BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

3 stars
View map of 505 S Huron Avenue, US Highway 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9727

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
16 reviews
Great Location, very buggy

Stayed in Mackinac City in June and it was Mayfly season! The hotel doors and sidewalks were... See full review

  • kurtis
  • Feb 13, 2015
Great Location

The Best Western Plus in Mackinaw City has one of the best locations of any hotel in the area. The... See full review

  • JustinJuantan
  • Oct 15, 2014
Going off the grid doesn't mean you have to be miles away from civilization when you select this incredible Mackinaw City hotel. BEST WESTERN Mackinaw City redefined what an "airport hotel" really means. We're close to Pellston Airport of course, but also right on the beach. Sashay from your perfect spot on the beach to the airport in time to catch that early flight. We're also close to downtown shopping and dining if you're up for painting the town red or you need to pick up some souvenirs. This Mackinaw City hotel has everything travelers need to feel right at home. We're close to I-75 and Mackinaw Bridge, so zipping around town or checking out other local beaches is a breeze. We're also close to the ferry docks if a romantic cruise is on the agenda. BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn blends comfort and quality with a great low price. Mackinaw Island is an oasis near the city. Car shows, beer and wine festivals, and other festivals of all types are just a few of the events that draw crowds from around the country. You'll feel right at home at this Mackinaw City hotel no matter what you're in town for. We're right on the beach of Lake Huron, so it's just a few steps to the water from your Mackinaw City hotel. Business meetings happen here, but even those guests here on business are in the mood to check out the sights. Access to waterparks make this region particularly popular for families. Pirates Adventure, Castaway, Emerald Cove, and Thunder Falls are calling your name. BEST WESTERN Mackinaw City also dishes up a delicious, complimentary breakfast. Dig into platefuls of piping hot waffles and eggs, stacks of sweet pastries, fresh fruits, hot and cold cereals and yogurt. Complete your meal with 100% Arabica coffee and chilled juices. Reserve your next stay with BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn for a perfect trip! Welcome to Best Western!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,LAKE FRONT,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,COURTYARD,NO SMOKING,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 4 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 4 BEDS,MOBACC,COMAST,BATHTB,POOLSD,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBACC,COMAST,BATHTB,POOLSD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBACC,COMAST,ROLLSH,POOLSD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 4 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 4 BEDS,NSMK,COURTYARD,5TH BED SOFABED,2BATHS,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,COURTYARD,NO SMOKING,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,NO SMOKING,LAKE FRONT,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LAKEFRONT,SOFABED,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LAKEFRONT,SOFABED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,LAKEFRONT,JACUZZI,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,LAKEFRONT,SOFABED,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,NSMK,LAKEFRONT,SOFABED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,COURTYARD,JACUZZI,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Live entertainment
Game room
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room

Dining

Dixie Saloon Food and Spirits
0.20 mile(s) from Dixie Saloon Food and Spirits, established 1890
Anna's Country Buffet
0.10 mile(s) from Anna's Country Buffet
Nonna Lisa's Italian Ristorante
0.10 mile(s) from Nonna Lisa's Italian Ristorante, featuring wood fired pizza and pasta
The Light House Restaurant and Lounge
0.10 mile(s) from The Light House Restaurant and Lounge

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 16
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JustinJuantan
Business
Fishers, IN
Oct 15, 2014

Great Location

The Best Western Plus in Mackinaw City has one of the best locations of any hotel in the area. The hotel amenities like the fitness room and pool were adequate but we spent most of our time exploring the city and Mackinac Island. The hotel was also within walking distance of Shepler's fairy and all of the shops which was a big plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
26 and counting
Business
Granger,IN
Sep 29, 2014

Weekend anniversary getaway

Great location,friendly staff,clean rooms.Pool and hot tub clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nonna Lisa's great pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Midpack
Business
Indiana
Jul 25, 2014

No WiFi

The hotel and it's furnishings are very dated, but everything is clean. It is convenient to ferries and town. We lost TV for a few hours but it appeared to be a provider problem, not something the hotel could do anything about. But I rely on having WiFi, and the signal in my room was so weak I could not connect. I had to go to the lobby or business center to get online, no good. I asked the front desk about it right away, thought they might have moved me to another room (they had vacancies), but they just blankly told me to keep trying other routers. The front desk staff wasn't friendly at all, like they were answering from a script.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
911 central
Business
Mackinac City, Michigan
Jul 23, 2012

Forget this place

Front desk staff were very rude, and not accommodating. Had advanced reservations that had asked for seaside view, but nooooooooo, we get the dregs of rooms with only a view of a vending machine and ice dispenser. $450.00 for 2 days of nothing. I'm from Ohio, and the Michigan/Ohio State rivalry seemed to be boil over in this case. I also had a very special event, I proposed to my future wife, weekend could have been made special, but they made no effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcland
Business
Huntington, IN
Sep 9, 2011

I shall return!!!

Beautiful place!! Comfortable room!! Great breakfast!! Wi-fi didn't work in room 317, but the view was fantastic!!! I had excellent wi-fi service in lobby and drank their free coffee. I would rate a 5 star if wi-fi worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PLBowen
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 28, 2011

BW Mackinaw City, MI Right on the Beach

As a BW Rewards member I was expecting a bit more from the new "PLUS" designation that the Best Western chain has established for its better hotels. Ground floor room seemed musty/damp. Very small room with huge, older furniture that made the room smaller. Average breakfast menu - but appreciated none the less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was all about Location, Location, Location - All attractions including Mackinaw Island ferries, restaurants and shops all within walking distances. Plus the hotel has its own private beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,Il
Jul 12, 2009

GREAT LOCATION

The hotel was nice and clean. The location was great,right on the beach,close to restaurants,shopping,and the ferry's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J22
Business
Chicago
Jul 7, 2009

Below Average

I was very excited to stay at this hotel based on the reviews I found online. However, the excitement ended there. Our room with a "courtyard view" was in a back hallway off the parking lot, which made us feel like we were staying in a bat cave. The room was also very damp and smelled like mold. They charge an extra cleaning fee if bikes are stored in the room so they obviously do not support outdoor enthusiasts. The pool hours were 11am - 11pm, which didn't allow for an early morning swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very close to the Mackinac Island ferries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
castingace
Business
saginaw, mi
Jun 23, 2009

trip

The staff tried to charge us again after we had already paid through Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top