$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Clarion Hotel Beachfront

3 stars
905 S. Huron, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
99 reviews
Highly recommended!!!

Very kind staff! I like the room a lot! The design and the amenities made me feel like home! It's... See full review

  • Beibird
  • Oct 7, 2013
Family getaway for the day

A very nice hotel! Walking distance to almost everything. A very large breakfast room the food... See full review

  • Duck soup
  • Aug 15, 2013
Family fun abounds at beachfront Mackinaw City hotel

The Clarion Hotel Beachfront in Mackinaw City is located on the shore of Lake Huron. Guests of all ages enjoy the hotel's private beach, sundeck, picnic area and playground. The hotel also offers an indoor swimming pool, spa tub and fitness room. In addition to a complimentary continental breakfast daily, the Clarion provides free coffee in the lobby 24 hours a day. All guest rooms include microwaves and refrigerators and select rooms include balconies and views of the lake.

Highlights
  • Lakefront hotel with private beach and central Mackinaw City location
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Complimentary hot breakfast
  • Lakefront rooms with balconies, whirlpool rooms and family suites available
  • During summer, a nightly laser show and free entertainment are offered downtown
Rooms

The four-story Clarion Beachfront hotel offers 103 non-smoking guest rooms, all with balconies. Guests may choose between two or three queen beds, or one king bed per room. Standard amenities include televisions with premium channels, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee/tea makers. Request a lakefront room for the best views.

Features

Clarion Hotel Beachfront guests enjoy the hotel's private beach, featuring a play tower and slide. A sundeck, picnic area and playground are available as well. Business guests take advantage of convenient amenities, including a public computer with Internet access and an on-site meeting room.

 

Located less than a mile from Clarion Hotel Beachfront is Colonial Michilimackinac, a late 18th-Century fort and fur trading village. This family-friendly destination offers interactive displays, and demonstrations such as open hearth cooking, Native American crafts, and cannon and rifle firings. A can't-miss attraction is the ferry to Mackinac Island, a beautiful resort where horse-drawn carriages, bicycles, and walking as the primary modes of transportation.

Transportation
  • Ferry to Mackinac Island (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Pellston Regional Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
  • Chippewa County International Airport (42.3 mi/68.1 km)
Attractions
  • Colonial Michilimackinac (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Thunder Falls Family Water Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Historic Mill Creek State Park (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • St. Ignace, MI (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Mackinac Island (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Wilderness State Park (12 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting room available (fees apply)
  • Complimentary weekday newspaper

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Play ground
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel Beachfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.7725 -84.7268
Nearby airports
Pellston Reg. Arpt. of Emmet, (PLN), 20.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Mackinac Island

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amtramck
Detroit
Oct 3, 2012

Family getawy

Great location, price and amenities. Highly recommended for a good rest Very convenient. Staff was courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
busia422
New Hudson MI
Jul 22, 2014

on the beach

The location of this hotel is wonderful...the beach was great for an evening stroll! Loved that the hot tub was in a separate area from the pool (did not hear kids splashing and having a good time!) Only stayed one night, but would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Freqman
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 6, 2014

Average at Best, Strange Decor, Room Issues

Stayed over the 4th of July in room 204 and was underwhelmed by this beach hotel. Arrived to find that the refrigerator in the room is nothing like the new ones in the pics, just a very small 80's style dorm refrigerator sitting on the floor with a microwave and serving tray precariously balanced on top. These two items shared an outlet with an equally old wall lamp and all three plugs kept falling out of the exposed adapter. The room was appointed with dark wood furniture that was nice, but not very functional. The wood furniture was heavily polished, leaving an oily residue on anything that touched it. The only drawers in the room were in an armoire. That means if you have more than one bag you had to keep everything on the floor or use the small table in the room. We found some stains and dirty spots in the bathroom, but the biggest issue was the heating/AC unit. The intake was noticeably dirty on the outside and I had to pull and clean the filter myself. This is not good for anyone with allergies as was the case with my party. Also there were often laundry bins and cleaning carts left in front of the rooms and stairwells. Especially bad when there's no elevator to your room level. Finally, for a beachfront hotel I found it odd that there were NO towel racks in the bathroom or sinkroom. Just one towel shelf and one hook in the bathroom. We were left hanging towels and swimsuits on the beautiful but overwrought pieces of furniture in the room. I would recommend that this hotel spend $20 on towel racks and a tub clothesline rather than the strange furniture choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MKPW
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 16, 2014

Lilac Festival Overnight Stay!

This is the second time we stayed in this hotel in the past two years - both times to go to the island for the Lilac Festival. This year we got a room with a massive hot tub which was perfect for ending the day to soak ourselves and our tired feet! The room had a flat screen TV and two queen beds. It worked great for our short overnight trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CrocoDoc
Chicago
Oct 14, 2013

Average, Ordinary

This is an average hotel. Nothing special about it. The only reason for choosing this Hotel was two room suite. The suite is nice for the family if you are traveling with kids. The faucet's hot water handle came off, flooding the bath room. We shut it off from the shut off valve, and called maintenance. The maintenance guys spent three hours in our room at night, trying to fix it. The issue was eventually fixed, but caused a lot of inconvenoence. Free Breakfast was OK. I wish it would have been nicer, if we had more selections.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beibird
Detroit, MI
Oct 7, 2013

Highly recommended!!!

Very kind staff! I like the room a lot! The design and the amenities made me feel like home! It's not common that we had complimentary breakfast with hot eggs and sausages too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elven Good
Traverse City, MI
Oct 1, 2013

Great value, comfy beds, quiet stay

Great deal on two rooms (we are a family of 7) that were clean, quiet, and comfortable. Nice pool, decent breakfast. Just need to get rid of all of the plastic and styrofoam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kat and Jeff
Mackinaw City, Mi
Sep 23, 2013

So so hotel

Hotel was not that clean or comfortable. The free breakfast....well they should have payed us to eat it. Some employees were polite but mostly rude in the free breakfast area. The badly was not these good for the money. I will look for another hotel next time. I was disappointed in the whole stay. There was no wireless internet connection as advertised because the signal was too weak to pick up! The reviews on this hotel were misleading and I will book through somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lighthouse Restaurant

Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fastooth
Darien,Il.
Aug 22, 2013

nice time in mackinaw city

room comfortable but sticky bathroom floor and dirty carpet. would be nicer if the pool and breakfast area were in the same building and you did not have to go outside to get to them. beach was rocky. overall not a bad place to stay. good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dianna b
Toledo ohio
Aug 21, 2013

Overnight stay

Close to our ship line for the mackinaw island. Good walking are

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duck soup
Michigan
Aug 15, 2013

Family getaway for the day

A very nice hotel! Walking distance to almost everything. A very large breakfast room the food lines move move smoothly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Show your room key and get a discount at most restaurants

Back to menu Return to top