$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

3 stars
2575 S 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-2105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
73 reviews
Great value

Clean, friendly, affordable. The location was perfect for our needs See full review

  • OBSC soccer
  • Jun 27, 2014
Adequate for business travel

Overall a good experience. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the room... See full review

  • just a guy from Maryland
  • May 24, 2014
Stay at this Kalamazoo, Michigan hotel offering convenient access to Western Michigan University, the Gilmore Classic Car Museum and the Kalamazoo Air Zoo. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, an all-suites property located in southwest Michigan. This Kalamazoo hotel features 64 well-appointed suites, each fully-equipped with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake up to a delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning before taking a dip in the indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. Additional amenities include a fitness center, guest laundry, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 100 people. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites is conveniently located less than 10 miles from many key attractions including the Miller Auditorium, the Kalamazoo Air Zoo, the River Front Park and Western Michigan University. Less than five miles from this Michigan hotel, guests can tour the Gilmore Classic Car Museum and the Kalamazoo Institute of Art Museum or catch a hockey game at Wings Stadium. This 100% non-smoking hotel is also an hour's drive from Firekeepers Casino and the Four Winds Casino. Stryker Medical Center is also located just five minutes away from the hotel. Kalamazoo is home to several annual events including the Eccentric Day Festival and the Kalamazoo Animation Festival International. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Make a reservation today and save!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,32IN LCDTV,SOFABED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,32IN LCDTV,SOFABED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,32 IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,MICRWV,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,32IN LCDTV,SOFABED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,JACUZZI,32IN LCD TV,MICRFG,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,JACUZZI,32IN LCD TV,MICRFG,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.2654 -85.6581
Area served
Chicago,, Detroit, Battle Creek, Michigan City,, Paw Paw, Grand Rapids
Nearby airports
(AZO), 5.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Expressway

Nearby points of interest

  • Lawson Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Waldo Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Wings Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • University Arena: 3,498.4 mi

Dining

Bilbo's Pizza
2.00 mile(s) from Bilbo's Pizza, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Taco Bell
1.00 mile(s) from Taco Bell, Fast Food, Mexican, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Big Boy
1.00 mile(s) from Big Boy, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
TGI Fridays
3.00 mile(s) from TGI Fridays, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Applebee's
3.00 mile(s) from Applebee's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Gallagher's Pub
1.50 mile(s) from Gallagher's Pub, Bar/Lounge, Continental, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Starbuck's
1.50 mile(s) from Starbuck's, Coffee Shop, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Wendy's
1.00 mile(s) from Wendy's, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
McDonald's
1.00 mile(s) from McDonald's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Burger King
1.00 mile(s) from Burger King, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 73
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OBSC soccer
Kalamazoo, mi
Jun 27, 2014

Great value

Clean, friendly, affordable. The location was perfect for our needs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brad Fighting Irish Fan
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Nov 25, 2013

Great Stopping Off Point!

We head down to South Bend, IN each year to watch the Fighting Prish play and we have discovered that staying in South Bend on game day is prohibitively expensive. The Best Western Plus in Kalamazoo is the perfect antidote. Very clean hotel ideally situated just off the highway. Nice little workout room and a nice pool. Th eprice was right as well. We'll definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Carabbas Restaurant is nearby on Westnedge - it's restaurant alley along here with plenty of choices but I like Carabbas.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chapmj
chicago
Aug 10, 2013

Quick Visit

Easy location top the hospital. Friendly staff easy check spacious room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cseegert
Britton, MI
Mar 27, 2013

Don't waste your money!

