grandpa. Hotel was easy to get to, clean,and staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MKPW
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 16, 2014

Lilac Festival Overnight Stay!

This is the second time we stayed in this hotel in the past two years - both times to go to the island for the Lilac Festival. This year we got a room with a massive hot tub which was perfect for ending the day to soak ourselves and our tired feet! The room had a flat screen TV and two queen beds. It worked great for our short overnight trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CrocoDoc
Business
Chicago
Oct 14, 2013

Average, Ordinary

This is an average hotel. Nothing special about it. The only reason for choosing this Hotel was two room suite. The suite is nice for the family if you are traveling with kids. The faucet's hot water handle came off, flooding the bath room. We shut it off from the shut off valve, and called maintenance. The maintenance guys spent three hours in our room at night, trying to fix it. The issue was eventually fixed, but caused a lot of inconvenoence. Free Breakfast was OK. I wish it would have been nicer, if we had more selections.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beibird
Business
Detroit, MI
Oct 7, 2013

Highly recommended!!!

Very kind staff! I like the room a lot! The design and the amenities made me feel like home! It's not common that we had complimentary breakfast with hot eggs and sausages too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elven Good
Business
Traverse City, MI
Oct 1, 2013

Great value, comfy beds, quiet stay

Great deal on two rooms (we are a family of 7) that were clean, quiet, and comfortable. Nice pool, decent breakfast. Just need to get rid of all of the plastic and styrofoam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kat and Jeff
Business
Mackinaw City, Mi
Sep 23, 2013

So so hotel

Hotel was not that clean or comfortable. The free breakfast....well they should have payed us to eat it. Some employees were polite but mostly rude in the free breakfast area. The badly was not these good for the money. I will look for another hotel next time. I was disappointed in the whole stay. There was no wireless internet connection as advertised because the signal was too weak to pick up! The reviews on this hotel were misleading and I will book through somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lighthouse Restaurant

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fastooth
Business
Darien,Il.
Aug 22, 2013

nice time in mackinaw city

room comfortable but sticky bathroom floor and dirty carpet. would be nicer if the pool and breakfast area were in the same building and you did not have to go outside to get to them. beach was rocky. overall not a bad place to stay. good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dianna b
Business
Toledo ohio
Aug 21, 2013

Overnight stay

Close to our ship line for the mackinaw island. Good walking are

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duck soup
Business
Michigan
Aug 15, 2013

Family getaway for the day

A very nice hotel! Walking distance to almost everything. A very large breakfast room the food lines move move smoothly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Show your room key and get a discount at most restaurants

Back to menu Return to top