$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

3 stars
505 S Huron Avenue, US Highway 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9727
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
15 reviews
Great Location

The Best Western Plus in Mackinaw City has one of the best locations of any hotel in the area. The... See full review

  • JustinJuantan
  • Oct 15, 2014
Nice beachfront hotel!

This hotel was a big surprise. I thought it would be just a regular boring place, but it was... See full review

  • Friend of Black Panda
  • Jul 29, 2014
Going off the grid doesn't mean you have to be miles away from civilization when you select this incredible Mackinaw City hotel. BEST WESTERN Mackinaw City redefined what an "airport hotel" really means. We're close to Pellston Airport of course, but also right on the beach. Sashay from your perfect spot on the beach to the airport in time to catch that early flight. We're also close to downtown shopping and dining if you're up for painting the town red or you need to pick up some souvenirs. This Mackinaw City hotel has everything travelers need to feel right at home. We're close to I-75 and Mackinaw Bridge, so zipping around town or checking out other local beaches is a breeze. We're also close to the ferry docks if a romantic cruise is on the agenda. BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn blends comfort and quality with a great low price. Mackinaw Island is an oasis near the city. Car shows, beer and wine festivals, and other festivals of all types are just a few of the events that draw crowds from around the country. You'll feel right at home at this Mackinaw City hotel no matter what you're in town for. We're right on the beach of Lake Huron, so it's just a few steps to the water from your Mackinaw City hotel. Business meetings happen here, but even those guests here on business are in the mood to check out the sights. Access to waterparks make this region particularly popular for families. Pirates Adventure, Castaway, Emerald Cove, and Thunder Falls are calling your name. BEST WESTERN Mackinaw City also dishes up a delicious, complimentary breakfast. Dig into platefuls of piping hot waffles and eggs, stacks of sweet pastries, fresh fruits, hot and cold cereals and yogurt. Complete your meal with 100% Arabica coffee and chilled juices. Reserve your next stay with BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn for a perfect trip!

Hotel Map

45.7766 -84.7264
Area served
Petoskey,, Gaylord,, Traverse City,, Sault Ste. Marie, Detroit,, Chicago,
Nearby airports
(PLN), 17.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,LAKE FRONT,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,COURTYARD,NO SMOKING,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 4 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 4 BEDS,MOBACC,COMAST,BATHTB,POOLSD,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBACC,COMAST,BATHTB,POOLSD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBACC,COMAST,ROLLSH,POOLSD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 4 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 4 BEDS,NSMK,COURTYARD,5TH BED SOFABED,2BATHS,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,COURTYARD,NO SMOKING,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,NO SMOKING,LAKE FRONT,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LAKEFRONT,SOFABED,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,LAKEFRONT,SOFABED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,LAKEFRONT,JACUZZI,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,LAKEFRONT,SOFABED,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,NSMK,LAKEFRONT,SOFABED,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,COURTYARD,JACUZZI,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Live entertainment
Game room
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room

Dining

Dixie Saloon Food and Spirits
0.20 mile(s) from Dixie Saloon Food and Spirits, established 1890
Anna's Country Buffet
0.10 mile(s) from Anna's Country Buffet
Nonna Lisa's Italian Ristorante
0.10 mile(s) from Nonna Lisa's Italian Ristorante, featuring wood fired pizza and pasta
The Light House Restaurant and Lounge
0.10 mile(s) from The Light House Restaurant and Lounge

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.2

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcland
Huntington, IN
Sep 9, 2011

I shall return!!!

Beautiful place!! Comfortable room!! Great breakfast!! Wi-fi didn't work in room 317, but the view was fantastic!!! I had excellent wi-fi service in lobby and drank their free coffee. I would rate a 5 star if wi-fi worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JustinJuantan
Business
Fishers, IN
Oct 15, 2014

Great Location

The Best Western Plus in Mackinaw City has one of the best locations of any hotel in the area. The hotel amenities like the fitness room and pool were adequate but we spent most of our time exploring the city and Mackinac Island. The hotel was also within walking distance of Shepler's fairy and all of the shops which was a big plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
26 and counting
Business
Granger,IN
Sep 29, 2014

Weekend anniversary getaway

Great location,friendly staff,clean rooms.Pool and hot tub clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nonna Lisa's great pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friend of Black Panda
Business
Bay Area, CA
Jul 29, 2014

Nice beachfront hotel!