At some point in its history this hotel was nice. But unfortunately it is not anymore. The only plus about this hotel were the size of the rooms. Our first encounter when we arrived was with the elevator, which made so much noise and was so slow that I thought we were going to get stuck on it EVERY time we used it. Upon entering the room, it looked pretty good. Nice big room with a nice big bed, kitchenette, nice size bathroom. I noticed that the floor was in need of a good vacuuming though and you could see that they fail to clean the corners and edges of anything. The curtain would not stay closed all the way and at night you could see light all the way around the door going to the hallway. Definitely not safe if there was a fire, smoke would surely get through the HUGE gaps. The biggest disappointment of all was when we headed down to the pool.... First thing we notice is a sign on the door asking you to "please excuse our mess" as a leak occurred in the roof above the hot tub and they have not repaired it. Once inside the pool area you can tell that the boards that have been attached to the ceiling to seal the leak have been there for a while and are dark, wet looking and almost looked like there could be mold on them. As we are taking off our shoes to get in the pool, I notice a puddle of standing water between the hot tub and the pool. This puddle had a layer of green algae growing/floating in it! GROSS! Upon further inspection of the area, you could also see green algae growing in the cracks and crevices on the walls and edges where the wall meets the floor. Even with this we decided to swim because well, that was the whole reason for this trip! As I take my first step into the pool, I feel my foot slip from underneath of me and down I go .The steps were sooo slick, and even the bottom of the pool was too. It was not the normal gritty/textured steps/floor you feel in most pools. It was smooth and slick. If i had to guess, my fall was due to algae growth on that slick surface. Even though the pool looked clean it obviously was not . And here is the best part of all..... it was FREEZING cold! So cold that my daughter was shivering. Absolutely ridiculous for an indoor pool to be freezing cold. What is the point in having an indoor pool and paying for a hotel that has one if you cannot even enjoy it. It was not enjoyable at all! Never have I been to a hotel where this has happened before. On the other extreme, the hot tub was so hot that you felt like you were boiling within a minute of being in it. So VERY disappointing and so VERY unacceptable! To make matters worse, we decided to make one more go of the pool later that night in the hopes that it would be at least a little warmer. I mean this is the whole reason we came here was to swim! So we at least wanted to attempt to feel like we got our moneys worth. Well, as i step down on that same step.... down I go AGAIN! This time I ended up falling on my back onto the concrete edge of the pool (after an urgent care visit a day later I found that I had a rib fracture from this fall!) Something needs to be done about the surface of those steps and the algae that is obviously growing on them! That pool may have smelled like chlorine but it was far from actually being clean of algae. Also, don't pan on having a very good breakfast either. The waffle maker was so gunked up and covered in burnt batter that the waffles stuck to it and once you finally got it peeled off it was just a pile of half cooked batter on your plate with specks of black from the burnt stuff. The eggs were shaped like a disk and tasted fake. The only thing enjoyable was the sausage. Do not waste your time on this hotel. We had been looking forward to this little getaway for a while and we are so very disappointed. What a waste of our hard earned money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobN
Indiana
Oct 14, 2012

long weekend

Had a great stay. Staff was very nice. Breakfast was good. Only wished the suite would have had more amenities (dishes, stove, etc). Great for those traveling with pets. The other hotels have RIDICULOUS pet fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Very pet-friendly, especially because they only charged $25 for the entire 4-day stay.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Lizzy
Lakewood, CO
Aug 22, 2012

Greattime

Spent four nights here and was very pleased. The complimentary breakfast was good and the staff was very pleasant. The hot tub was excellent and I had it to myself every evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

T.J. Fridays food was very good and the service was excellent.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniel MT
New haven Mi.
Jul 10, 2012

bienvenido!

My Son had a baseball tounament that weekend at battle creek, so places to stay there were either full o expencive, so we decide to stay at kalamazoo. Well was a good place for me and family, clean and quite good rasonable price for my suite, very spacious,confortable but over all. the personal on front desk, they made my stay more ejoyable, yes they deserve a raise! good breakfast,clean and fresh. thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tennis mom
Arizona, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Nice!

Very pleased with all that I saw -- trip cut short so did not get to check out all the amenities the hotel offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tennis mom
Arizona, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Nice!

Very pleased with all that I saw -- trip cut short so did not get to check out all the amenities the hotel offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kidsofmine16
muskegon, mi
Jun 25, 2011

crazy elevator

We had a GREAT stay in one of the suites. Kitchen area was surprisingly large, we even had a fireplace in the living area! Very Clean. Got extra towels, linens promptly. Breakfast was ample with a very spacious and lovely eating and lobby area. Pool was great (warm). Only negative things were the slow, noisy elevator and, the day we were leaving, the pool was closed for chemicals. It seems like they would do that during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

we were there for the air zoo and Binder park zoo but make sure you go to the Kalamazoo Valley Museum. It's free and has tons of stuff for the kids. Blackhawk bar and grill is a must for us again too.

Back to menu Return to top