$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 31, 2014 Check-out: Jan 1, 2015

Super 8 Kalamazoo

2 stars
618 Maple Hill Dr, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1032
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
16 reviews
All we expected

We were just looking for a place to sleep, and go one that was clean and comfortable with a frig. See full review

  • CindyLooWho
  • Jul 2, 2012
Good for short stay

the super 8 motel at Kalamazoo was good, the room size seemed larger. The location was good with a... See full review

  • black barbie
  • Dec 27, 2008
* Located next to the Prarie Golf Course * Located 3 miles from Western Michigan University * Located 3 miles from Kalamazoo College * Fairgrounds 6 miles * Downtown 5 miles * Airport 8 miles * Twin Star Ice Arena 5 miles * 5 Restaurants - Chi-Chi's, TGI Friday, Applebee's, Russ's, Finley's, and Mall Nearby * Bar/Lounge walking distance * US 131 Motor Sport (Drag Race Track) just 15 miles * Kalamazoo Speedway 10 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Kalamazoo also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Lawson Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Waldo Stadium: 3 mi
  • Wings Stadium: 6.9 mi
  • University Arena: 3,497 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Kalamazoo

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.5

31% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Kalamazoo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
imswanee
Business
Milwaukee
Aug 27, 2014

Truck Parking

I was there for 3 nights and they didn't make up my room. I talked to front desk twice and they assured me that it would get done. They have only two tables in the breakfast area and they were out of half the items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Kalamazoo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
quncy
Business
Detroit ,mi
Jun 27, 2014

nice

The bed was comfortable.and it was quite there all and all nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Kalamazoo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
exhausted weary
Business
chicago, il
Jun 25, 2014

Drip drip drip...

The faucet in the tub dripped all night long, 3 of the lights bulbs in the room were burnt out, there were no extra blankets or pillows. I had a hard time finding the location, because there were no signs on the road indicating that it was back behind some restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Kalamazoo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ny15261
Business
Saginaw, MI
Dec 12, 2013

Not very clean

Things were pretty much what I expected for the price, except that the bed sheets seemed somewhat dirty. There was some lint and hair on them. It is possible that they went through the wash and just stayed on because of static or something, but it seems like there was enough of it that it should have been noticed by housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Kalamazoo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ex smoker with copd
Business
DeBary, FL
Mar 31, 2013

Not Non-smoking...

It may be Michigan law that no one smoke in the hotel - but - it was clear from the moment of setting foot inside the building that it was currently being smoke in. For me, with COPD, it was a bad night's stay followed by fear of having severe breathing problems for several days to come. Recommend smokers only!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Kalamazoo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cherm
Business
Shanghai, China
Jul 10, 2012

Don't stay here

The room was very musty and the carpet was dirty (as in hadn't been shampooed in years). Standard Conti breakfast with a waffle maker. Very small breakfast area, only two tables. Shifty people in the dark corners of the parking lot at night (seriously). The only positive was the staff, very friendly and knowledgeable. I felt sorry for them having to work there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several decent restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Kalamazoo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CindyLooWho
Business
Metro Detroit
Jul 2, 2012

All we expected

We were just looking for a place to sleep, and go one that was clean and comfortable with a frig.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Kalamazoo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ADan
Business
Irving, TX, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Reunion Alternative

Spent less for two nights than one night at the "official" class reunion hotel. Received clean towels for the second day, but bed was not made, nor coffee maker supplies added. Coffee maker did not work properly, anyway. It was a clean, cheap place to stay. Not on a main street--hard to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Kalamazoo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Student's Mom
Business
Zion Il.
Sep 25, 2011

Not as bad as I thought it might be

I was hesitant to stay at this motel, but frugality ruled and I did. The room was clean. The sheets were stained but clean, they were just old. For a motel the stay was just that, someplace to sleep. We went out for breakfast so I can't say anything about the food. The one problem I encountered was some very noisy neighbors, load voices and slamming doors until after 3am. But that’s I think an issue you will run into in an inexpensive motel in a college town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Kalamazoo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Muttasem
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Super 8 Kalamazoo

The rooms were average clean good beds the service is fine overall its an average motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top