$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

3 stars
View map of 505 S Huron Avenue, US Highway 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9727

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PLBowen
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 28, 2011

BW Mackinaw City, MI Right on the Beach

As a BW Rewards member I was expecting a bit more from the new "PLUS" designation that the Best Western chain has established for its better hotels. Ground floor room seemed musty/damp. Very small room with huge, older furniture that made the room smaller. Average breakfast menu - but appreciated none the less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was all about Location, Location, Location - All attractions including Mackinaw Island ferries, restaurants and shops all within walking distances. Plus the hotel has its own private beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson AZ
Jun 28, 2011

Mackinaw City

When we arrived, we were given an awful location near the laundry. I went and asked to upgrade, we were given a lake front view that was astounding, and much much larger. Total cost of upgrade was $35+ well worth the upgrade. About 17 a night as we stayed 2 nights. Lake front view changed everything. Mackinaw City has lots of decent shops and restaurants. I would do this again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,Il
Jul 12, 2009

GREAT LOCATION

The hotel was nice and clean. The location was great,right on the beach,close to restaurants,shopping,and the ferry's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J22
Business
Chicago
Jul 7, 2009

Below Average

I was very excited to stay at this hotel based on the reviews I found online. However, the excitement ended there. Our room with a "courtyard view" was in a back hallway off the parking lot, which made us feel like we were staying in a bat cave. The room was also very damp and smelled like mold. They charge an extra cleaning fee if bikes are stored in the room so they obviously do not support outdoor enthusiasts. The pool hours were 11am - 11pm, which didn't allow for an early morning swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very close to the Mackinac Island ferries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
castingace
Business
saginaw, mi
Jun 23, 2009

trip

The staff tried to charge us again after we had already paid through Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Sep 19, 2008

Great Location

We enjoyed our stay here becaue it was a good hotel at a reasonable price and close to everything we wanted to do; restaurants, theatres, shopping, and right on the beach nerar the ferry docks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The buffet breakfast was adequate and area restaurants within walking distance included a buffet meal at reasonable cost

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Sep 4, 2007

Good location

If you are staying in Mackinaw City it is a great location with easy walking access to many things - main street, boat docks to the Island, restaurants. i would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

main street shops and the boats to the island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top