This hotel was a big surprise. I thought it would be just a regular boring place, but it was literally right on the beach. The room was newly redone and very clean and spacious. And it was in an easy walking difference to anywhere you would want to be. They even had a very nice breakfast buffet. The staff were very friendly & helpful too, so it was a great experience. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Midpack
Business
Indiana
Jul 25, 2014

No WiFi

The hotel and it's furnishings are very dated, but everything is clean. It is convenient to ferries and town. We lost TV for a few hours but it appeared to be a provider problem, not something the hotel could do anything about. But I rely on having WiFi, and the signal in my room was so weak I could not connect. I had to go to the lobby or business center to get online, no good. I asked the front desk about it right away, thought they might have moved me to another room (they had vacancies), but they just blankly told me to keep trying other routers. The front desk staff wasn't friendly at all, like they were answering from a script.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
busia422
Business
New Hudson MI
May 28, 2014

Great place for a family!!!

Staff was amazing! The pool and hot tub area were new...clean...and great for our grand-kids! Our room was a little dated (but our grandson loved the flat screen TV. And the hotel made use of the old tv cabinet by using it for a small frig and coffee maker (very creative!) Next year I will reserve a room by the water...as the beach was a wonderful place for the kids to play! We couldn't beat the price and location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The staff an Nona Lisa's were very friendly. And very sensitive for one with an allergy. The animals were a hit with our grandsons. Food was great...Went there two nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lifesaver22
Business
Mackinac City, MI
Aug 9, 2012

Management staff

Check-in was at 3 but we arrived a couple hours early and were told our rooms were not ready. Ok - fair enough. We came back to the hotel to check-in at 3:15 and were asked if we would like the rooms next to each other which we did. We were told that would require an additional 30-45 minutes. During our initial visit, nobody asked if we wanted the rooms together and when we mentioned that, no accountability was taken or an apology given. The manager on duty was awful and does not belong in a public service field. We had a couple of other minor issues during our stay and the other managers were apologetic and helpful. The location was great but the wi-fi was below average at best and the breakfast was nothing special either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
911 central
Business
Mackinac City, Michigan
Jul 23, 2012

Forget this place

Front desk staff were very rude, and not accommodating. Had advanced reservations that had asked for seaside view, but nooooooooo, we get the dregs of rooms with only a view of a vending machine and ice dispenser. $450.00 for 2 days of nothing. I'm from Ohio, and the Michigan/Ohio State rivalry seemed to be boil over in this case. I also had a very special event, I proposed to my future wife, weekend could have been made special, but they made no effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcland
Business
Huntington, IN
Sep 9, 2011

I shall return!!!

Beautiful place!! Comfortable room!! Great breakfast!! Wi-fi didn't work in room 317, but the view was fantastic!!! I had excellent wi-fi service in lobby and drank their free coffee. I would rate a 5 star if wi-fi worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PLBowen
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 28, 2011

BW Mackinaw City, MI Right on the Beach

As a BW Rewards member I was expecting a bit more from the new "PLUS" designation that the Best Western chain has established for its better hotels. Ground floor room seemed musty/damp. Very small room with huge, older furniture that made the room smaller. Average breakfast menu - but appreciated none the less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was all about Location, Location, Location - All attractions including Mackinaw Island ferries, restaurants and shops all within walking distances. Plus the hotel has its own private beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson AZ
Jun 28, 2011

Mackinaw City

When we arrived, we were given an awful location near the laundry. I went and asked to upgrade, we were given a lake front view that was astounding, and much much larger. Total cost of upgrade was $35+ well worth the upgrade. About 17 a night as we stayed 2 nights. Lake front view changed everything. Mackinaw City has lots of decent shops and restaurants. I would do this again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top